Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars " I am the Jinnee of the ring"said the Jinnee
This is just part of the amazing story of Aladdin and the enchanted lamp(set in China), beneath the cover lies a story you will not be able to take your eyes off.
The part I liked best was when the Moor was entertaining the Princess, getting her to like him and the last picture in the book, I liked these parts best because the Moor uses lots of funny words...
Published on 29 Jan. 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two editions with very different illustrations
Check and double-check what you are getting here.
Look carefully at these reviews and you will realise they are for very different editions of this story. Ian Beck is a thoughtful and acclaimed children's illustrator. David Wyatt is also an excellent illustrator, but he comes from a field of more adult illustration and his images for Aladdin are not what you find in...
Published on 21 Oct. 2012 by Pinchbeck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars " I am the Jinnee of the ring"said the Jinnee, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This is just part of the amazing story of Aladdin and the enchanted lamp(set in China), beneath the cover lies a story you will not be able to take your eyes off.
The part I liked best was when the Moor was entertaining the Princess, getting her to like him and the last picture in the book, I liked these parts best because the Moor uses lots of funny words e.g"My little bibble bubble" and the picture because it well drawn, like the rest and it is funny.
I would recomend this book to anyone from 6 and older, because it has brillant illustrations on every page and is an amazing story for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking story!, 15 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Philip Pullman's books are marvellous and they attract so many people of all ages. I think Aladdin is the best and exciting book ever. My favourite character was the evil Moor and the Jinee. I thought that the Jinee had put a lot of effort into acting. Aladdin is really impressive and a really, marvellous actor. Aladdin is very funny and not only very funny for little kids but also for grown ups. It is the type of tale that mum and dads would love to read as a bedtime story. Aladdin's mother is very old and the pictures have got a lot of texture in them. Her skin looks really wrinkly and she appears so old. I think Philip Pullman will make some more amazing books. My favourite picture is the bits were the jinnee appears out of nowhere. His glowing red eyes and huge muscular body would scare the living day lights out of anybody. I recommend that this story is for people around the age of (8/30)
CHANTELLE
AGE 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two editions with very different illustrations, 21 Oct. 2012
Check and double-check what you are getting here.
Look carefully at these reviews and you will realise they are for very different editions of this story. Ian Beck is a thoughtful and acclaimed children's illustrator. David Wyatt is also an excellent illustrator, but he comes from a field of more adult illustration and his images for Aladdin are not what you find in a typical children's book. There's a touch of lasciviousness to them, and an emphasis on shiny bulging breasts which doesn't sit well with the target audience.
In addition this is quite a different version of Aladdin to the one you may have heard before. Set in China and with quite a different story arc. Fine if you want a fresh interpretation, but if you're looking for a familiar classic, go elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Aladdin retelling fit for both Pullman fans and Arabian Nights fans alike, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Yi-Peng (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of the original Arabian Nights stories (and not the Disney bowdlerisations) I took interest when I saw that Philip Pullman had written a novella-length retelling of the story of Aladdin. I would like to write my review from the perspective of an Arabian Nights fan rather than a Philip Pullman fan.

This book is a delight to read and to look at both inside and out. Pullman retells the story in a focused, direct and concise way, Chinese setting and all. His writing style is crisp, lively and dramatic. It is accessible for children yet not infantile for grown-ups. The story is based on the original story, not Disney's film, and so it is rougher and rawer than the film. The story moves briskly from scene to scene. Compared to the Antoine Galland version (the first known printed instance of the story) the dialogue is more succinct, to the point and uses more everyday language that still fits the tone of the story. I feel assured that this version will not "date" with idioms that are of the 1990s. Galland's version was pretty long (as shown in the various translations of the Nights), and so it's good to have a retelling such as this that respects that version and presents the story in a more palatable way.

For those who only know the Disney version, the original story may be a surprise. The magician who cons Aladdin into thinking he is his uncle is more menacing and scheming than Disney's vizier-villain Jafar. The Sultan has a scheming vizier who wants his son to marry Badr-al Badur. For some strange reason Disney conflated the vizier with the magician to create Jafar. Also, Aladdin has a magic ring with its own magical slave in addition to the lamp with its genie.

