Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2010
I bought this for my son after attending a talk given by the author

My son is 7 and while some reviewers have mentioned it as being more suitable for older children he hasn't put it down

So much so that one night I thought I would have to unscrew his lightbulb to stop him sneakily keep reading it after bedtime - I imagine if I did that he'd just use his torch and keep reading under the covers!

As someone who grew up watching Johny Ball it is good to see someone writing with such passion and humour for what can be seen -wrongly-as a dry subject
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
Theres lots of funny people in this book doing maths tricks and magic. The Evil Gollarks keep turning up to try and invade Earth and find it's a really scary place! The Greeks were dying of plague until Murderous Maths shows them how to double a cube which they couldn't do. And you find out how to make your birthday last twice as long! The cartoons are brillinat and the stories are really fuuny. It's so good you forget its a maths book.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
The main differences between this and the previous Murderous Maths books are the obvious ones: the larger format and the colour. Inside, it's everything that regular readers will have come to expect from the series: a range of mathematical topics presented in typically humorous fashion - with the usual cast of MM characters (Dolly and the gangsters, Pongo and Veronica, the Fogsworths, Urgum and Grizelda, Thag, the nutty Pure Mathematicians, Professor Fiendish and Truffles and of course the evil Gollarks from the planet Zog) plus guest appearances from some ancient Greeks and a cicada. There's plenty of number theory and trivia of the same sort that went into "Numbers: the Key to the Universe", while other topics covered include astronomy, geometry, topology, probability, combinatorics and harmonics. Most of the material is suitable for children in the lower years of secondary school (11-13), although bright upper primary children will get something out of it and there's plenty to keep older readers interested.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
What a fantastic book. It is great to read or dip into. To use some of the wonderful facts to share with others. The cartoons help in making this a must for all schools.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
Bought 2 of these for our grandchildren, who found them excellent. Maths explained in a way youngsters (and adults) can understand.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
Who said maths can't be fun? A full colour book from the author of the popular Murderous Maths series from Scholastic Books, this is packed with fun ways of increasing maths skills. The reader is taken on a tour of the Murderous Maths building where a huge range of activities are going on - there are murderous pennies, infinite flowers and exact eggs, how to win a load of money... the list goes on. Each mathematical concept is clearly explained, there are activities to try out and links to related topics. Kjartan Poskitt has a real passion for maths and this comes across wonderfully in all his books, and never better than in this one. Brilliant cartoons add to the fun. A super book for home or school use.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
My son hates maths, I though this was a bit of a long shot to add to his xmas list but he loved it and said that if made math interesting i highly recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Very good book, entertaining way of teaching maths. Reasonable price, arrived on time, would buy from this company again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
bought as a christmas present. my grandson seemed to like it. hope it will maintain his interest in maths in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
My nine year old loves the murderous maths range so this book was great. Highly recommend to similar age group
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.