Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for design technology lessons
We used this in our class of year 2 children. The pictures are bright and colourful, and the story lively and entertaining. We decided to make a gull free way of getting the sandwiches to the lighthouse keeper. This took weeks to design, build and evaluate-but it was fun all the same! I would recommend this book to anyone-even grown-ups!
Published on 28 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay but not very interesting
Not the most exciting story, and didn't hold the interest for young ones, but worth a quick read.

Also doesn't display properly on iPad mini.
Published 6 months ago by Isabelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for design technology lessons, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
We used this in our class of year 2 children. The pictures are bright and colourful, and the story lively and entertaining. We decided to make a gull free way of getting the sandwiches to the lighthouse keeper. This took weeks to design, build and evaluate-but it was fun all the same! I would recommend this book to anyone-even grown-ups!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - what more can I say!, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I am a BEd student and I am currently on Teaching practice where I am using this book as an overall teaching topic with a reception class of children. It is an excellent story - there are so many ideas in it that can be developed with young children and the children in my class absolutely love it! I would certainly recommend it to other teachers and student teachers working with key stage 1. I, myself, will definitely be using it again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bedtime favourite, 13 Nov 2000
By A Customer
A bedtime favourite with my son of 6 years old. He loves those cheeky seagulls and he feels sorry for Hamish the cat. There is lots of detail on every page and always something new to discuss. An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super story which is definitely in a class of its own, 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch (Paperback)
from Ronda and David Armitage.

'What would you do if some greedy seagulls were stealing your lunch?'

Particularly if the scavenging seagulls had a bit of attitude!
The three in this story, Tom, Fred and Bert think that `the lunch is scrumptious`, that Mrs Grinling is `a great cook' and that `the peach surprise, in particular, is excellent`!
Despite the Grinlings' various attempts to thwart the interception of the lunch basket down the wire, it doesn't work! Even when they involve `Hamish the Cat', normally an `accomplished seagull chaser', who proves to be rather reluctant in one particular mission!
However.....the Grinlings do finally succeed with a very cunning plan indeed!

31 high quality shiny pages, in the popular 2-page spread format (except the last one!) with superb illustrations throughout.

Aimed at the older, more confident reader - the print is on the smaller side, and the story is further enhanced by witty speech bubbles.

From the back cover:

'Mr Grinling the lighthouse keeper tends his light come rain or shine. Every day, Mrs Grinling makes him a delicious lunch and sends it to the lighthouse by a special cable system.
But Mr Grinling isn't the only one who enjoys the tasty food: Mrs Grinling must think of a way to make sure the lighthouse keeper gets his lunch......'

Example of text:
'Once there was a lighthouse keeper called Mr Grinling. At night time he lived in a small white cottage perched high on the cliffs. In the day time he rowed out to his lighthouse on the rocks to clean and polish the light...
Mr Grinling was a most industrious lighthouse keeper. Come rain......or shine he tended his light.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orange Class Book Review, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Keely Thrale (benfleet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch (Paperback)
We all really enjoyed the story because it was really funny!
Our favourite part was when Hamish went in the basket and that Mr Grinling got his lunch back!
We think that children from 5-9 years old would like to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the very best., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch (Paperback)
It's a characteristic of the best children's books that they exercise almost as strong an appeal to adults. I love this one. It is told with warmth and humour and the illustrations play a major part in drawing us into the world of the tale. It is great to read aloud, lending itself to a variety of voices that draw children even more deeply into the world of the events.

There is now some wonderful fiction for the youngest readers, as well, of course, as much that is anything but so. There is no social engineering here, just a delightful near formality and understatement. I find that children, who might well have moved on to more sophisticated things, return here with great pleasure years after they were first introduced to the Grinlings and their cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story for kids, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My kids love hearing this story again and again,a great book with lovely pictures. Would highly recommended for anyone with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay but not very interesting, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the most exciting story, and didn't hold the interest for young ones, but worth a quick read.

Also doesn't display properly on iPad mini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My 6-year old loved it, 10 Nov 2013
By 
S. Thomson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We read this book this morning for the first time. Although tricky to work out the pages on the kindle my daughter really enjoyed the story. It is easy to read and understand and interesting enough to keep her engaged. The seagulls add a bit of humor to the story-all in all an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Lighthose Keeper's Lunch - a good read, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch (Paperback)
The Lighthose Keeper's Lunch

A charming story which appeals to both young and old. I would recommend any (grand)parent to make it a bedtime story for the (grand)children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch
The Lighthouse Keeper's Lunch by Ronda Armitage (Paperback - 6 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 2.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews