Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever
This book is fantatic, because before it I had never even heard of the hunger in Ireland, and now I know a lot. Phyllis, even though she is a lot better off than most families in her area still struggles with the rest of them when the potato famine comes, and she also has to deal with the acceptance of love and death at the same time. It is also good because it tells you...
Published on 17 Oct 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable
I actually didn't realise when I ordered it that its intended for children! Its a reasonable insight into the famine for the purpose of easy understanding and bringing the subject alive, written in style suited for young readers. The style of 'Irish speech' is a bit stereotyped and does not seem fully authentic for that time and place. Also the idea of a girl of that time...
Published 15 months ago by Irishwoman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clever historical story, 9 July 2012
By 
From the My Story series, of which i am now an avid reader. This particualr subject matter is brought to life in a raw, emotive manner, such were the issues at this time in history in Ireland. Woven into a love story, The Hunger is written creatively enough to keep me wanting to read more, whilst historically factual enough to enlighten me about the life and times and struggles that faced the people of Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger--An Irish Girls Diary 1845--1847, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
I bought this as a present for someone who had a deep interest in the Irish Famine. I had already read it years ago and knew it was pretty much what she was looking for. Delivery was fast and the book nwas in good condition. Am well Pleased. Would shop here again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HUNGER, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
THIS IS AN ACCOUNT OF A YOUNG GIRL LIVING IN IRELAND WRITTEN IN DIARY FORM ITS ABOUT HER OWN EXPERIENCES DURING THE TIME OF THE FAMINE AND THE DETERIORATION IN LIVING CONDITIONS AND HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE. IT IS A GREAT BOOK FOR ADULTS AND TEENS ALIKE AS IT SHOWS THE FAMINE IN A DIFFERENT WAY FROM A YOUNG WOMANS PERSPECTIVE. IT IS A MUST FOR EDUCATING AND FAMILY HISTORIANS,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this book. really enjoyable read, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Emsii (Isle of Wight) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
i really enjoyed this book. read it in a day. its a girls diary of the famine period, the pain, the hunger, familiy life struggling. i wont say any more as dont want to spoil it. but it was simply written and easy to enjoy reading. i didnt put it down and finished it same day. love it x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haven't read it yet, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
Bought as I had Irish family who left Ireland in the around 1840, thought it would be an interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
I actually didn't realise when I ordered it that its intended for children! Its a reasonable insight into the famine for the purpose of easy understanding and bringing the subject alive, written in style suited for young readers. The style of 'Irish speech' is a bit stereotyped and does not seem fully authentic for that time and place. Also the idea of a girl of that time getting a present of a diary to write her thoughts in from her brother is a bit unbelievable, although it serves the purpose. There is no reference to the Irish language in the book, which would have been interesting. It is also not very believable that a lowly maid would strike up a romance with the son of the landlord and head off to America with him. However, it is a good book to illustrate the main historical facts in an engaging way and the main content is quite well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Really for Adults?, 26 Nov 2012
By 
S. Smith "susanthims" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) (Diary)
This book arrived in brand new condition. I'm a fan of Carol Drinkwater - she's a great & very readable writer - but this was a bit of a disappointment but in saying that I think this series is meant for older children perhaps? so it was my own mistake buying it. It's a bit simplistic to be an adult read, as the Irish famine years is not a pretty picture as a backdrop to a book, and while the book simplifies it too much an older girl would probably enjoy reading this as they could identify with the heroine and would probably be unaware of the politics and bad feeling which existed then and still exists at the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5bd3ee8)

This product

The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story)
The Hunger - An Irish Girl's diary 1845 - 1847 (My Story) by Carol Drinkwater (Diary - 5 May 2008)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews