Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars72
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2013
I was looking for a book that wouldn't scare the life out of my daughter and that didn't go into too much detail about sex, more the puberty side of things. This book ticked all the boxes and my 9 year old loved it, read it cover to cover in a couple of hours and I often find her reading through it. It covers all the basics in a educational and fun way without being too heavy. There's just one small paragraph on actual sex, the rest is all about body changes and feelings etc. very good for the 9-12 year old girl. Would definitely recommend :)
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
I read a lot of reviews before choosing to buy this book for my 9 year old daughter, am I am pleased wih my choice. The book included information on some of the topics that my daughter asked me questions on without being too graphic, which I feel is appropriate for her age.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
This book is pefect for younger girls who are just getting to understand the concept of puberty - age approx 9 years old. This book focuses on the girls feelings, what is happening and where to go for support and is a good reminder to parents of the journey puberty takes children on and the support they need. Only one paragraph on sex so not traumatic for young minds. Well written and presented.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
I was after a book about growing up and found this one in Waterstone's. I'm glad I could flick through it before buying it because I thought it was pitched just right - enough information as a first book. The Scholastic book also being sold was a step further on and had topics that weren't suitable at the moment.

This book is clearly written in a fun way for girls of 9+. I would highly recommend it and suggest you read it first so you know which questions might come your way! The front cover gives a good indication of the graphics and style inside. Lots of tips to put your daughter's mind at rest.
11 comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Arrived and is for the most part informative and well done. However, the section on eating disorders is offensive and lazy. Eating disorders are serious mental illnesses, this book is for young girls who will most probably at some point encounter someone with an eating disorder.If they take this to heart they might actually reduce someone they care about illness to something superficial and shallow. 'Some girls are so worried about their weight they'll try almost anything to change it. They are sure life would be better, or they'd be more popular if they were thinner'. This just perpetuates dangerous stereotypes. Poorly researched on this area and would not recommend the book .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Initially I loved this book. It is clear and well written, giving information in a sensitive and not sensationalist way. I was really disappointed then to read the section on developing body hair. There is a two page spread section detailing ways girls can get rid of their unwanted body hair! It cursorily mentions that body hair is natural but goes on today you may not want it and this is what to do about it! I feel the emphasis here is wrong. By all means mention that some people prefer not to have body hair but this book is aimed at girls who are just about to experience these things and I really don't want my daughter getting the message that aspects of her body are wrong before she has even experienced it! It has really put me off an otherwise excellent book. I am now going to have to look harder for another book that does more to challenge society's body obsessed ( and pornography obsessed) ideas.
66 comments|77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Bought this book for my 9 year old daughter who is growing up quickly. She was very reluctant at first but I eventually persuaded her to take a look at the book. I read it through myself beforehand and found it was very age appropriate and tended to focus more on body changes rather than the sex side of things which is exactly what I was looking for. My daughter has now read the book and found it very informative and explains things a lot better than I ever could! Would definately recommend this book especially for round about the 8-10 year olds that are starting to go through body changes and are asking questions.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
A nice little book for pre-teen and teen girls. Explains most things clearly and without getting into too much gory detail so to speak. A safe book about growing up to give to your daughter that will cover most information safely, a good starting point to discuss if you want to explain anything further or discuss anything.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
I read the book first before passing it it my 10 yr old who has read it several times since. Think it may become a reference book
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
This book is really informative and makes things easy to understand for a tween. I have flipped through and I think it makes all these things that happen to a young girls body etc feel a little less scary. I feel that my daughter will be more prepared for her ' puberty talk' which is happening in school soon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.