Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars '...the ghastly truth about the wild warrior race who weren't afraid to ...
....fight the rotten Romans....and who had the horrible habit of collecting human heads.

Want to know:

* why weird Celt warriors fought with no clothes on?
* how to preserve your enemy's brain?
* why the Celts laughed at funerals?

Read on for some gory stories about suffering saints, gruesome games for Celtic kids, and find out...
Published on 20 Mar. 2007 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
14 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading!
I have read this book, and although i can see the humrous way it is written, i also feel it is misleading as the celts were a highly cultured society admired by the Greeks and Romans for their art, bardic traditions, language and crafts. This book does not give adequate explanation of the true reasons for the rituals also practicised by the celtic peoples of Europe, all...
Published on 29 Jan. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars '...the ghastly truth about the wild warrior race who weren't afraid to ..., 20 Mar. 2007
....fight the rotten Romans....and who had the horrible habit of collecting human heads.

Want to know:

* why weird Celt warriors fought with no clothes on?
* how to preserve your enemy's brain?
* why the Celts laughed at funerals?

Read on for some gory stories about suffering saints, gruesome games for Celtic kids, and find out about the dreadful Druids, their strange sacrifices and terrible trials.
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 127 pages, split over chapters:

1. Timeline
2. Getting to know the cut-throat Celts
3. Lousy legends
4. Batty beliefs
5. Weird war
6. Woe for women
7. Crazy Celt life
8. Crime and punishment
9. Weird words

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour and illustrations from Martin Brown throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid book for all ages, 12 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
Terry Deary continues to make history accessible for the non-history major with this charming book. He gives you a great introduction to the non-literate Celts, using the written sources available (Roman, Greek, etc.)
The result is humorous, interesting and factually correct. The cartoons by illustrator Martin Brown wonderfully complement the text. I showed my book to a few friends at work, and had a very difficult time getting it back! I hope they start publishing more of these delightfully horrible histories in the United States soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 6 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
I had never heard of the "Horrible Histories" series until I picked this book up in a souvenir shop while on holiday in Scotland. Always having an interest in Celtic history, I was eager to read it. Within the first few lines, I was hooked and wanted to read to the end. I found it really witty but also very factual. A great, very enjoyable way to learn history. I have read it several times now and it still cracks me up! I was delighted to discover that it was part of a series and I am currently awaiting a delivery of more "Horrible Histories".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good history of the Celts with very few faults., 23 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
Like any history of the Celts, it has to make use of all sources, particularly because the Celts did not write much until relatively late in their history, or at least very little survives. As usual, much of the Celts' history has been written by those who took us over (Romans, Saxons, Normans) and as such should not be regarded as impartial. The clever mix of ancient legend with modern survival of custom and superstition keeps the reader's interest. My only criticism (and don't call me a whining Welshman) is that on page 126 Deary says: "They also left behind their ancestors who still live in Ireland, Scotland, Brittany (France) and Cornwall (England)" What about Wales (Wales)? Considering that Deary alludes to Wales and things Welsh throughout the book, you'd think that he'd remember to mention us at the end, especially considering that, in terms of language survival there are far more Welsh speakers than Cornish or Gaelic (Irish and Scots)and probably Breton. Apart from that a very amusing and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terry Deary – The Cut-Throat Celts | Review, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Cut-throat Celts (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
I was always fascinated by history as a kid, and so the Horrible Histories series held me enchanted for a good half-decade. In particular, I loved the Vicious Vikings and the Rotten Romans, but the Celts were interesting too, mainly because of the druids.

Considering Deary had the unenviable task of teaching me about Celts when I'd rather be learning about Thor and Valkyries, he pulled a blinder - I'm pretty sure I could read a Horrible Histories book about the history of agriculture and find it fascinating if Deary wrote it. The Cut-Throat Celts is yet another expertly crafted example of children's non-fiction, still recommended today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and interesting facts about the Celts, 6 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
Mr. Deary is obviously a great lover of British history. His works bring an otherwise dull subject to life with explicit facts and with an unsurpassed wit. His tales of King Author, the Druids, and their cut-throat behaviors are profound. A great multiple choice quiz challenges your survival possibility during the Celtic era. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amusing read for all ages, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cut-throat Celts (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
This was on my daughter's Christmas wish-list. Having watched the TV series with I couldn't resist having a peek at the book. Presents the dark and strange aspects of our past in an amusing and more palatable way for young people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more than one way, 12 May 2012
By 
Amy Caldwell (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you really love the horrible history book collection then you
should tottaly check out horrible histoy tv programme on
CBBC ( UK only ) with hilarious scenes and sketches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Histories The Cut-throat Celts, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cut-throat Celts (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Bought this for my 12 year old son for his Xmas stocking - it is the only book missing from his collection so I know he will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtics are cool!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book interesting and enjoyable. It is educational and funny. Perfect way to explain
History in a fun way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cut-throat Celts (Horrible Histories)
The Cut-throat Celts (Horrible Histories) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews