Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything's amazing (about this book!)
My 9 year old son absolutely loves this book! He is a huge fan of all of the Tom Gates books but this one is his favourite. On Book Day he took it to school and told all of his friends how good it is and now they all love it as well. He is like a one boy publicity machine for Liz Pichon! Brilliantly funny and genuinely laugh out loud it is one of the few books that his...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Merlin The Happy Pig

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Tom gates
Tom gates books are a really poo and rubbish and I Will never read one again because they are do give doo doo !!!
Published 5 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything's amazing (about this book!), 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
My 9 year old son absolutely loves this book! He is a huge fan of all of the Tom Gates books but this one is his favourite. On Book Day he took it to school and told all of his friends how good it is and now they all love it as well. He is like a one boy publicity machine for Liz Pichon! Brilliantly funny and genuinely laugh out loud it is one of the few books that his Dad and I don't mind reading over and over again, which is just as well as my son is showing no sign of tiring of it! I cannot recommend this book enough it is quite simply wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically funny, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
This book had my 10 year old son in absolute hysterics. He absolutely loved it . Although a rather reluctant reader he hardly put this down until he had completed it. This book is highly recommended, if your child enjoys David Walliams books he/she will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
Great reading for adults and children, the first books I have come across that has both me and my son in fits of giggles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Wimpy Kid, 18 May 2013
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
This is the third in the Tom Gates series, of which there are currently five.

This book was the subject of our school book club this week, and lots of the children who attended had either already read it, or had read other Tom Gates' books. There wasn't a single child there who had read them who didn't enjoy them, and the books fly off of our school library shelves as soon as they are put back by a previous reader. We could do with at least twenty copies of each book to keep up with the demand.

I have read the first three, and can see why the children like them so much. They are easy to read with minimal text, plenty of white space on the page and lots of drawings. The drawings are all very amusing, and also easy to emulate if you are a fan. The stories bounce along at a great pace and there is never a dull moment in Tom's life. He is a likeable character who is also believable (the children were amazed when I pointed out that the author was actually a lady).

Nothing too exciting happens in any of the books, Tom gets homework, does battle with his teachers, annoys his sister, does battle with his parents, hangs out with his friends. Each book has a core 'story' but they are not particularly strong. In this one, the main narrative is that it is Tom's birthday, but there are lots of little details and hiccups along the way that stretch the story out, and also make it interesting, despite how it sounds when you try to describe what happens.

Children who love Diary of a Wimpy Kid love these books. I hate Wimpy Kid, but I love Tom Gates. I'd rather my school kids were reading Tom Gates over Wimpy Kid any day of the week, so I'm delighted they're so popular. Long may it last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilariously funny, 18 Oct 2013
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
This book is exellent for people from age five-eleven. I think it is perfectly good.It is all written like a diary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for boys., 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
Bought them all for my son who completely loves the characters and doesn't want to read anything else at bedtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
I bought this for our son's 9th birthday & he loved it. He couldn't put it down & has since read a couple of the other Tom Gates books.
He prefers it to the Wimpy Kid books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for boys, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
My son HATES reading, always has and i think pretty much always will. He is 10years old and struggles with reading, however I found these Tom Gates books and he 'loves' them (as much as someone can who hates reading). The book is 'cool' enough to be seen with at school, but not to hard to read. Along with all the David Walliams books these are great for struggling readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing children (and adult read), 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
Well worth the read for both children and adults. My nine year old could not put the book down until read in full
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for 9 year old boys!!!!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD SON FOR HIS BIRTHDAY AND HE COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN, IT REALLY MOTIVATED HIM TO READ AND HE HAS READ ALL 3 OF THE TOM GATES COLLECTION. I HAVE NEVER SEEN HIM LAUGH OUT LOAD WITH ANY OTHER BOOK, INFACT I GOT HIM TO READ PARTS OUT LOUD TO ME BECAUSE IT SOUNDED SO FUNNY!!!! HE'S NOW WAITING FOR NUMBER 4 TO BE PUBLISHED. A GREAT PRESENT AND SO CHEAP!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates)
Everything's Amazing (sort of) (Tom Gates) by Liz Pichon (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews