Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pullman at his best, 28 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
The most compelling novel I have read in years. It is by turns mystifying, frightening, horrifying, moving and, finally, hopeful and joyous. Its cast of well-drawn characters, especially the courageous Sally Lockhart and the Jewish socialist Daniel Goldberg, is unforgettable and its insight into the lives of the dispossessed of 1880s London is imbued with deep understanding and compassion. I have read with pleasure several of Pullman's novels but none has left such a powerful impression as this. What a writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and exciting, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
This is the third book in the Sally Lockhart series and I am very much looking forward to reading the last. After reading the second with the rather emotional and powerful ending, I was anxious to see how Sally would get on in the next book, and what she could possibly have thrown at her now - and this one does not disappoint, the anticipation and excitement starts almost straight away and it is a hard book to put down. Written by a brilliant author I think this series of books provides a great deal of entertainment and escapism and I would thoroughly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and Informative, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
The book has an air of menace that is quite frightening. It also informs the reader of the Jews plight during this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great series!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
Philip Pullman is an incredibly gifted author. This series is very different from his northern lights series but it's just as gripping. Sally is a fantastic and believable heroine..you won't want to put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tiger in the Well, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
Good book, well written, well presented, I intend to order the next or last one in the series of Sally Lockhard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Philip Pullman, 26 April 2013
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy by one of my favourite authors. The Sally Lockhart mysteries are a really good read, historically accurate and a decent social comment on the times. Phillip Pullman is a great storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 8 April 2013
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
The book arrived in good time. I have been searching for this everywhere and hadnt been able to find it. Now i have it and have been able to read it, i am pleased with the outcome. The book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was great, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) (Paperback)
It was full of twists, suspense and everything a fiction book should have. Even though I found the first book quite boring I loved this one. The feelings it gave me were so strong it was just amazing. I seriously don't have the words to describe it because I'm worried I may spoil it but I found this book intriguing both in a personal way and as a book as well. It had everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart)
The Tiger in the Well (Sally Lockhart) by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews