Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2011
I was introduced to the books on Tudors and Romans via the TV show by my youngest and wisest aquaintance and I marvel at how text books (well packaged for curious young minds and warped senses of humous) can be cool. This gallic addition to the mobile library turns travelling all the way to the south of France into a competitive fact throwing contest and actually is fun.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Since the whole family now knows the words to all the songs from the TV series this was a great back seat pacifier during our recent holiday. And the stories meant that the children were not bored when we did grown-up sightseeing as names from French history made sense and often inspired a snigger.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
yet again another great horrible history book, bought this for a boy I know and who knows all the horrible histories. Luckily he hadn't read this one and it has kept him happy. If you like horrible histories you won't be disappointed with this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2009
A light hearted book that helps you get to grips with the history of France, especially the French Revolution.Lots of gruesome facts given in a humorous way.Gives a sense of French history without gettting too bogged down in detail.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Great book full of lots of different historical facts. When you read the book you become absorbed in it and you can really picture all the events happening right there and then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
My grandson has severel of these horrible histories books and asked me if I would purchess this as part of his birthday gifts
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Very good book full of interesting things about France, bought for a relative who loves them..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
Got the book for my nephew, as with the previous ones we had a great time reading, fun and also informative
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
Bought as a present for my grandson when he went to Disneyland, Paris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse