Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2007
'This book will only tell you the `horrible' bits of London's history.
To really get a fair and honest picture of the past you need a book that will tell you all the good AND the bad things about a piece of history. But..
Beware of the 'disclaimer', the 'HORRIBLE HISTORY' warning:-
'This is NOT the book to give you a fair and honest picture of London!
This book will only tell you the horrible bits of London's history - about the bad, not the brave; the horrible, not the happy; the dreadful, disgusting and dirty, not the dear, drippy and delightful.'

Loathsome London dishes the dirt on life in the capital - the lies, the legends and all the lousy details, from the rotten Roman rulers to the plague-ridden peasants.

Want to know:-
what caused the Great Stink of 1858?
why the flying dustmen were feared?
who ate a tosher for tea?

History has never been so horrible!'

127 packed pages, split over 14 chapters:-

Ancient London timeline
Terrible Tower
Middle Ages London timeline
Awful for animals
Terrible Tudor and slimy Stuarts timeline
Cool for criminals
The Loathsome London quiz
London language
Modern London timeline
London's lousy jobs
Terrible for tots to teens
Barmy buildings
Under London
London ends

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written in various fonts with humorous black and white illustrations/cartoons throughout, which are sure to draw the most reluctant eye!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
Horrible History: London is a great addition to the series. It is easy and fun to read with great facts about all the gory bits in it. It is an easy and great way of learning history, even for the most reluctant. It suited for all ages, even my dad who is 73 thought it was very humorous.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
As with all this series, this book is enjoyable for the adult first, the children second. It is written on several levels. Children see the facts, bright youngsters see the double meanings, and adults see the hidden implications. As a committed non-history fan, I wish I could afford to buy them all!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
It was quite good but very disgusting. Shows you how lucky we are recommended for nurses or doctors or people who like blood
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Another really good book from the Horibble History series. Very informative with all the full weight of information and facts. The drawings are good, some a bit scruffy and illegible , but that helps make it so funny. Having lived in London for 45 years, I never dreamed there was so much to know about this World city. A really great read. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
As with all Terry Deary 'histories' it does what it says on the cover and doesn't disappoint. We use this in Year 2 as an extra information 'source' for our KS1 topic on London (including the Great Fire)whilst the more advanced readers really enjoy dipping into this in search of the gory bits! AB-SO-BLOOMIN'-LUTELY LUVVERLY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
This book tells you the horrible facts that teachers and historians do not usually tell you about the horrors of living in London back in the day of slums,execution and treason.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Bought as I thought it would contain more information on the fire of London. This is has much broader information inside. Good book though, not many pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I would recommend this product to children younger or the same age as 10 also younger children would probably like it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.