Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars246
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2012
My 9 year old daughter loved this book as it is funny,Especially The song it has that tom wrote about his sister - "Delia's A weirdo!".
(It is a little bit harsh but extremely funny!!!).
Other bits are Excellent,(E.G. The dentist,School trip,Anoying Delia.)
Recomended for Ages 8 - 11,Comedy Seekers and just plain people who are interseted in this type of book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
This book is the second in the Tom Gates series.
The second book starts off right after the first one ends. But, you CAN read these in any order.

It actually seems like a 'Wimpy Kid UK', but of course it beats the aforementioned series. It is funny, has an easy-to-read font and loads of pictures.

I have read books 1 to 5 and enjoyed them. Good for the reluctant reader.

For ages 7+, and any gender. Aimed at boys but it isn't just for boys, so it is worth it for girls too.

Works for Kindle properly too!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
Having read the first Tom Gates book my son couldn't wait to read this one and was not disappointed - a really fun read.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
My daughter thinks tom gates is awesome (her words ) and she constantly reads It ever single day ! (Again her words) I like it when Norman puts centipedes up his nose !!! And says they are bogeys!! (Her words)
My daughter says this book is awesome you should definitely read it!

I As a mother am overjoyed with this book . I have Always loved reading and couldn't understand why my daughter was so reluctant ! We have had literally hundreds of books on the shelf and my daughter has never really felt passionate about any of them .... Until Tom gates came around !!! Thankyou L. pichon for captivating my daughters imagination !!!! Couldn't recommended this highly enough !!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
I love it I know I'm 8 but still I can write this.
I love it, the cool part is when he calls his Granparents the FOSSILS!becauser they are old.
I have read the first one (It's red)I couldn't wait to read the next one!
I do recommend it to 8-11.

Love Clairexxx
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
I bought this for my 10 year old son who has only just discovered the Tom Gates books. He read this book within a couple of days but thoroughly enjoyed it. It looks very similar to Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Would highly recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
If you have a child who is a reluctant reader, then please consider purchasing this book. It is amusing, easy to read and has a good story. Can't praise it enough.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
This book is easy to read and funny. My son adores all the books about Tom Gates. Hope there will be another one out soon!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
The content of this book is suitable for the 11 year old that I bought it for. I was a little disappointed with the quality of the material though. The book is paperback (as stated) but seems a little cheap looking. That will not be a problem, though as the content is what is important to the person I bought it for.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
This is a present for my son who loves Tom Gates series. He always laughs out loud when reading Tom Gates adventures and troubles. He loves the way Liz Pichon's books describes events with pictures. His favourite part is when Tom try to think of ways to annoy his sister Delia.

So, Excellent Excuses is also a great book writen by Liz Pichon. It is fun with brilliant drawings. My son burst out laughing when he reads it. So, I am extremely pleased when I see my son read Tom Gates series of books. I totally recomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.