Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crackers, Cacti and a talking dog.
It was absolutly hilarious from start to finish, like the previous one "The Giggler Treatment." In it Rover the dog takes over from Rudolph ,and with help from the children, delivers all the presents all over the world.
All the way through there are some bizzare chapters about talking crackers and cacti which make no sense what so ever but they made me laugh until...
Published on 1 Sep 2003 by Maudie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not hugely funny
This was rated as less good, and less funny, than the first Rover book ('The Gigglers') by two of my gandchildren (aged 5 and 6), but they still enjoyed it. 'The Gigglers' they found fantastic.
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Elisabeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crackers, Cacti and a talking dog., 1 Sep 2003
By 
Maudie (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
It was absolutly hilarious from start to finish, like the previous one "The Giggler Treatment." In it Rover the dog takes over from Rudolph ,and with help from the children, delivers all the presents all over the world.
All the way through there are some bizzare chapters about talking crackers and cacti which make no sense what so ever but they made me laugh until I heard the next one.
I would recomend this book to anyone aged between 5-105.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative read for 8 -12 years, 9 Dec 2001
By 
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Hardcover)
This is a really good book to set children's imagination working as it ia very cleverly written mischievous writing.
Rudolf the Reindeer backs our if Christmas and santa has to turn to Jimmy, Robbie and Rover the Dog to deliver the presents.I choose this story to use with a Special needs group of poor writers to spark their ideas by showing them that a story can have three different beginnings and nine different endings and clever twists. Read chapter 12 Enjoy they did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho Ho Ho!, 20 Oct 2005
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Zzap!! This is a great book, no question. It's Christmas eve and Rudolph's gone on strike (typical). Santa sends one of his elves to go and fetch Rover, top-notch hound, ready for anything. After grudgingly agreeing to pull the famous sleigh, Rover's in deep water. How can they deliver all the presents before morning?
Well you'll just have to read the book to find out, won't you?
Brilliant jokes, wisecracks, gags, and comical words and phrases to keep you going throughout the book. 5/5, 10/10, 18743323423423525236456457547/18743323423423525236456457547.
I also recommend the prequel 'The Giggler Treatment' and the sequel 'The Meanwhile Adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho Ho Gurgle, 31 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Wow! This is the first Roddy Doyle 'Childrens' book I have read. The gurgle comes from the fact that I read it from cover to cover in the bath (1 bath). Absolutely brilliant - If only we could get Nick Parks or Spielburg to read this I am sure it would result in a block buster movie.

I came onto this site to see what other books of this genre were available and was totally unsurprised to see a 5 star rating. Buy it and give a copy to the biggest book snob you know (Then watch them try and put it down) - Snobs - Bah Humbug!!

My age? 55 and wishing we had books like this 'when I was a lad'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Bought this book for my eight year old granddaughter, she loved it. Great bedtime reading. She'd finished it in a week
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars forced zaniness, 27 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Too many little filler bits that were too "wacky" to be funny and were obviously there to add to the word count of a very thin plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars School reading project, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Ordered this for my son's school project, he needed a roddy Doyle book. He was laughing out loud while reading it, a big hit. I have ordered another of his for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always Roddy Doyle delivers, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
Seems to hit the right buttons with children, he rights for children. Very funny , we love it and will read it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
This book was fantastic and we couldn't stop giggling as i read it to my 11 & 6 year old children. The randomness of it is highly amusing, including a battle between different toothpaste brands! I highly recommend this book and my children agree that it is FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny, but not hugely funny, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Rover Saves Christmas (Paperback)
This was rated as less good, and less funny, than the first Rover book ('The Gigglers') by two of my gandchildren (aged 5 and 6), but they still enjoyed it. 'The Gigglers' they found fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rover Saves Christmas
Rover Saves Christmas by Roddy Doyle (Paperback - 3 Sep 2007)
4.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews