Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Adventure Story
After reading Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy I decided this summer to read Pullman's four books about Sally Lockhart set in Victorian England and I'm glad I did. The books are an excellent read, and Pullman has enough changes in each book to stop them becoming repetitive.
This is the second book of the four, in which Sally, Jim and the rest of the...
Published on 31 Aug 2001 by J. Mann

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather dissappointing
This book was rather disappointing follow-on to the first book - 'Ruby in the Smoke', and not a patch on the excellent 'Dark Materials' books (I can't recommend these enough). The story was well written, but just not that interesting, nor gripping.
Published on 17 Feb 2006 by R. J. Beed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Adventure Story, 31 Aug 2001
By 
J. Mann - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After reading Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy I decided this summer to read Pullman's four books about Sally Lockhart set in Victorian England and I'm glad I did. The books are an excellent read, and Pullman has enough changes in each book to stop them becoming repetitive.
This is the second book of the four, in which Sally, Jim and the rest of the group encounter big business and the arms trade, and battle to stop a sinister weapon being built in northern England. There are real surprises and shocks in this gripping story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazingly written book as all of Philip Pullman's are., 25 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Another astounding book by Philip Pullman. His way of capturing his audience is extraordinary. The book, as his others, is quite complicated - but without knowing it, you follow everything. This book carries on from the trilogy starting with,'The Ruby in the Smoke' It stars a young defiant lady called Sally Lockhart who, in the last book, joined up with Frederick Garland, a good natured photographer. He stars in this book along with a number of familiar characters from the first book.In their spare time, they are detectives - this sounds very tacky and unoriginal but in this story it is extremely realistic. The story is set in London in the late 1800s. It is excellent and leaves you in tears at places. I highly reccomend it to any children aged between 12-15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I loved this book. Full of Mystery, deceit, romance, tragedy (very, very sad), and fear. The story really begins with Sally as a financial consultant in Victorian London, one of her clients loses a lot of money. Somehow it all gets mixed up with Frederick Garland, a photographer, and a seance and Jim Taylor and a magician. It also includes "bell man" and some other suspicious characters. Romance and Tragedy help this book come alive. It shows the darker side of Victorians and what people will do for power. It also shows what people will do when murders have been commited and revenge is the only thing left. A climatic ending with peace once again being restored but with a few surprises on the end and a lot of irony. Must read for Pullman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Read, 25 Mar 2006
Sally Lockhart- now older and maturer, and a rare woman Financal Advisor, discovers 3000 has gone missing from one of her customers. She sets out to get this 3000 back, no matter what it takes, and finds herself caught up in a case of unimaginable evil. Her friends- Frederick Garland, who she met in the previous book, and Jim, again from the previous book, have started up a detective business and help her out, meeting a suspicious Conjuror, who seems to be on the run from some shifty characters. As the story unfolds, they meet more intriguing characters, and discover more and more about the evil behind it all.
A beautifully written book- my favourite of the first three, for it's powerful story and emotional ending.
I recommend it to teenagers and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far too good to be left for the children!, 11 Aug 2007
By 
S. Bailey "will work for books" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second in Pullman's Sally Lockhart trilogy, the sequel to The Ruby in the Smoke. I made the mistake of reading this one first; each of the books contains big spoilers for the previous one, so I strongly recommend they are read in order.

This is another absolute masterpiece from Pullman, but rather darker than its predecessor. The Ruby in the Smoke talked about greed, desire and stupidity; The Shadow in the North addresses the question of evil face on.

Sally has begun to make a name for herself in business, an incredible achievement for a Victorian woman, and to drag Frederick Garland's photography company back from chaos and near-bankruptcy. A seemingly innocent enquiry by a client about a sunken ship and an apparently genuine clairvoyant leads Sally, Fred and Jim off on another trail of deceit and trechery, leading across Europe, and into the very heart of the British government.

If The Ruby in the Smoke was Pullman's homage to Conan Doyle, this one has a lot more of the Wilkie Collins about it. The plot is just beautiful: neatly complex and tight, twisting and with a sting in its tail that has reduced me to tears both times I've read it. There is a sense of justice and moral certitude in his writing that is deeply satisfying. If there is really a better storyteller than Pullman in England right now, I don't know about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Sally Lockhart book!, 11 Jan 2004
This is the second book in the Sally Lockhart series. I suggest you read the first one, 'The Ruby in the Smoke' first, or you won't understand some of it. This is my favourite of the four, and when you read it you'll know why.
PS: I dare you not to cry and laugh at the same time at the end!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casts a Long Shadow- and Kicks When He's Down, 26 Sep 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a fabulous read.
Pure and simple Philip Pullman writes wonderful books with wonderful plots.
This is a follow up to The Ruby in the Smoke and I really would encourage you to read that splendid book first to get the maximum enjoyment out of this wonderful tale.
True this is a sequel but it is a fabulous story in its own right.

I am amazed that this book is inteneded for children- I as an adult really enjoyed reading this fabulous tale of mystery, corruption murder greed Victorian Violence and Sally Lockheart.

Pullman really knows his stuff the plot and story lines are reviewed well by other reviwers so I will focus on the background to the books.
It is set in Victorian London and that my friends means the underbelly and seedy side of London Life- Jim and Fred now run a detective Agency and my they really know how to get tooled up when violence threatens.
Knuckledusters and 'night sticks are used' and when the opponents use a knife they have no hesitation in smashing the assailents face in with a cosh and kicking him in the nadgers when he is down- so he won;t be getting up in a hurry nor reproducing either.
Jim and Fred never escape unharmed either, broken teeth, black eyes and broken bones aboud.
Sally plays her part well and there are wonderful side characters who are never what they seem and villens abound like hornets when the hive is threatened.

Wonderful stuff and not just for kids.
Recommended 100 per cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure briliance, 23 Jun 2005
By 
Miss M (England, UK) - See all my reviews
what can i say? Phillip Pullman is without a doubt the worlds most amazing writer, and nothing short of genius. The shadow in the north plunges you into the dark and mysterious depths of victorian london, taking you on a journey through murder and crime solving, with every other emotion along the way, including a beautiful romance. Evry sentence has you captivated. once you've started reading this book, and the other three for that matter, you cant put it down, so make sure you got plenty of time so you wont be interrupted. Pullman has that rare ability to convey all types of emotions in a beautiful as well as subtle way that never ceases to amaze me. i have read al the books in this series at least 3 times each, and will continue to read them, il never get bored. What I particulary like about this story is the intense attraction between sally and fred, and i think pullman conveys it beautiful. This book has the power to make you both laugh and cry, and left me feelin empty at the death of one of the characters (not telling who). well i could continue to ramble on for several pages but all il say is please read this book, and te other three as well and open your minds to the amazing world of sally lockhart. believe me youll never feel the same about books gain, nothing compares. Pullman, you rock! i hope i may some day have the honour of meeting you. thnx for reading, hope it helped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Aug 2004
This is one of my alltime favourite books. Phillip Pullman is a genius.The sequel to The Ruby In The Smoke,this book is a thrilling tale full of deceit,fraud,murder, phychic anomalies... Not to mention love and friendship. The villain is, if anything, better than the first book in the series, with a more complex motive than just greed. I have read it four times now, and it still makes me laugh and cry the whole way through. You would have to be utterly heartless not to do the same. A thrilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philip Pullman = BRILLIANT, 26 May 2003
By A Customer
This book has to be one of the best books p.p has ever written, the content is vivid and realistic. Sally Lockhart is once again brought alive, as a victorian woman who definately knows her own mind in a very feminist time period. Her struggles with murder, love and business are clearly set out in Mr Pullman's style of writing. I thoroughly enjoyed, The Ruby in The Smoke and all the other books that this genius has written. Philip Pullman's books are always wonderfully researched and his descriptions of Victorian London are sometimes terrifying. As with all his books I think they are suitable for anyone from the age of 12 onwards. A must read for anyone who likes mystery and murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadow in the North (Sally Lockhart)
The Shadow in the North (Sally Lockhart) by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 2 Feb 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews