Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A teaching package which you return to
The book & CDs provide the delicate balance between enough repetition to allow learning with enough variety to encourage continued engagement. This learning set has not been put away in a drawer for use in the future!
Published 22 months ago by Deborah Green

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk French?
I enrolled on an evening class to learn the basics of French - as I didn't do French at school, and thought it would be handy to learn the language for holidays etc. This is the Box Set we were advised to use by our College Tutor, as we would be basing the course on this. On the whole, not too bad, but the language on the discs is spoken by French people - very quickly...
Published on 2 Mar 2009 by Mrs. M. Woods


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk French?, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
I enrolled on an evening class to learn the basics of French - as I didn't do French at school, and thought it would be handy to learn the language for holidays etc. This is the Box Set we were advised to use by our College Tutor, as we would be basing the course on this. On the whole, not too bad, but the language on the discs is spoken by French people - very quickly! However, there is a link web address, which means if you are not part of a class you can see video clips that slot in nicely with the book and discs. It is very much a case of 'how do you learn best?' and some people will find it more helpful than others. Cost wise, I would recommend buying the twin Box Set as opposed to buying them individually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A teaching package which you return to, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
The book & CDs provide the delicate balance between enough repetition to allow learning with enough variety to encourage continued engagement. This learning set has not been put away in a drawer for use in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very handy pack of CDs and booklets, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
Very good CDs and booklets to learn everyday French on your own.
Topical, very useful material introduced in a clear order of progression.
Vocabulary and grammar clearly explained.
Very handy to use at home or when travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Course, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
I found the book to be constructive and helpful in my effort to improve my knowledge and use of the French language. The combination of text and audio tapes have been usefully put together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning French, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
A good starter book - I would have liked some longer narrative in book one using the French words we have learnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk French, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
Talk French (1 & 2) includes 2 text books and 2 CD's. the format of the books is clear and concise, and perfect for anyone wishing to learn French with no, or very little prior knowledge of the subject. The dialogue on the CD's is also very easy to follow and comprehend.j
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talk french, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Clarke (north west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
you must look at the book at the same time as listening i thought i was going to put it in the car but that did not work for me.
but it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Francais, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
Had been recommended for French conversation group I belong too. Am playing CD in car and checking up using the book. Very useful, well-paced, clear, functional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk French, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
Good books when used with a competent tutor. The spoken French on the discs are at times difficult to follow. This due in the main to poor reproduction & fast speech by the cotributors. The editors should have tried them out before release to the public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talk French - one of the better products, 12 Nov 2012
By 
J. B. Turner (Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk French (1and 2) Box Set (Paperback)
Talk French is a good basic starter pack for learning the language. The thing I found most beneficial is the use of french speakers in the various scenarios. This ensures that whilst the book imparts the language in a clear and concise format, the user gets the benefit of hearing conversations as they would in France. Whilst this may appear difficult to pick up at first due to the speed in which things are said, repeated play, pause and replay certainly improves the understanding. Well, for me anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk French (1and 2) Box Set
Talk French (1and 2) Box Set by Mrs Sue Purcell (Paperback - 15 July 2008)
Used & New from: £25.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews