Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'It's history with the nasty bits left in!'
'Wales hasn't always been horrible.
It was quite pleasant in 1306 and again in 1972.....BUT......'

From the introduction:

'Imagine living in a country where the trees drip with human blood
A country where dragons are out to roast you for dinner.
And where lords invite you to dinner so they can massacre you.
A country invaded by...
Published on 20 Aug. 2008 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Brand but check facts
My children love horrible histories and this continues that tradition - but
just on a personal note
page 153 it confuses descendants with predecessors and then gets the descendant wrong - Rhodri Morgan First Minister is not a direct descendant of John Morgan - I am a descendant of John Morgan and he wasn't deported to Australia - that's why I live in the UK...
Published on 6 Dec. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'It's history with the nasty bits left in!', 20 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
'Wales hasn't always been horrible.
It was quite pleasant in 1306 and again in 1972.....BUT......'

From the introduction:

'Imagine living in a country where the trees drip with human blood
A country where dragons are out to roast you for dinner.
And where lords invite you to dinner so they can massacre you.
A country invaded by Viking sea-raiders from the west.
They smash down your churches or set fire to them if you try to hide inside.
And then Norman knights from the east arrive and build castles and churches (and kill a few peasants who get in their way).......'

Intrigued?

The back cover goes on to enquire:

'Want to know:

* Why Druids split humans in half?
* How the Normans outwitted the Welsh with a lump of ham?
* How an army of Welsh mums fought off the French?
* Discover the dreadful deeds that make the history of Wales so horrible - all the gore and more!

The Welsh colours are on the cover, which opens to 159 matt pages, split over chapters:

1. Early timeline
2. Heads and tales
3. Smashing Saxons
4. Bad bards
5. Vicious Vikings
6. Gruesome Gruffydd
7. Middle Ages timeline
8. Miserable Middle Ages
9. Power to the Princes 1 : Lots of Llywelyns
10. Power to the Princes 2 : Orful Owains
11. Terrible Tudors
12. Test your teacher
13. Mad modern timeline
14. Cruel crime
15. Painful punishments
16. Terrible tourist tales
17. Rotten religion
18. Miserable mines
19. People power

sandwiched between an introduction and an epilogue, with a 3-page 'interesting index' winding the book up!

Written with typical Deary humour in a variety of fonts to break up the text and keep the interest!

Interspersed with 'Did you know facts.......?' ,interesting footnotes and the odd quick question!
Superb black and white illustrations throughout with some in cartoon format from Martin Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Brand but check facts, 6 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
My children love horrible histories and this continues that tradition - but
just on a personal note
page 153 it confuses descendants with predecessors and then gets the descendant wrong - Rhodri Morgan First Minister is not a direct descendant of John Morgan - I am a descendant of John Morgan and he wasn't deported to Australia - that's why I live in the UK presumably.Maybe I'm nit picking!
but excellent otherwise and may it get readers to challenge assertions and facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun book series, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly predictable, and little real history, 5 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
The book, "Horrible History-Wales" is very predicable and contains little history.
The derision of the Welsh people and their achievements were disapointing.
I would advise people to see the book, thumb through the book, but not buy it.
It is meant for entertainment, but not for children who have some interest in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
My daughter loves the Horrible Histories series and was really excited to see this one as she was born in Wales. She loves telling me about all the things she's read in here and relates them to other bits of history that she knows. Another great book from the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wales (Horrible Histories), 4 Mar. 2013
By 
J. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
I bought this for my grandson who is moving to Wales. He is like most young boys, a somewhat reluctant reader, but likes the Horrible Histories series and I thought this would encourage him both to read and to find the move a bit of an adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Terry Deary writes amazing books for children don't realise they are learning because reading his books are so much fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked everthing in the book.
How much books have you made.
How long does it take you to make a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Very entertaining and informative light reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great accompaniment for a trip to Wales., 27 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wales (Horrible Histories) (Paperback)
Great accompaniment for a trip to Wales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wales (Horrible Histories)
Wales (Horrible Histories) by Terry Deary (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews