Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Villainous Victorians lets you in on the darkest secrets of Queen Victoria's Britain ...'
...from hard-living criminal kids to harder-hearted toffs who were criminally cruel.

In the dark days of Queen Victoria, who were the 'real' villains? The poor, pilfering people of the slums? Or the mean, miserly men in their massive mansions? And how would YOU have got on in those terrible times?

Teachers may tell you Victoria's Britain was an...
Published on 22 Mar 2007 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I have been reading this series since I was 6. I am now 16, and pretty much own all thirty or so of the books. Being a little more aware, I can say this book, although definitely not being the worst, is one of Deary's weakest. He is taking the over-used default anti-rich stance when beginning the book, and I actually left the book for a while. I got bored of his resentful...
Published on 1 May 2004 by jordan_perryuk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Villainous Victorians lets you in on the darkest secrets of Queen Victoria's Britain ...', 22 Mar 2007
...from hard-living criminal kids to harder-hearted toffs who were criminally cruel.

In the dark days of Queen Victoria, who were the 'real' villains? The poor, pilfering people of the slums? Or the mean, miserly men in their massive mansions? And how would YOU have got on in those terrible times?

Teachers may tell you Victoria's Britain was an exciting place......but it was a time of cruelty and wickedness.
What you need is a book that tells you the other side of the story - the `villainous' Victorians .............
Read on for prisoners, poisoners and Peelers and some devious dodges for making money that you SHOULDN'T try.
Find out about the famous and the forgotten Victorians, then discover who tops the charts as the biggest villain of them all!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over chapters:

1. Terrible timeline 1830s-1840s
2. Cruel criminals
3. Cruel to kids
4. Hanging around
5. Terrible timeline 1850s - 1860s
6. Mr Peel's pained police
7. Wicked for women
8. Foul fun
9. Terrible timeline 1870s - 1890s
10. Talk like a villainous Victorian
11. Criminal cures
12. Test your teacher
13. Top ten villainous Victorians

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, in a variety of fonts, and superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horrible histories are not that horrible :), 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books. They take a piece of history and put it in an easely digested morsels. The books are short, concise and wonderfull! For anyone wanting to learn a bit and have a wonderfull time all at once, go get these books. Well written to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little smaller than expected, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Not sure why but imagined this book to be a little bigger its about the size of a ladybird book.. This is a present for Christmas for a friends child who loves history, lots of interesting facts in included for a budding historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good bit of humour to keep the children engaged!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
The children love these books and they always add a little humour to historical topics. They love sharing the facts. Great presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History presented in an amusing way, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Leonora (Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend's son - 8th birthday. Know from personal experience (years ago now) that this series is successful in 'selling' history to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Books, 30 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Great book for grandchildren - I bought a number of 'Horrible Hustory Books' for my Grandson who loves them - kept hin away from the Wii all day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous!!!, 25 Mar 2004
Terry Deary shows in this book how he still a brilliant author after 10 years writing the Horrible Histories books.In Villainious Victorians, Terry revisits the Victorian era,telling us more fatual facts about that time,such as how was the Victorians life,with the chapters:Cruel Criminals,Cruel To Kids,Hanging Around,Mr. Peel's pained police,Wicked for Women,Foul Fun,Talk Like A Villainious Victorian,Criminal Cures,Test your Teacher,Top Ten Villainious Victorians and the Terrible Timeline.
It also tells you:
-Why Burglers were scared of bogies?
-Which poet said he ate an ape?
-How a snick fadger might kiddy-nap your spangle?
-What's a garroter?
The illustrations of Martin Brown are perfect and complement the text with jokes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 May 2004
I have been reading this series since I was 6. I am now 16, and pretty much own all thirty or so of the books. Being a little more aware, I can say this book, although definitely not being the worst, is one of Deary's weakest. He is taking the over-used default anti-rich stance when beginning the book, and I actually left the book for a while. I got bored of his resentful rants about who 'the real villains' were. There are useful facts and some funny moments, but i can't help thinking Deary is dousing the book in too much politics. For some of his best try the Awesome Egyptians or the Rotten Romans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories)
Villainous Victorians (Horrible Histories) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 7 April 2008)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews