Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Child Friendly and Easy to Understand
Received this today and am very impressed! We often watch Embarrassing Bodies as a family and find it a useful way to get discussions started as it is so informative and easy to understand, and this book takes the same tack.

The book itself is very colorful which instantly makes kids want to pick it up, and written in a very simple, but matter of fact way. It...
Published 23 months ago by Princess Mononoke

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book but too much info for a 9 year old although some bits are perfect
Great book and explained things well but I feel like there's just a bit too much info for my 9 year old. Perhaps if it was split into two books ot would be better as some bits would be perfect now... periods, peer pressure etc but I think too much info on masturbation and too much detail on some other bits that I'd like to wait until she's maybe about 11/going into high...
Published 10 months ago by emmas_mummy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, Child Friendly and Easy to Understand, 27 April 2013
By 
Princess Mononoke (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Received this today and am very impressed! We often watch Embarrassing Bodies as a family and find it a useful way to get discussions started as it is so informative and easy to understand, and this book takes the same tack.

The book itself is very colorful which instantly makes kids want to pick it up, and written in a very simple, but matter of fact way. It explains everything from how the body works, why puberty takes place and answers real questions that kids have sent it. It does cover sex, but not in any depth. It takes the approach of not doing anything before you're ready, don't be pressurized into sex or sexual contact. It dispels myths about pregnancy - such as you can get pregnant before you have had your first period etc, it covers how pregnancy happens, contraception and also STI's.

It also deals with body image, peer pressure, bullying and staying safe online and provides information on staying healthy and looking after your body.

My 11 yr old son has had a flick through it and found it easy to understand and gave it his thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
A great book i read it first before giving it to my daughter whose 10, she found it very easy to read and understand. Also gave her explanations for the changes that were occuring and why. have recommended it to family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
fab, both my children found it fun, easy to read and easy to understand. wish there was a book like this when I was growing up . Thank you dr Christian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended, 12 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
I bought this with some trepidation, unsure whether it would be a little old for my just-turned-10 year old. I casually left it out, he noticed it within 30 mins and has been avidly reading it ever since - I've been really surprised! I have been most surprised about how much he has come and talked to me, read bits out about girls bras etc without being remotely embarrassed ! I have also found out that a boy at school with an older brother has talked about some of these issues already so my son is keen to know the real facts. Christian has written the book beautifully - it gives enough detail without 'too much' and teaches children a liberal and accepting attitude to their changing bodies and their sexuality. It is brightly coloured in friendly text and covers all the essentials. Go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book but too much info for a 9 year old although some bits are perfect, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Great book and explained things well but I feel like there's just a bit too much info for my 9 year old. Perhaps if it was split into two books ot would be better as some bits would be perfect now... periods, peer pressure etc but I think too much info on masturbation and too much detail on some other bits that I'd like to wait until she's maybe about 11/going into high school. But by that time it's too late to be teaching her about periods, body changes and peer pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Choose this after recommendation from a friend. Easy for my son and i to read together and start conversations that may have seemed had for him to come to me about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best growing up book by far, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Such a tender subject to approach but have bought this book to help my daughters (8 and 10) with the 'growing up thing'. Didn't think I'd be broaching the subject with my 8 yr old so soon but there's always one in the school who thinks they know it all and eagerly spreads the word and worries everyone with incorrect information that they've heard down the park. I have just left the book in their bedroom for them to read if they want to. I've read through it and it covers all the stages clearly. This book is better than other books I've bought on growing up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well pitched, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Bought this after reading the nice things people wrote about it on Twitter. It has bright illustrations and is written in simple/factual language - surprisingly frank without being cringe-y or crass. However, my silly children (9 and 11) are mortified with embarrassment in it's very presence. I'm hoping they'll read it in secret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great conversation starter, 4 July 2013
By 
S. A. Broadhurst "SBroadhurst" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter is of the age where I have to sit her down and discuss puberty and all that follows with her and although I have had chats with her, it is plain to see that she doesn't want to be there listening and talking with me on these subjects. Therefore I have been very pleased to find this book which is perfect to look through with a child and either discuss the topics included or leave it for the child to look through and use as a starting point for future discussions at the right time for a child.

The book is written for children and considers questions about both boys and girls. It is in a scrapbook style format, with pages being printed, brightly coloured, using different fonts to grab a child's attention.

The advice inside the book is great for children who want to find out the answers to their questions. It is written in a child friendly words, using as little jargon as possible and has many pages entitled 'Ask Dr Christian' which is similar to the problem pages in many teen magazines answering the questions that most teenagers want the answers to.

The information included in the book is a good introduction to the subject but it only goes so far and therefore I would consider this a great book for a conversation starter rather than giving all the information needed. There are a list of websites offered in the back of the voice for further advice/information but this is not an extensive list.

This is a great book for early teenagers or children reaching the age of puberty. It would also make a great addition to any school library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great overview for boys and girls., 25 Jun. 2013
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a bright, accessible, no-nonsence book, aimed at both boys and girls. For younger children, who wish to know a little more about their bodies, this should be read with a little adult supervision, as it does go on to talk about sex and masturbation.

It starts with an overview for both boys and girls, briefly covering the changes in their bodies during puberty. Interestingly, it has a page about girls for the boys to read, and vice-versa, which was well done. It then looks at changes outside and in, again in sections for boys and girls. This covers periods shaving, sweating etc. Finally it briefly covers sex, contraception and STIs.

The second part of the book looks at moods, friendships, crushes etc, and then moves onto bullying and staying safe. I'm always pleased to see these areas covered, as they are just as important.

Finally there is a section about staying healthy (eating, exercise etc) which also covers eating disorders.

None of the sections go into much detail, which is probably ideal for young teens. There are a few weblinks at the end, which I think should be expanded on - if teens aren't comfortable talking to their parents, it's helpful for them to have reliable sites to visit.

All in all, it's a good intro for both boys and girls, but be a little careful with pre-teens, due to the full content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up
Dr Christian's Guide to Growing Up by Dr Christian Jessen (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews