Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little Christmas Gem
This is such a new, interesting and beautiful retelling of the nativity. Rosalind Maccurach's illustrations really bring the whole story to life in a very touching and moving way. I can't imagine anyone child or adult not being affected by this book. It should rightly sit alongside Jan Pienkowski's Christmas Story as a classic book full of breathtaking images that every...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by C. Dugdale

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I refuse to purchase any more children's books by this woman
A nice book , but unfortunately I now see that this woman has posted a picture on her Twitter account of a rabbit that she caught in her garden and disemboweled. She made a comment " The skin which includes the head makes a great glove puppet ".
Sadly, I don't want to pay money to someone who writes nice stories for children about animals but appears in reality to...
Published 23 days ago by Martian Invader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little Christmas Gem, 30 Oct 2009
By 
C. Dugdale (Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is such a new, interesting and beautiful retelling of the nativity. Rosalind Maccurach's illustrations really bring the whole story to life in a very touching and moving way. I can't imagine anyone child or adult not being affected by this book. It should rightly sit alongside Jan Pienkowski's Christmas Story as a classic book full of breathtaking images that every house should own and treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful gift for children or adults, 4 Nov 2009
I have always admired Jeanette Winterson but I didn't know she had done any picture books. This book is absolutely beautiful, and very moving and personal in its retelling of the Christmas story. I would definitely buy this for an older child or anyone who loves JW's writing, as I do. But I'm keeping this copy for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spiritual surprise and delight, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Robert Maccurrach "Quercus" (Kington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was surprised and delighted by The Lion, the Unicorn and Me. For someone who is known for having had a difficult relationship with Christianity Jeanette Winterson has written a deeply spiritual and moving nativity story. The extraordinary idea of the incarnation is breathed throughout this fable. It is telling us something totally real and very wonderful. Our earth was visited and it makes all the difference. Rosalind MacCurrach, a newcomer, has illuminated the story with light and humour. Her glorious illustrations are very moving. I was impressed, for example, by the idea of placing the angel and the shepherds in a vast amphitheatre of the creation, the whole world. So right! This little book will delight children and all ages and be treasured for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very charming and original ; beautifully illustrated ;a special book, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very well reviewed when it appeared for Christmas 2009 but it seems to have gone out of print very quickly, and currently it still remains out of print. We had to pay a lot for our copy (in fact we bought the limited signed edition, which was only slightly dearer than the standard one), but it is an exceptional book and worth it - though I would not be at all surprised if it appears again near Christmas of this year. It tells the story of the first Christmas from the point of view of the donkey. It is absolutely not sentimental, but it is very touching and charming, and the excellent illustrations by Rosalind MacCurrach work with the tale and enhance it. The donkey is chosen over the lion and the unicorn to be present in the stable because 'if He is to bear the burdens of the world, He had better be carried by me', rather as in Chesterton's famous poem ('There was a shout about my ears/And palms before my feet'). It is the donkey's humble ordinariness that makes him both not 'special' and absolutely the right choice.

This is a well-worn theme, but Winterson really does make something new and original of it. It is partly to do with how she structures the story and partly because of her use of words. Bethlehem at census time, for example, is so busy that 'even the mice were renting their mouse-holes, and there were travellers hanging out of birds' nests, their beards full of twigs and old worms, and the anthills were full up, and the bee-hives had three families apiece and there was a man tapping on the frozen lake asking the fish to let him in'. It reads out loud very well and young children love it. Finally, Winterson does infuse her book with a genuine and not at all 'preachy' spirituality which seems absolutely right here.

In conclusion, it's a lovely book, and rather special. It deserves to be widely bought and read, and I hope that it will eventually become more readily available again.

P.S. (January 2013) .... which it now is. I've also recently read Jeanette Winterson's autobiography 'Why be happy when you can be normal?', in which she explains the circumstances in which this wonderful children's book was written, in five hours by night when the author was in the depths of despair - remarkable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the most perfect poetic christmas read, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. S. J. Casson (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All my three children adore this book and talk of it as "their favourite christmas read". It is read every Christmas Eve and every time we share it I always feel close to tears and moved by it. It manages to deal with a very grown up (it even covers the birth of Christ in all it's physicality) and deeply religious tale in a very approachable sense with the humble donkey's view point taking centre stage. Do buy it and it will become a modern classic in your house as it has in ours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old tale retold with brilliance, 11 Dec 2010
The donkey wins an important job in the face of stiff competition. Even the lion and the unicorn were upstaged by the donkey with no claims of fame, fortune, strength, mystery - just the humble abiity to get on with the job.
The illustrations have depth and brilliance; they repay study for their intricate detail. The theology is there, love and mystery and the world turned upside down. And unlike all other nativity retelling, the birth is there in all its rawness and tenderness. The angels and the donkey trumpet with joy.
This book is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book arrived on time in good condition. it is a lovely book. it is a joyous book. the best thing is once you buy it you can read it basically anytime you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Story, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Ludlow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a gorgeous book! Lovely illustrations with gold bits - cute but acceptable. I loved it,
bought it for grandchildren and wanted to keep it for myself. I am always on the lookout
for a good Christmas book - for the past few years have been disappointed, but not with this
delightful little volume. I hope she does another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book (story and illustrations!) - every home should have one!, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Angela (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion, The Unicorn and Me (Paperback)
Originally borrowed from our local library (in the middle of summer!) as my girls were mad about unicorns. So, reading the Christmas story in July was a little strange but we didn't mind at all because it's so beautifully written in a style that appeals to children and adults alike. (Along the lines of 'OK, the unicorn may have been good with virgins but the donkey could carry the weight of the world on its shoulders, so was chosen for that very special job.') Kept a note of the title and author and duly bought a copy for us to keep - it'll be coming out every Advent from now on! Every home should have one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Christmas Book, 19 Jan 2014
By 
S Jones (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion, The Unicorn and Me (Paperback)
This is a wonderful retelling of the Christmas story, ideal for primary school age children (as a bedtime read for younger ones, or a book they can read themselves for older. What I particularly liked about it was, for those familiar with Jeanette Winterson's grown up novels, it contains all the same elements. There is the magic to the story, events being seen through the Donkey's eyes and given a sense of wonder. There is the playfulness and joy of words, some lovely descriptive passages. And there are elements of comedy too. All in all, whether you are religious or not, this is a "must-buy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion, The Unicorn and Me
The Lion, The Unicorn and Me by Jeanette Winterson (Paperback - 3 Nov 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews