Customer Reviews


1,078 Reviews
5 star:
 (865)
4 star:
 (132)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series that needed to be written?
Suzanne Collins has said that she wrote 'The Hunger Games' series to condemn 'reality TV and the Iraq war' and I,as a reader, believe that she has succeeded in her aim. 'The Hunger Games' is a televised competition broadcast across the country of Panem, (a North America of the far future made up of thirteen districts) where a boy and a girl from each 'district' is...
Published on 2 April 2012 by Amy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice box set - book 3 is a let down
The boxier is packaged nicely and everything went well with delivery and payment. Average score because the books went downhill in my opinion. After such a strong first book the final one will leave you pulling your hair out. It could have been so much stronger!
Published 4 months ago by Stacey


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series that needed to be written?, 2 April 2012
By 
Amy (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) (Paperback)
Suzanne Collins has said that she wrote 'The Hunger Games' series to condemn 'reality TV and the Iraq war' and I,as a reader, believe that she has succeeded in her aim. 'The Hunger Games' is a televised competition broadcast across the country of Panem, (a North America of the far future made up of thirteen districts) where a boy and a girl from each 'district' is selected each year to fight to the death in an arena until only one person survives. This synopsis may sound brutal and horrific, and to a great extent it really is, but it also shows us how the power of human nature can fight back from such atrocities. The main protagonist, Katniss Everdeen, who volunteers for the Games so that her sister does not have to take part, is a particularly flawed character and yet this helps to give her the appealing persona that she has. She is first and foremost a fighter and a hunter, but her struggles with her own personal emotions show signs of vulnerability in her personality, something which I believe is needed in order to make her a more rounded character. The 'love-triangle' in the series does at times get a little bit tedious and irritating- there are certain points where the reader will think, 'For goodness sake, just choose!' however this is by no means the main plot line to the novel, but instead an underlying one. Peeta, the boy who is selected to fight with (and indeed against) her is, as Collins describes in 'Mockingjay' the final book in the trilogy, 'the dandelion in the spring'; the character who helps to keep the fiery Katniss grounded when no-one else can. His character compliments Katniss' (even though at times she is really quite awful to him!!). Gale, the third member of this 'triangle' is more like Katniss in temperament- he is fiery and hot-headed- which makes the reader see why Katniss feels so at ease in his company.
The condemnation of reality TV comes in with the reactions of the people across Panem towards the events shown on the programme- they appear to be delighted and enthralled by the bloodbath which commences, and rejoice when the people at the Capitol control and manipulate the arena to create deadly obstacles for the tributes (players) to face. However, we also see the reactions of the families of the tributes to several of the deaths, showing that in fact, the majority of people are appalled by such events.
I do believe that these books deserve a five-star rating, despite their flaws. The main issue I had with this series however was the last 50 pages of 'Mockingjay'. Yes, I was happy with the conclusion, but I felt that it was somewhat rushed and that the fate of Katniss came down to events of coincidence and chance rather than those of choice on her part (you will see what I mean when you read it) which was a little bit disappointing. However, I think that these books are an absolute must-read (for adults as well as teenagers!) and that they will be remembered for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as good as I was hoping, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Catriona Reid - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd heard a lot of good things about these books, and being a fan of post-apocalyptic fiction in general, I decided to give them a go. I don't regret this, exactly, but they weren't exactly what I was expecting.

The first book follows our main character, Katniss, as she participates in The Hunger Games - an annual event in which a group of randomly selected young people have to fight to the death in an arena. The young people are selected from twelve poor Districts (two from each) surrounding a wealthy capital - of course, it's the rich people in the capital who are entertained by the poor kids fighting it out. The whole event is televised for the entire nation to watch. The second two books follow on directly from The Hunger Games, and examine the aftermath of the events portrayed therein, ultimately leading to an attempt at revolution from the Districts.

These books can be read on quite a shallow level as a simple adventure story, but there is a not very subtle attempt at examining what it means to be human and compassionate, how wealth and power can change you, and what sparks a revolution (and what is required to keep it going). The books are well-paced and fraught with tension - I read the lot in about three days flat, and could hardly bear to put them down.

The loss of a star comes from two things: the writing, and the main protagonist. The writing is, for the most part, very straight-forward and not particularly adventurous or descriptive. The reasons for this are clear (the story is told from Katniss' perspective, and for much of her life she has been too focussed on survival to be able to be highly imaginative), but at times it does feel stilted and overly simple. The main protagonist, Katniss, is not always likeable - but the problem is more that she is billed as a fairly intelligent young person, but seems completely oblivious, even stupid, when it comes to certain areas.

All in all, though, the books are an excellent read and well worth checking out, whether you are a member of the intended teenage audience or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant read. Could not stop reading from the first page, I finished all three books within a week and would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the hunger games, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) (Paperback)
This is a lovely boxed version of the hunger games.
The story is gripping from beginning to end.
Not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) (Paperback)
I bought this series after reading it myself for my 18 year old sister. I am 20 myself and I loved them.
While the writing can be likened to Twilight in that it is fairly simple, easy to read and easy to get into, the story is far superior. I was and am an avid reader - however my sister is more of a late bloomer. She read the first book in short order and we are both looking forward to seeing the film come out next month.
This is a perfect YA book but also a great book for older readers too. Although it is set in a future dystopian world, it only really gets dark in the last book. Definitely a tear jerker but definitely educational in that it really makes you appreciate the freedom that we have now.
A wonderful book series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 28 Jan 2012
By 
Kim Martin "KimM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) (Paperback)
These books are being touted as "the new Twilight" but I can tell you that they are nothing like Twilight (& this is from a Twilight fan). All three books start off quite slow but really take off around half way through and you won't want to put them down until you've finished it !! A little gory in places and the main female character is sometimes unlikeable (see I told you nothing like Twilight !!) but they are an excellent read & I would highly recommend them. Best to buy the set, as once you've read the first book, you'll want to read the others, so makes sense to buy them all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hunger Games win everytime, 16 May 2011
Knowledge of The Hunger Games trilogy came about by a casual conversation over lunch with one of my colleagues. While I was discussing how enjoyable the Harry Potter books were and that I was looking for something to read along those lines, she told me about The Hunger Games. Now whilst there is no magic (of sorts) and the world is scant of dragons, what the books contain is a delightful and encapsulating story, told in first person of how a young girl is catapulted from obscurity into a post apocalyptic world where the fight for her life bends far beyond simply fending off starvation in her colony but to a much darker plane where she must battle for her life within an arena......with 23 other contestants in a "last person standing" fight to the death.

These books simply immerse you immediately and engage you with the main protagonist, Katniss Everdeen and her internal and external struggle to fight in the games.

The three books bring you along at a rapid pace and invite you into the storyline without necessarily making the path obvious. That's what I loved about The Hunger Games....it is raw (sometimes graphic), fast and there are surprises at every corner.

A recommended read for those who enjoyed Eragon, Nicholas Flamel, Harry Potter etc. Contains mature references and definitely not for the young (pre-teens).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series is the most engaging and imaginative series I've ever read, real or not real?, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...

"Real."

This is not just a series of books, it consumed my life for the days it took me to finish. From the first page; to the last. Speechless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finished in a week, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this box set after watching the second film. The books are Soooooo different. It took me a little over a week to go through all 3, my wife only wanted to read the last book after seeing the first 2 films, but I had to steal it off her when I had finished book one and two.

such an easy read and very hard to put down.
It deserves a 5 star, as it got me back into reading again. Only downside was the ending.
Yes, I was happy with the conclusion, but I felt that it was somewhat rushed and that the fate of Katniss came down to events of coincidence and chance rather than those of choice on her part. It could have easily added another book to the series.

If you pick this up, you wont out it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice box set - book 3 is a let down, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The boxier is packaged nicely and everything went well with delivery and payment. Average score because the books went downhill in my opinion. After such a strong first book the final one will leave you pulling your hair out. It could have been so much stronger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy)
Box Set (Hunger Games Trilogy) by Suzanne Collins (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
Used & New from: 7.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews