Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2007
'The Incredible Incas gives you the gory details about the Incan Empire, which ruled 12 million people but was smashed by 260 Spanish invaders.....and a few germs.

Want to know:

* why llamas wore earrings and drank beer?
* how a bucket of stewed pee can make you beautiful?
* why servants ate the emperor's hair?

Read on for some gob-smacking facts on glittering golden temples and chilling child sacrifices.
Predict your future with inflated llama lungs, find out how to please a 200-year old mummy, and meet the ugliest emperor ever.
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over chapters:

1. Timeline
2. Legendary lords
3. Evil emperors
4. Top of the class
5. Live like an Inca
6. The cruel conquest
7. Terrific temples
8. Groovy gods
9. Inca mystery quiz

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour and illustrations from Philip Reeve throughout.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2000
This is one of the best books in the Multi award winning Horrible Histories series. Beautifully complimented with artwork from Martin Brown. Terry Deary is a gifted writer, and I hope he will write Horrible Histories to his last breath. An excellent book. 10/10
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2000
This is a fascinating book like the others but this is about Incas. Find out why llamas wore earings and drank beer, why servants ate the emporers hair and the poor children who were sacrificed along with guinea pigs to please the Gods. A great read......
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
I bought this for my,Grandson, who incidently thinks it is fantastic.
Terry Deary has no doubt got a fine talent,and puts what could be a dreary subject over so well,imust be honest i to enjoyed these Incas,and yes i did flinch once or twice.
These Horrible Histories ara a great series,to buy,it gives a young child an insight into what to expect before they have the subject at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
i was reading this everynight i love it you really do have to read it is
100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000%
amazing i thought it would be the same as the cartoon horrible history but any way it is very very very very very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
I was looking for information on the Incas for a History Group project and this book was the ideal source. There is so much information in this little book and it is summarised so well. Maybe it doesn't contain the best the best pictures but it has most of the facts. Brilliant!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
I found this book really naughty, didn't like it at all... Doesn't teaches to much about what the Real Incas were...I wouldn't recommend it. Disappointing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2001
If there is more to know about the Incas you don't miss it when reading this book. Take it from an Inca fan that learned everything she knows about the beginning of the Incas from this book, and had a great time! This book should be taught in every school. It has the facts, funny and sad details, and even the time line, and most important it is made understandable and enjoyable! Kids could actually learn from this! If you are a fun or not fun at all teacher, your prayers have been answered. Even the pictures are inspiring, you and your kids will have so much fun! I even took the more harmless funny facts, like how the priests fooled their people, and told to my 6 and 7 years old children in school. And they loved it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
Really good book by Terry Deary I am interested in his books perfect for 8-13 year olds fantastically awesome and horrible !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
These books are excellent for kids, our sons has nearly got them all. They know how to capture kids to read books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.