Pullman's retelling streamlines the story by removing the incidents of the magician's brother. The brother schemes to avenge the magician's death and disguises himself as the holy woman Fatimah. Galland may have included this in his written version of the story, but it might be an embellishment that pre-dates Galland. As such it is good to have omitted it so as not to hold up the story. Also, it only mentions the Vizier's plans to marry Badr-al-Budur to his son. In the original story they are already married and Aladdin rubs the land to order the genie to carry them away. In a children's book this would border on adult material, and Pullman wisely removed it without doing violence to the tale.

This book has gone through three illustrated editions since it first came out in 1995. The one I'm reviewing here features illustrations by Ian Beck. They capture the sensuous, mysterious Arabian Nights mood very well, with silhouettes of the characters and Arabic ornaments adorning each drawing. Not to cause any offence to buyers who may have the two prior illustrated editions (the Sophy Williams and David Wyatt versions). The drawings in the other two editions were excellent, but this Beck version is more spirited, capturing the magic and the mischief of the story.

When all is said and done, this is still an excellent picture book/novella retelling of the Aladdin story. It is a worthy introduction to the stories of the Nights and can be a step-up to the various grown-up editions, notably the excellent Penguin Lyons translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different, but Underwhelming, 4 Mar. 2014
Perhaps it is the actual story of 'Aladdin' that just doesn't so it for me? I think Pullman does a good job at writing the story, and it has a few nice revelations in too. For instance, I didn't know that the story takes place in China, not Arabia. I guess that's what we get for believing in Disney too much.

The evil antagonist is just the right amount of creepy to justify your wanting of Aladdin to win, especially when the lamp is stolen from underneath his nose! The only thing is, Aladdin is a completely unrelatable character - he's arrogant, mean and extremely demanding. I found him to be quite annoying.

The pictures give great charm and character to the setting, which is probably why I've rated it higher than I would have otherwise. The story in itself is rather naive - there's usually a moral to these types of yarns, but I failed to see one. It was great to see the contrast between the Jinnie of the Ring and the Jinnie of the Lamp though. Give this a go if classical fairy tales are your thing and your interested to read the real story of Aladdin, otherwise, just pop the film into your DVD player instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly illustrated children's story, 9 May 2011
By 
D. Armstrong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have bought several copies of this book for my children's friends - it is one their favourites (and mine). A familiar story is retold with utter panache and style, including just enough gruesome and nasty details to tickle the funny bone of 8 year olds and adults alike. The illustrations are superb and I will only buy this version (even though I know there is a newer one) because I love David Wyatt's pictures so much - the oily and lecherous Moor pops off the page right at the beginning of the book and the drawings of him, Aladdin and all the other characters hold you spellbound till the very end. Love it love it love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin is a brillient story retold by Philip Pullman, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
I am the jinne of the lamp,said the great spirit in a voice that shook the rafters,what ever you comand i will obay.Alladin is a wonderfully written book by the fantastic Pilip Pullman. A
nother one of his magnificent books about a poor
boy turns into a rich prince with the help of his
magic jinnes the story is for everyone with its fantasic pictures you won't be able to put it down.you will read over and over again because its a good book for all the family.I would recomend this book to any one because there was never a dull moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Philip pullman's nailbitting version of Aladdin, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
"my little bibble bubble" are the words that the Moor uses to sweettalk the princess into marring
him. A magical story lies beneath the cover once you pick up the book you wont be able to put it down. This story takes placein China,where an ordenry boy named Aladdin becomes very rich with the help of the jeiney.But the moor decides to steal the jeiney, aladdin has many adventures with the jeiney. The best part was when aladdin found the garden.I would recomend this book to my friend's because it is very discriptive .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill Book, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those books that is brilliant to read aloud to a 5-6 year old boy. It is a great story, lovely pictures and all round excellent purchase. We have read together about 100 books and this is in the top 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful retaling of Aladdin for all ages, 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Aladdin is tricked by the mean Moor who claims to be his uncle,he tricks him to go into a cave and then the Moor traps him in! Then he discovers the power of the lamp.He then gets out of the cave and marries the beautiful princess Badr 'al' Budur.I liked the story because of the excellent pictures by David Wyatt and the way the Moor tries to impress the princess in all his Glamour.My favourate part is when they go into the magical garden because of on the excellent picture and good description.I would reccommend this book to any body who enjoys excellent storylines and super pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aladdin and the Enchanted Lamp
Aladdin and the Enchanted Lamp by Philip Pullman (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews