Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Awful Egyptians takes you back to the awfully ancient time when........., 24 Mar. 2007
.... pharaohs were phoul, servants suffered and everyone believed in an awesome afterlife.

Want to know:

* why people worshipped a dung beetle?
* which phunny pharaoh married her grandfather?
* what the 'Shepherd of the Royal Backside' had to do?

Read on for details of the messy mistakes the Egyptians made before they became mummy-making experts, discover the foul facts about gruesome grave robbers and the truth about Tutankhamun and his creepy curse.
History with the nasty bits left in!
History has never been so horrible!'

A witty, colourful cover opens to 128 pages, split over chapters:

1. Awful Egyptian timeline
2. Phunny pharaohs
3. Potty pyramids
4. Mad mummies
5. Mad mummies quiz
6. The truth about Tutankhamun
7. Cruel crime time
8. Rotten religion
9. Killing ...and curing
10. Woeful workers
11. Awful army
12. Quick Egyptian quiz
13. Cool Cleo

with an introduction and an epilogue.

Written with the typical Deary humour, in a variety of fonts, and superb illustrations/cartoons throughout, from Martin Brown.

'Did you know?
Pharaohs were buried with mummies of animals.
Cats were popular but they also made mummies out of mice, fish, crocodiles, snakes and bulls!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun book series, 30 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the series, they are funny and tell some of the lesser told parts of history.
One have to remember that they are written for 10-15 year old-ish.
the author have said that it is difficult not to write something wrong, because the first constants used to be considered the truth, but by the time the rest of the book had been written, those truths had been disproved.
Also a good theme in the books is that you shouldn't always believe what a historian have written, because the winner writes the history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great summary with memorable bits in :), 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 8 year old son absolutely loves it. He is doing a project on Ancient Egypt in school and has been using this as a starting point as it gives the key facts.
I had a read and the puns and colourful descriptions are really grabbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awful good reading, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book was not for me,but my grandson,who is realy into these sort of books,i must admit i did have a little read myself and it made me laugh it was that good,so shall certainly get him some more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for kids, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A funny, informative and very interesting book about the period. A book that can be read cover to cover or just dipped into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A funny book, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was entertaining, yet informative. It's quite an easy read, so it is good for a quick read before bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun stuff, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's a good read on kindle and lots of stuff to learn from the book. recommended for all if you like history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny book, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book was very good to read and funny i will get more of these books to read and talk about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horrible Histories: awful Egyptians by Terry Desry, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book and it gave me a good knowledge of Egyptians. That's why I liked this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a reading resource - the children just love Horrible Histories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Awful Egyptians Activity Pack (Horrible Histories Action Packs)
Used & New from: £3.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews