Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant title from Terry Deary
I totally disagree with the first reviewers opinion. I bought the first of Terry Deary's books seven years ago, 'The Awesome Egyptians', and I continue to be a great fan of his work. His original facts, combined with jokes and brilliant illustrations from Martin Brown, combine to make this book a truly worthwile purchase. I strongly urge you to buy this book and many...
Published on 7 Jun 2005 by Sean

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids will like it -I didn't
I am a fan of 'Horrible Histories'but this book was very disapointing and i found myself rushing through it just to finish. It doesnt say anything on the pagan beliefs of the English and it doesnt say much about the early Anglo-Saxons invaders (the english). It doesnt say much on the Vikings, Normans, the reformation by Henry 8th, the battles with the Scots, Irish, Welsh...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Angelcynn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids will like it -I didn't, 10 April 2008
I am a fan of 'Horrible Histories'but this book was very disapointing and i found myself rushing through it just to finish. It doesnt say anything on the pagan beliefs of the English and it doesnt say much about the early Anglo-Saxons invaders (the english). It doesnt say much on the Vikings, Normans, the reformation by Henry 8th, the battles with the Scots, Irish, Welsh or French or even the two world wars. It seems the author has saved all the best bits to make other books (which are very good) and has just filled this book with boring jokes and dull questions, I would recommend it for kids but adults may find it a little boring and unformative. For a real book on England i highly recommend "A Brief History of the Anglo-Saxons".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant title from Terry Deary, 7 Jun 2005
By 
I totally disagree with the first reviewers opinion. I bought the first of Terry Deary's books seven years ago, 'The Awesome Egyptians', and I continue to be a great fan of his work. His original facts, combined with jokes and brilliant illustrations from Martin Brown, combine to make this book a truly worthwile purchase. I strongly urge you to buy this book and many others, because of its originality and humour.
An absolutely 5 star read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HH SPECIAL - ENGLAND, 18 Jun 2004
'The Horrible History of England reveals the awful truth behind the rebellions, riots and rumpuses that have made England what it is today (whatever that is).
From the cruel Celts right up to the terrible 20th century it is a tale that will make you quake.

Want to know:

* which monk tried to pinch the devil's nose with a pair of tongs?
* why some people in the Middle Ages ate dove droppings?
* which English king was accused of being a werewolf?

Whether it is plague, fir and civil war, or roast beef, fish and chips and a cup of tea, if it's got anything to do with the English, it's in this book. Mull over the miseries of Middle Ages monarchs, discover ten ways to be killed down a Victorian mine, and find out which dreadful days in history to celebrate with a day off school.
History has never been so horrible!'

Standing at c 8.5" high, this is larger than the regular 'Horrible History' series of books titles.
Colourful paperback covers open to 192 matt pages split over chapters:

1. Barmy Britons
2. Island invaders
3. Miserable Middle Ages
4. Creepy country
5. Batty beliefs and curious customs
6. The revolting English
7. Terrible Tudors and slimy Stuarts
8. Cruel criminals
9. Gorgeous Georgians and vile Victorians
10. Woe for workers
11. Kruel for kids
12. Terrible 20th Century
13. What's English?
14. Awful for animals

sandwiched between an introduction and an epilogue.

Various fonts, with black and white illustrations & cartoons throughout.

'History is horrible but it is MORE horrible in some places than others. Some places have all the luck....the BAD luck. And England is one of them..............
AND the poor English have had to suffer the rain as well!.....
And here's another funny thing. Saint George wasn't even English. So why did the English pick him for their saint?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great horrible histories, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my son, who loves all the horrible histories.
Great book, as always great for getting kids reading and learning at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun book series, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: England (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Histories England, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: England (Horrible Histories Special) (Paperback)
Great books, especially for children who are interested in history. Here they can learn some more aspects of interesting history, that you wouldn't find in normal history books. Our boys (8 and 11) loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars England is awesome, better van ve Germans :>), 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book. Does not miss out an inch of fact. Loved it soooooooooo much!!! Would definitely recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reread and reread..., 22 Nov 2007
I've read this book something like 10 times and I still look at it everynow and then.A book for kids of 10+ or they wouldn't really understand any of the jokes. This is quite old but still fabulous, as are all in the series. You'll remember stuff from this book for the rest of your life! You'd better buy this. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time to kill off this formula in a horrible way, 19 July 2004
By A Customer
Terry Deary hit on winning formula many years ago with his combination of cartoons, historical facts, slightly naughty words and 'gross' bits and bobs. Books such as 'Vile Victorians' and 'Terrible Tudors' flew off the shelves, thanks to great promotion by the publishers and TV and radio interviews by Deary himself in which he condemned traditional education systems and talked up his own works for all they were worth. Leaving aside the dodgy historicity of most of the works, there is little which was actually new or original in the series, and this has been magnified by each successive work. Now we come to the umpteenth in the series: 'England', which is half cut and paste, half recycled old facts from other works, and the whole folmula seems dtaed, tired, and should be condemned to one of the 'horrible' fates described by Deary himself throughout the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

England (Horrible Histories Special)
England (Horrible Histories Special) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 4 May 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews