Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turkish phrase book
This Turkish phrase book and dictionary is a good easy to use book. It has a pronunciation guide as well as phoenetics. It is a convenient size to carry around in your pocket. It has most subjects that you need to know for a short visit.
My only complaint is there are too many pages which are coloured which makes them very difficult to read but this seems to be a...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by M. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but you can find better
As a private teacher of Turkish, students often ask me to recommend phrasebooks, dictionaries etc.

This one is reasonably good, having a different kind of phonetic pronunciation that I think may be more accurate for those new to Turkish. As other reviewers have commented, there is a problem with the menu reader, which could have been arranged in a more logical...
Published 23 months ago by Turkish Tutor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turkish phrase book, 5 Feb 2009
By 
M. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
This Turkish phrase book and dictionary is a good easy to use book. It has a pronunciation guide as well as phoenetics. It is a convenient size to carry around in your pocket. It has most subjects that you need to know for a short visit.
My only complaint is there are too many pages which are coloured which makes them very difficult to read but this seems to be a current obsession with printers. What is wrong with black print on white?
It is a very useful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turkish Phrase Book, 15 July 2010
By 
C. Shipley (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
A really good book. Easy to use. Nicely presented information, I like the different colours on each section which make it easy to navigate. My only criticism is that the menu reader is the wrong way round to be useful as it lists the words in alphabetical order by the English word. So it would only useful if you are translating an English word into Turkish, but not if you are wanting to look up a Turkish word to know what's on the menu. That said, when I was in Turkey I didn't come across a single menu written in Turkish, so it was never a problem. It also has an English -Turkish and a Turkish - English dictionary at the back which has the food words in it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. M. F. V. Mcknight "Mal Mac" (Loughborough, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
A very good book for holiday makers as this contains a lot of phrases needed and how to pronounce them- always useful. This copy never leaves my side while we are over there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but you can find better, 27 May 2012
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
As a private teacher of Turkish, students often ask me to recommend phrasebooks, dictionaries etc.

This one is reasonably good, having a different kind of phonetic pronunciation that I think may be more accurate for those new to Turkish. As other reviewers have commented, there is a problem with the menu reader, which could have been arranged in a more logical way. However, I think this doesn't compare that well with other phrasebooks, and the coloured pages are, at best, distracting from the content rather than enhancing this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful little book for a first trip to Turkey, 26 May 2011
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
This book proved to be very useful for our first trip to Turkey. My husband enjoyed using the pronunciation explanations. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turkish phrase book & dictionary, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
This book is ideal for a beginner who wants to learn Turkish. I find it to be very informative and useful. Small enough and light enough to carry with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better available for the same price, 12 Aug 2010
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
It's a great shame that this little book - badged as a BBC product - is so poorly put together.

As a previous reviewer remarked, the menu reader is virtually useless as it is infuriatingly arranged in alphabetical order by English translation. You therefore have to scan through the whole section a word at a time to see if what you are looking for is there, and to further frustrate you not all of these words can be found in the mini English/Turkish & Turkish/English dictionaries at the back, which are in tiny type. Even then, many commonly used words are not present.

Avoid if at all possible. The Rough Guide Phrasebook Turkish costs no more and also includes downloadable audio files which let you hear the all important phrases too, so this may be a better option for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars handy to have, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary (Paperback)
Found this book very helpful and nice size to carry around . A lot of information in it considering it small book. Easy to understand .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa11f5aec)

This product

Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary
Turkish Phrase Book and Dictionary by Dr Figen Yilmaz (Paperback - 26 Jun 2007)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews