Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one
They did it again. The superworm is my son`s super hero by now and along the main story line, he finds many little side stories within the lovely illustrations, including the hidden Gruffalo! The language is simple enough for a 3-year old and the story is complex enough to keep his attention too. Thank you Julia and Axel for another great book.
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by dayowl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 really
Not my favourite of the scheffler/Donaldson books, a bit scary for the little ones when compared with the others (especially as it is about bugs) but the usual top quality of the illustrations and rhythmic prose makes it a good choice regardless.
Published 15 months ago by Miss Lisa Welford


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
They did it again. The superworm is my son`s super hero by now and along the main story line, he finds many little side stories within the lovely illustrations, including the hidden Gruffalo! The language is simple enough for a 3-year old and the story is complex enough to keep his attention too. Thank you Julia and Axel for another great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from this winning team, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
As with all Donaldson/Scheffler books this one is packed with delightful detail for the parent whilst the rhyming text is easy to follow for the child - Watch him wiggle, see him squirm, there's no-one quite like Superworm!

As always a bit of adventure then a bit of peril and then a nice resolution to send them off to bed happy.

Not quite as good as the classic Gruffalo or Room on the Broom, but up there with Stick Man and Zog for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another brilliant book by Julia Donaldson, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
My 4 year old son just loves Julia Donaldson's books and this is just as good. I wasn't sure myself about a worm (ewwwwww)story but my son absolutely loves it. If you are fan of Tiddler and Snail & the Whale in particular - you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super book!, 7 Nov 2012
By 
S. J. Mitchell (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had high expectations, as I always do from this pairing, and I wasn't disappointed. I wasn't sold on the idea of a story of a worm - they aren't especially cuddly! But one page in I, and more importantly, my daughter, were sold. Superworm is indeed a Super Worm and when his life is in peril, he soon finds out who his friends are.

A lovely story, fabulous illustrations (spot the familiar faces!). A joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A NEW HERO, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Superworm is another hero to come out from the Gruffalo stable of story telling and animation.

Young children will love the vulnerable hero, that they can find wriggling in their gardens. Adults will like the fact that the story is just the right length and entertaining.

As usual the colours and pictures are bright and wonderful.

Full marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff, 11 Sep 2012
By 
J. Benson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
You can't really go wrong with Julia Donaldson and this is another entertaining book that would appeal to those approx age 2-5. If you have Stick Man, you'll see some similarities in the style of the story with Superworm being super useful for all sorts of things. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Sam M (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Another good story from the great pairing of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. The story is written in the traditional Donaldson verse and has the excellent illustrations to capture any child's interest. I thought Minibeasts were rather an unusual choice for a children's story book, but they work well in this book and the illustrations make the creatures quite cute! Not as good as some of Donaldson's other books, but still fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read every night for the past two weeks!, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
My children both love this but my 4.5 year old son especially, is intrigued by Superworm!

Fabulous story line coupled with brilliant illustrations, this book is one of the best yet from the amazing collaboration of Donaldson-Scheffler. How do they do it?

Borrowed from the library first to see if it was any good but we did not need to worry and placed an order with Amazon after just 3 days of booking it out of the library. Buy it and be prepared to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER!, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. Gareth I. Davies "giddig" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We really liked The Highway Rat so leapt at getting this and it is just as good. The story of the many uses/jobs of "super" worm is lovely and uses her usual rhyming style backed up the illustrator's superb supporting pictures. We felt pretty sure some of the worm lines are worked in there for a bit of "knudge-knudge-wink-wink" humour for the adults doing the reading but that may just have been our juvenile sense of humour. The illustrations really are excellent and there are some nice hidden bits for you to spot characters from her other books too. If you liked her other books, especially The Highway Rat, we think you're in for a treat with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Stamp "Granma" (Bury St Edmunds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Superworm (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an absolute gem--even better than the best-selling (and I think,scary!) Gruffalo stories by the same team of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler.It has beautiful illustrations with lots of scope for chatting with little ones about what you can see in the drawings, and the story is in simple rhyme--easy to join in and remember.Typically, a favourite bedtime book!
Superworm can use his super-long and super-strong body for inventive play with his friends in the garden. He can be a swing or a slide, a crane or a train! Better still, like his namesake Superman,he can carry out heroic deeds by using his body as a fishing line to save a beetle from a well or as a lassoo to save baby toad who has strayed into the road. As in Superman, an evil adversary causes a spot of bother,(here it's a wizard lizard) but all Superworm's small animal and insect friends get together and save the day!
There are so many good things in the story:the humour in the rhymes, a bit of danger but a happy ending, and the importance of friends and helping one another. No matter how small you are,you can still make a difference, especially with everyone working together.
If you are wondering about stocking-fillers for pre-schoolers (and slightly above) I don't see how anyone could fail to enjoy this book. It's so good, it should be compulsory, especially at Amazon's price.
Superworm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superworm
Superworm by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 5 Sep 2013)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews