Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Fascinating and funny facts about the incredible English language and its horrible history......., 16 Feb 2007
..........from the first word ever to dreadful dictionaries and sleazy slang.

Want to know:

how to be very rude without anybody knowing?
some murky Medieval jokes?
what to say if someone calls you mundungus, hackum or jobberknowl?

Read this book for some potty proverbs, wacky word games, ridiculous writers and rotten riddles.

Ever suffered a spelling test or grappled with grammar?

Get your revenge with some really wicked words - even English teachers will be speechless!

History has never been so horrible!'

The 'Specials' in the series may appear to be on the expensive side but they are slightly bigger than the norm, standing at c 8.5" and this one has 192 pages, written in a variety of fonts and is packed full of black and white illustrations and cartoons.

Written with the typical Deary humour:

e.g. From the 'Daft Definitions' chapter:

'Egress' - This word means the same as 'Exit' (so you could say it's a pretty 'way out' word). Not many people know that. So an American showman called Phineas Barnum used it when he had problems with visitors ............

e.g. Did you know..........?

Some clever person worked out that 'smiled' is probably the longest word in the world........but why? Answer: Because there is a mile between the first letter and the last. Boom-boom!

Mix up the letters of Charles Dickens and you get Rash Neck Sliced - ideal for the author of `A Tale of Two Cities'.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy and history in one!, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This book is one of the funniest books I have ever read!I have never liked history much, but this book changed that! I know now history is funny, interesting... AND HORRIBLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 7 Jan 2010
By 
J. Lapham (Penzance) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a 10 yr old but I read it first and found it really interesting. Now I know why my kids are always quoting little interesting facts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the parttime polymath, 29 Mar 2000
By A Customer
I adored this book. Though the book series is not known for its thorough content, it is well known for its entertainment value and ease of message. I personally love words and language, so this book was a particular treat. For Mr. Joe Bloggs, it's just as interesting, and I hope will make them further appreciate the great mess the English language is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as always, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
My son is 10 and he has been reading these books for years. This one was another great one and I love the focus on the language. I wish they'd had these when I was a kid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giggle maker, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
I got this for my 8 year old grandson for christmas. He was very pleased with it & was in fits of giggles at it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wickedly great, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
Bought as a present for my grand-daughter but could not resist having a read through first.
What a wonderful way to compile a biik for a yuongster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Amusing, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Brilliant guide to language. Very easy light reading. I enjoyed this book completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
Interesting for teachers and pupils. Very funny. Different sections to choose from. A quick read and a history of wicked words!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and useful, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
You would never think that so much information can be collected in only one book! Fantastic facts and the gory stories as always in the Horrible Histories books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special)
Wicked Words (Horrible Histories Special) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews