Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars17
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2005
This is a fab read!
I picked this book when I started tracing my family history and wanted to learn about what life would have been like for a child in the mill industry at that time.
Incredible the way it is written and a nice quick read that you won't want to put it down!
For children it will give them a slice of history in a way that makes it easily understandible for them. Both my parents have also read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it!
when you have read this you will want to read the series. There is a series for girls and also a boys series.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2003
'Mill girl'is a great book and I really enjoyed reading it.It's filled with interesting facts. The auther makes you feel like you're really there. The book is about a girl who is so poor she has to work at the mill instead of going to school.You feel really sorry for her but it's a happy ending. If you read this book you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Thirteen year old Eliza has to leave school because her family cannot afford it anymore, her younger sister is thrilled, but Eliza is crushed. This is pretty much how the book starts, and what a depressing way to start. It brings forward all the things that we take for granted, when back in 1842, Manchester, they couldn't afford a sixpence for classes and education.

Eliza's father works in the mill, and her brother used to work there as well before suffering a fatal accident which broke her mother's heart and made her vow to never allow any of her children to work there ever again. This is such a huge relief to poor Eliza, who hates the idea of ever having to work there. However, this isn't meant to be a happy story, and soon, when things get really bad that the parents have no choice but to send their daughter in to work at the mill, Eliza is shocked and devastated and cannot believe the conditions she's expected to work in. Working at the mill is dangerous and unhealthy, even the water is contaminated, not to mention that they are paid a pittance for the long hours spent working.

However, the people soon have enough and thus begins a time of rioting and strikes for better pay and better conditions. Eliza transports us back into these times and the struggle people faced of earning a decent living, while giving us a glimpse of the Luddites and their fight.

Well written book, very enlightening and inspiring.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
Mill Girl is a brilliant book for all ages as i am only eight years old. i am not into history at all but the mill girl made it really exciting and i cant wait to read Titanic and The Hunger. Read it now!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
eliza helsted is shocked when she has too work at manchester cotton mill, were it is suffocating and dangerous, in her diary she vivadly describes the horrors of mills, the unjustice, the cruelty and the danger.

I really liked this book, I felt really bad for Eliza, because she had to leave school to work at the mill, but I liked when she moved to the country, It really shows the differance of the city and the country and how they treated people.

I enjoyed this book immencly and would reccomend it to anyone (anyone around 10), it finished on a happy note, which was good, and it was historically accurate.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Be warned that when you begin this book you won't be able to put it down. I was transported back in time and lived along side Eliza both in her home life and in her life in the mill. I felt I was walking beside her as she went through the horrors that were part of every day life in the eighteen hundreds. The book was graphic and extremely well written. Though aimed at the younger age group in truth it is a book for all ages. It gives a truly amazing insight into the life of a young girl forced to work in the mill and also goes into some of the history of the Luddites and their fight for better working conditions. A very well written book. I shall be buying more books by this author.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
The year is 1842, Manchester is a cotton mill town and 13yr old Eliza and her family just about scrape a living. Eliza is a bright student at school and one day would like to become a teacher but finds she is forced to leave school and start work in the mill with her father. Mill work is dangerous and unhealthy, a terrible place to work, paid a pittance for long hours, this is the time of rioting and strikes as the workers struggle to get a decent wage, this book as an insight into the struggles these families faced at that time.
This is not one of the better My Story books but it does open your eyes and not badly written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
A bit weak and ends abruptly. I wasn't engaged by the story-line and doubt that my class would be either. Intend to use excerpts for Guided Reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Having just got interested in the past ancesters i wanted to know what life was really like.
This book is really well written you feel like you are living in the time with all the ups and down of the working day.
A great inside to life for a mill girl and also how the family cope in this period of time,and the struggles to free yourself from this type of work.
I loved the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Used this book to research conditions in a Mill during Victorian Times. Fascinating book and very well written. You feel personally involved with the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse