Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars9
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2007
as it is riddled with info!

'Are you itching to discover....

which creature lays eggs between your toes?
why your toothbrush is covered with germs?
what makes your guts the perfect home for bacteria?

If you think you can stomach the 'sick' side of science then read on, as we peer into the tiny world of microbes. Read the diary of a dust mite, find out what it takes to be a micro-surgeon and join M. I. Gutzache as he gets close up and personal with bacteria.
With fantastic fact files and curious quizzes, teacher tests and crazy cartoons, Microscopic Monsters is riddled with info!

142 pages, split over 11 chapters:-

Introduction
Magical microscopes
Crucial microscopic know-how
Microscopic detective mysteries
Tiny terrors
Murderous microbes
Medical microscopes
Secret cells
Hidden horrors in your home
Terror in the toilet
Epilogue: it's a small, small, small, small world

Written in a variety of fonts in the usual Nick Arnold entertaining style.
Black and white illustrations throughout, as well as 'Horrible Health Warnings' and 'Bet you never knew' fact-boxes.

Science has never been so horrible!

One of a series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
all sorts of things
mega fun
makes science really horrible
people who like "Blood Bones and Body Bits" will love this wacky book
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Unfortunately I had to return these books as I did not think them suitable for 5 year olds, boring inside not colourful and not many pictures, didn't draw any interest. I am sure they would be fine for older kids, but not for me I'm afraid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2001
Microscopic Monsters is probably the best horrible science ever.It tells you about bacteria (like salmonella) and takes it in the humourous, and fun way.I reccommend that anyone who likes "Deadly Diseases" should read this excellent book.It's Nicks best yet!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Brilliant book and arrived very quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Good looking xmas pressie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
A brilliant book that is perfect for those scientist wannabe's! Microscopic Monsters will make you laugh, wriggle and squirm as you find out about the monsters that you can't see! It's a great read for young kids who are fascinated about the world around them - or young kids who think science is boring! After this, they'll be itching for more, and luckily, there are loads more Horrible Science books out there for them to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
Very disappointed but the book was a second choice. Entirely inappropriate for my 4 year old grandson. However, I was not personally impressed by the illustrations, explanations and book production. Just not very user friendly. I am a grandparent and need to 'do' science' but I need support. The microscope was very good, indeed. Do I sound a misery?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
This is really a book for children; full of comic book style boxes with the kind of information many adults will probably already know. The childish jokes and puns every other sentence became irritating after the first few pages. Kids only.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.