Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
This is a very good book for all the students who are aiming to achieve Level 6 in Maths. It covers all the topics expected to be asked in a Level 6 paper. Highly recommended.
Published 3 months ago by Venky

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper 1 Set A no.5 and Set A Paper 2 no. 13
Good papers; I have just done Set A so far and checked my answers against the mark scheme. But be warned I have found two mistakes. Please note I am more than happy to be corrected here, but according to my understanding there are a couple of mistakes in the Set A booklets. Before you give them to your kids please note the following:

Paper 1 Set A no.5 should...
Published 15 months ago by Fifilefluff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paper 1 Set A no.5 and Set A Paper 2 no. 13, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
Good papers; I have just done Set A so far and checked my answers against the mark scheme. But be warned I have found two mistakes. Please note I am more than happy to be corrected here, but according to my understanding there are a couple of mistakes in the Set A booklets. Before you give them to your kids please note the following:

Paper 1 Set A no.5 should read that the equation for line B is y = x - 7 not y = x + 7 at is stated.
Paper 2 Set A no.13 says the answer is 119 - but the range is 10 and the mean is 123, so that is impossible - the answer should be 118.

I have not checked the other sets yet.

Update to the above review: Found a few more mistakes - contacted Scholastic who acknowledged the mistakes and sent me updated PDF copies of the corrections needed for particular pages in need of correction. They did say the papers would be corrected on reprint. But it is best to be aware of this issue if you have bought the first print copies.

Mistakes were as follows:
Those mentioned above and

In the Mark scheme.
Page 16, Q5 answer correct but workings incorrect - volume of cut-out should be 2 x 2 x 3
Page 19, Q6 graph point is indistinct so have included an acceptable range of answers between 70 and 90miles.
Page 20, Q11 one of the 3 answers incorrect - should be 0 degrees C not 0.6.
Page 23, Q14 answers correct but given in the wring order.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
This is a very good book for all the students who are aiming to achieve Level 6 in Maths. It covers all the topics expected to be asked in a Level 6 paper. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Level 6 SATs preparation, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
I ordered the Maths Level 6 Papers in preparation of this test for a child. The first paper we worked through, I found a mistake. Not something I expect at such a crucial time and for such an important test.

Overall a good idea although I do think an example of "how to calculate" for children would be good rather than just a marks scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really worth getting if your child is doing level 6 maths, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
I was really glad I bought these for my child. They are very similar in style and level to the real level 6 SATS papers. There are very few actual past papers for level 6 maths because it was only introduced in 2012, so these were a great addition to our preparation. There are three calculator papers and three non-calculator papers and the pack includes answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book. The only set back is answers needing better explanation., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
Great for supporting achieving level 6. This book supports and stretches the able 10-11 yr but the answers could have done with better explanation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong book - twice, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
Sent for this as it says in line with 2014. Received book promptly but it was in line with 2013. Was again promptly sent a new set again low and behold still 2013. Doubt they actually have a set that is in line with 2014. Now have to bother trying to send back a second set! Very disappointed and will be staying away from such books from this company again. Interestingly when I read further reviews on Scholastic clearly this isn't the first time they have been unable to deliver the books advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not trust!, 2 April 2014
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
I bought these practise papers after reading claims like 100% in line with 2014 tests. This is simply not true. The paper contains vocabulary and questions that are not in the current curriculum. My school Maths coordinator has contacted QCA and the DFE after my class sat a practise test. He was told Scholastic had no information as to what the new test would be like, there have been no consultations with any publishers and the best advice for yr 6 teachers is to use past papers without a calculator. Do not buy, they are a waste of money and will only serve to frighten yr 6 children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
Thanks, arrived today they look good, thin but guess the
Dice was ok and god, thanks, not happy with the other one that I ordered together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great material and packaging, 5 April 2013
By 
Miles Alura (London, Londom, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) (Paperback)
Really easy to read and use for teachers. I think students would struggle on their own with some of the questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests)
Maths Level 6 (Practice Papers National Tests) by Paul Hollin (Paperback - 4 Mar 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews