Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Engines back on form
Another year, another Mortal Engines prequel. The previous two, Fever Crumb and A Web of Air were OK. They were really quite good when compared to most books out there for teens. The problem was that they just couldn't live up to the pure brilliance, and I say that with conviction, of the original Mortal Engines quartet.

Scrivener's Moon is, without doubt, the...
Published on 2 April 2011 by JpfA

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It "Ok"
I am a big fan of Philip Reeve, having loved all the mortal engines stories growing up, so i was delighted when I head out he was writing a prequel series.
I am not going to lie, I have been a little disappointed so far. My reading of mortal engines series was some kind of fantastic escapism when I was a teen - the weird and wonderful imagination that was in the book...
Published 3 months ago by Oscar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mortal Engines back on form, 2 April 2011
By 
Another year, another Mortal Engines prequel. The previous two, Fever Crumb and A Web of Air were OK. They were really quite good when compared to most books out there for teens. The problem was that they just couldn't live up to the pure brilliance, and I say that with conviction, of the original Mortal Engines quartet.

Scrivener's Moon is, without doubt, the strongest prequel yet. It is brilliant. Grander, darker, with more scope, it brings the series back to its roots of long voyages, big showdowns and, of course, hulking great traction cities. The gritty, dirty, noisey cities trapesing across dusty wastelands, heroic battles, and journeys to far off lands, these are the things that made the original books something special, it's what made them great, and it's what makes this new book almost equal to them. Almost.

That's not to say that there weren't flaws, but in truth they were fairly minimal. A few silly jokes made me grimace - mainly place names like Hamster's Heath and Hamsterdam, which felt overly childish - but there were a couple, mostly aimed at older readers, that did make me smile, Mott & Hoople Orphanage being one of note. There was also a little teen angst that I hadn't noticed in the other books, such as Fever, our heroin, getting a little confused with her sexuality and resigning herself to admiring from afar. It didn't bother me much though, and I'm starting to think I'm just nit-picking for the sake of it.

There are some great new editions character wise. Cluny, a headstrong warrior princess afflicted by visions of a terrible future, is likeable and realistic, whilst the strange, seemingly heartless Charley is a great villain - one that you can never quite understand, yet in a weird way feel sorry for. There is also a new race of people, the cave-dwelling Nightwights. These strange, terrifying creatures may hold a key to Fever's own past.

All in all Scrivener's Moon is the Mortal Engines series back on form. It was great to learn more about the history of their world and I thoroughly look forward to returning in the near future.

Thank you, Philip Reeve.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fellow Reeves fans have told me that in comparison to the original Mortal Engines Quartet the prequels to that series haven't been as strong.I beg to differ. I've loved Fever Crumb from day one, and loved the scenes in 'Web of Air', but I think with Scrivener Moon a lot of my friends will quit grumbling and finally feel satisfied. This book's darker than the last two prequels and more on par with the grittiness of the Mortal Engines Quartet.

Back with Fever Crumb are her very logical engineer father, Dr Crumb, and her irrational Scriven mother, Wavey. A new character that helps bring this story to life is Cluny, a nomad priestess plagued by visions of the New London. Charley Swallow, who featured in 'Fever Crumb' but not in 'A Web of Air', is back. Here he excels as a villain. He is mercurial, superficial and thoroughly intriguing.

Fever Crumb learns more about the mysterious origins of the Scriven, the mutant humans who ruled London and were then murdered off with the exception of Fever's mother, Wavey. Wavey is the last living Scriven. Fever's journey is a perilous one and in pushing aside some of her unfailing logic -that bravery is not always foolish- she learns more about what is right and wrong.

I don't want to give the plot away, but I can say that this adventure has yet more changes in store for the Crumb family. Anyone, who read about Fever's heartbreak at the end of "Web of Air" is probably wondering if Arlo Thursday makes a reappearance or if Fever falls in love again. Quite a surprise on that count.

Highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 16 Aug 2011
Another outstanding addition to the Mortal Engines cannon, not one to be read as a standalone though as you really do need the context of the other prequels if not necessarily the original(later)three in the series. Fever has proven herself an engaging and emotive heroin and as regular readers will have come to expect the book asks lots of difficult often challenging questions about human nature, morality and social responsibility whilst still maintaining a break neck pace to the satisfying finale. There is also plenty of logical scope for more books set in this always engaging often terrifying always thrilling universe so please Mr Reeve can we have some more?
Just a word of caution the Scholastic paperback addition I read puts this as a 10+ read but I think it would be quite challenge for anybody under 12-13 unless they where very advanced readers, I would recommend waiting that couple of years so that they can fully enjoy it along with similar trilogies like His Dark Materials and Garth Nix, Old Kingdom books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grander yet grittier than the other prequels, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. S. Merrill "Jonathan Merrill" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The original W.O.M.E (World Of Mortal Engines)quartet is by far my favourite sries of books and so when I heard about the prequels, I was exited and anxious to read 'Fever Crumb' and 'A Web Of Air'. The first was of a high standard, although the hero, Fever Crumb, felt a little clunky and one dimensional. The second, while the character developed a little more, the story line was a little to simple and needed another sub plot, it ended as if the author just didn't quite know what to do with the book. With 'Scriveners Moon' though, the prequels are back on form!
It begins with- after a proloug which I will not spoil for you!-Fever Crumb, her rational father Gideon Crumb and her irational and slightly mad mother Wavey Godshawk returning on a Land Barge to London which is slowly yet surely being transformed into a lumbering city on huge rolling wheels, the very first Traction City! As Wavey and Fever find out though, as they embark on a journey to find an ominous black piramid which houses Stalker technology, not EVERYONE wants New London built...
With the first two books in the new quartet aimed at slightly younger children, I was a little shocked to find Wavey slitting men's throats with a razor sharp hair pin before being sliced in two by the menacing Stalker Shrike. Definitely more visceral and violent than it's predecessors. The book is faster paced the other prequels and FINALLY shows Fever discarding rationality and becoming adventurous (that makes it a lot easier to empathize with her). Unike 'A Web Of Air' which dragged on a little, this book flows and feels so much grander and epic. There is even quite an impressive battle scene not long before the novels conclusion. Okay, Fever's relationship with Cluny Morvish-a warrior of the Arkhangelsk who has visions of the monstrous mobile city of London, a city she is intent on destroying- is not quite so sweet and endearing as Hester and Tom's. I'm sure this relationship will have time to develop in the next and last book in prequel quartet.
Can't Wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy end to this trilogy, 13 July 2012
By 
Jack M (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of the mortal engine series and rate them as some of the best books of this type produced in recent times. I was therefore pleased and relieved that Philip Reeve has continued to deliver clever and original plots in this latest instalment.

In these books the author has created a world so different from what we know but which has haunting echoes of our world, making everything both alien and yet familiar in a disconcerting way. The subtle references to the past and future (as seen in the original Mortal Engines book - this one is set between now and the time of the traction cities) are clever and help to give this book a sense of transition as the world changes. I also enjoy the way that while the story is huge in its scope it is also very personal in the way that it focuses on the individuals caught up in events that unfold. This approach allows the author to tell the story both on a grand scale and yet to capture the intimate details of life for those involved.

The writing is clear and crisp, the story moves along at a good pace, the characters are well developed and all in all this is a well written book that is a pleasure to read. And, of course, the plot is exciting and so the book is hard to put down once one starts it.

Well worth the five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly outstanding teenage science fantasy series, 14 April 2014
By 
Hfffoman (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Philip Reeve tells these stories with just the right pace and a perfect balance between thrill and wit. The stories are clever enough to surprise you and never unbelievable though the dystopian premise is a little odd. As an adult I thoroughly enjoyed them the whole series but they are most suitable for about 10-16.

My only regrets are the failure of the film to get off the ground and the long gaps between each novel. If you haven't read them, you might also check out the equally brilliant Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world..., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third prequel to the original Mortal Engines quartet and once again features Fever Crumb as the heroine. After the slower pace and narrower canvas of Web of Air Reeve is back to what he does best- back to London - as it begins its transformation into a traction city and back to the faster pace rip roaring stuff that makes the reader turn the page and want more. In truth the Fever Crumb sequence is a coming of age series and in this book Fever finds out more about her own origins and the emotions that she has been taught to suppress, including the idea of love and sexual awakening. Amidst all this Reeve also manages to switch locations and introduce new characters. At the foreground is the description of landscape and of the worlds of the book with some beautiful, elegaic haunting writing that belies the target age range of 10+ whilst also providing challenge and difficulty for the younger reader- a book that can truly be enjoyed by the adult reader as well and tested on its own merit. He also uses his trademark humour, sometimes cheesy and risky, sometimes lightening the tone of a fairly dark book- hence, references to St Kylie; "turn again Livingstone" ( a mayoral reference) and some repeated jokes from previous books. He is also not afraid to dispense with characters (in keeping with Dr Crumbs maxim that the individual doesn't matter) and is a master of the set piece scene. This volume combines the best aspects of childrens literary fiction whilst also maintaining a momentum gathering narrative and some truly memorable imagery. Its as entrancing as a full moon and as eye catching, with an imagination and a verve thats truly out of this world. Highly recommended to all children from 10- 100...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read but not quite as brilliant as Mortal Engines, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the original Mortal Engines series and enjoyed the sequels so far. The problem with bringing Fever crumb back to London and starting the city moving is that those who have read the original series know that London will not be defeated, so the story lacks some suspense. I didn't feel quite so emotionally involved with each character as I have done in previous books and I think this was because the focus or viewpoint kept shifting. However I did enjoy the sense of completion the book gave, hinting at how the Ancients (our civilisation) was destroyed and how the Stalkers evolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 31 Mar 2011
By 
A Sutton "Suttox" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant third part to this sequence of books.

Reeve has refocused the story back in the right direction after the meandering 'A Web of Air'.

Nothing much more to add really.

Great writer. Long may he continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic author, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Peta (Luton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrivener's Moon (Mortal Engines) (Paperback)
The Mortal Engines series is probably one of the best crossover series ever written. Philip Reeves combines excitement, tension and light horror in plots that are interesting and believable. The reader has empathy with the characters - even the bad ones! - and can relate to the settings through the realism of the place names and the overall destruction of the Earth through mankind's stupidity. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrivener's Moon (Mortal Engines)
Scrivener's Moon (Mortal Engines) by Philip Reeve (Paperback - 6 Oct 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews