Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ginger cats adventures, 17 Oct 2006
This book is absolute delight enjoyed by both my 1 year old and my 5 year old alike. It tells the story of Hamish the Lighthouse Keeper's cat and his love of food. The lighthouse keeper and his wife decide to put him on a diet. A decision which causes Hamish to leave the lighthouse and have many adventures. In the end he is tempted back home with stargazy pie. The beautiful watercolour illustrations are very creative and bring the story to life. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasure to read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
Well written and beautifully illustrated book. Great for discussing facial expressions and feelings with KS1 children. My daughter really enjoyed it...
I loved this book because it has great pictures and you always want to know what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love the series, 23 April 2013
By 
S. Warren "sally" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
My 3 yr old grandson loves these books he likes naming everything.
I love the Grinlings and the all the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthouse Keeper's Cat book, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
Illustrated beautifully, this story is stimulating and funny to read to younger children. The size is a little small when showing the illustrations to a group. A larger format is better for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hamish, the Lighthouse Keeper's cat is upset, VERY upset...., 26 Feb 2008
Another super tale from the Lighthouse Keeper series of books, by Ronda and David Armitage, about a true hero (in my opinion), although the Grinlings and those three seagulls feature, too, naturally!

Example of text:

'.......Mr Grinling chuckled. "Our Hamish chase mice? Really, Mrs G, he's much too plump and well fed."
"He might be persuaded if he wasn`t quite so well fed," said Mrs Grinling.
"He might chase mice if he didn`t have any breakfast before he went to the lighthouse."
"You mean starve him," whispered Mr Grinling.
"Shh, Mrs G, he'll be upset if he hears you."

Hamish was upset, very upset.
"No breakfast," she said.
"Starve him," he'd said.

Well my quivering ginger whiskers," he thought.
"We'll see about that.
Nobody starves the lighthouse cat."

"If they don't love me any more I'll go somewhere else to live."
Early next morning Hamish left home.........'

And thus begins his mission to find a new home but it is not as easy as Hamish thought, with one or two er....hiccups along the way......but all is well that ends well as Hamish recognises the smell of his favourite dish - 'Star-Gazy Pie' and a surprising compromise is finally reached!

From the back cover:

'Hamish, the Lighthouse Keeper's cat, has been neglecting his duties. The mice are running wild all over the lighthouse. Hamish hears that me and Mrs Grinling are going to punish him - by... putting him on a diet!
Hamish thinks he should find somewhere else to live. With someone who will appreciate him better.
How wrong could he be.....?

A gentle, warm story with lively pictures.
Another classic in the Lighthouse Keeper series for younger readers.'

An appealing cover opens to 32 high quality shiny pages, in the popular 2-page spread format with superb illustrations throughout. Aimed at more confident readers, the text is a smaller size, but this is a great book to read aloud, especially as Hamish's poem is repeated several times with a first line verb variation, e.g.:

'......"Well my quivering ginger whiskers," he puffed.
"We'll see about that.
Nobody snarls at the lighthouse cat." ......'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthouse Keeper, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
We just love reading the Lighthouse Keeper stories. I am never disappointed when reading them to my two grandsons 6 and 3 years old , the lighthouse keeper's cat kept them captivated and me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
A good read for kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat (Paperback)
great book as my little bot was learning about lighthouses at school it was very usefull and a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat
The Lighthouse Keeper's Cat by Ronda Armitage (Paperback - 4 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews