Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mum's review!
This is not so much a review on the book itself but more about its effect. This book was bought by chance for my thirteen year old son. He is a very reluctant reader and finds reading and English very difficult. He has sadly only read one book in the past year. This is despite being given lots of encouragement by us all. However, this book was read by him inside a week,...
Published on 9 Sep 2002

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dyslexic
ordered thinking this was written in mind of dyslexics as was the book Bomb by jim eldridge but not the same,may be for an older boy!
Published 22 months ago by sue collington


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mum's review!, 9 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This is not so much a review on the book itself but more about its effect. This book was bought by chance for my thirteen year old son. He is a very reluctant reader and finds reading and English very difficult. He has sadly only read one book in the past year. This is despite being given lots of encouragement by us all. However, this book was read by him inside a week, at every available opportunity he picked it up. He has told us all what a great book it is, how interesting he found it and how the words were put together in such a way that he could really imagine being around during that time. He has now asked me to get him another two books from the same series, because he wants to read some more. Now what book could have a better recommendation than that? Thank you to the author and the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Trenches-a good read!, 18 Feb 2003
By 
GamerGuru (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This book while based on historical events is not portrayed as a normal history book. As it follows the character Billy Stevens, a fictional character through his experiences of WW1, serving in the British army. Basing his story on facts of the time and how he dealt with them, it really does bring home the sacrifices the men made in WW1. All in all a good read, and you dont have to like history to like this book, it is more about human endurance. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Trenches book, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Pauline Gavin (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son who is 13 had stoped reading...this started him again! He loves this book. There aren't many Non fiction books on this subject and this is one of the best. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for boys who love history., 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
I bought this for my 10 year old son who read one of the series at school. He loved this book and has now gone on to read others from the series. He's even recommended it to his friends. Great for boys who are interested in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let your kids live through the 1st world war!, 14 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
My 8yr old son was gripped by this book and no amount of history lessons or educational history books could possibly bring the horrors of WW1 home to children more realistically and emotionally than this fictional diary of a First World war soldier Billy Stevens, (aged just 16 when joining up to fight for his country). I would recommend this book for 8yrs and above (depending on how emotionally mature your 8yr old is). Personally I think, however shocking, every child should know what a huge sacrifice this generation made for them and us. All the main facts and historical events of WW1 are covered in this book and your child will actually feel the atmosphere through the thoughts and feelings of Billy. Also great, (and very educational) read for adults. BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tearful, 1 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
Bought for my Grandson who had become very interested in the wars. Good for him to read the story of what the soldiers went through. He was amazed and upset that so many of the soldiers were the same age as him and some even younger. I think it has made him appreciate all that he has because of people like them. In his words they really are heroes, not rap stars or footballers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
Excellent item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
Enjoyed the story. Will be enjoyed by nine to eleven year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant Book!, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
I found this book fascinating but also very realistic and a little bit tragic. History lovers will really enjoy this story.

I would recommend this book to people aged 9+.

Now I have read this book I can't wait to read the rest of his "My Story" series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) (Paperback)
Got this book for my son to read at school and he loved it. He's requested more of the series, this an achievement for the author as previously he wasn't too keen on reading. Sounds so good I may have to read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story)
The Trenches: A First World War Soldier, 1914-1918 (My Story) by Jim Eldridge (Paperback - 5 May 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews