Customer Reviews


342 Reviews
5 star:
 (294)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging stick character's adventures told in strong rhyming text, with a Christmas twist at the end.
Stick Man is an inspired and engaging character (descended I am sure from the cave-stick-man my children and I loved in The Gruffalo's Child). A stick is universally popular with small children so a little living stick couldn't fail to appeal to them. Stick Man's adventures mirror the many things for which children use their sticks. Mistaken for an ordinary stick, Stick...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by ELH Browning

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
This book was one of my few disappointments this year. The illustrations are okay, the story is okay, but it was not great. The story is that of a Stick man who gets chased by a dog, then thrown in a river. All he wants is to return home to his family.
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by Steven R. McEvoy


‹ Previous | 129 30 3135 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good stocking-filler, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Bettina K. Schadow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
The Stick Man is a good story offering a backstage pass to an 'ordinary' stick's life and showing its variety of use in a funny and touching story. Who would ever contemplate that a stick has a family and could have real emotions? However, the story lacks a bit of substance, and with a lot of repetitive phrases it feels like the authors struggled to fill the pages with a flowing storyline and a catching dialogue. Personally, the stick man as a 'Gruffalo's Child' toy that he carries with him along the story, I would rather have gained a bit more insight into the life and adventures of the Gruffalo's Child from the 'Stick Man's' point of view. Maybe in the next book...!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, lovely story, 29 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
My daughter (2.5 yrs) loves this book, even though English is not her mother tongue - it is something about the rhymes and the drawings that just WORKS! We got Gruffalo and Monkey Puzzle (in Norwegian) as gifts, and have become great fans of Donaldson's writing. These books are an absolute must on any child's bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and seasonal too, 6 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
A great read! Humourous and light hearted, a typical Julia Donaldson story reminiscent of the Gruffalo. Recommend for younger and older children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joshua, Brandon and Ben, 1 Dec 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
Julia Donaldson has written another fantastic book.
This book has brilliant rhyming words. I couldn't wait to read this wonderful book. This book called the `Stick Man' has spectacular illustrations.

Buy this book, it will blow your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vince and Josh's review, 24 Nov 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
This book is very interesting! If you like Christmas this is the right book to look at. Also it is not boring at all, that would be impossible! We all loved when Santa appeared in the story. The most wonderful thing about this book is when he went back to the family tree, it was a nice happy ending.

You should by this book it will blow your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
my 2 boys were very excited to see that Julia Donaldson had written a new book, and they weren't disappointed. Another excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cover is worn and the kids know all the words!, 17 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
How anyone could rate this book as disappointing is beyond me. Another wonderful book that we have to read over and over despite the kids knowing all of the words! How a 'stick' has been made to come alive in the story is simply excellent. My kids are 6 and 4, they read a variety of literature and a huge range of stories and more of those by Julia Donaldson are at the top of thier wish list for Christmas this year.

Ignore any negative reviews for this item and buy it!
If people have to make up fussy reasons why this book is not as good as blah blah then oh dear - it IS supposed to be a kids book and if they like it and they're the target audience then so be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 18 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
Julia Donaldson has created another wonderful book for children with a funny and moving story that lilts along. A joy to read for adults and kids alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book you'll be reading to your little one over and over again!, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. R. Watson (Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
My son loves this book, and to be honest so do I! It's now always the first book he asks for at bedtime. I love a lot of these authors books, but this is definitely my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story, 17 Aug 2014
By 
P. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stick Man (Paperback)
Our daughters had read this in nursery and they kept pointing at the picture of the cover in other Donaldson/Sheffler books. I bought it along with several others in the set. Its a really nice story and as ever illustrated very nicely and reads very well for youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3135 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stick Man Book & CD
Stick Man Book & CD by Julia Donaldson (Audio CD - 7 Jun 2010)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews