Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars15
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2009
Edward de bono has written volumes on creativity, although most of his work is reteated over and over again (so much so that the anecdotes he uses are the same he's used for over 20 years). That said, he is responsible for demystifying creativity making it available to all. While most other authors on the topic have a disconnected set of techniques to be more creative (such as the "wear something different today" etc...), he has a strong foundation underlying everything he does. For this reason I turn back to his books over and over again through the years.

This book is a perfect introduction for someone new to his work. It outlines his main ideas and gives a number of techniques which fall out of his approach. It is perfect reading for the intellectual who relies on logic alone.

For creativity and how to be more so, I would recommend this and his other excellent, more detailed book, Serious creativity. Both great works which easily complement each other.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2011
Edward de Bono's findings from years of cognitive research have been condensed into this concise, practical and accessible volume.

Reading 'Thinking Course' I felt that I was learning; without being taught. It felt as though the new knowledge I acquired was through my own reasoning. Everyday issues such as; the balance between information and thinking, emotions and decision making and even 'other people' are tackled in the book. I gained tools applicable to every situation.

Some educational books merely reinstate common sense facts. This books questions societies normal beliefs, such as the benefits of debating, and advances a research-based theory.

Bono's book is on a 'recommended reading' list for an undergraduate engineering course. The general problem-solving nature of the engineering discipline means that seeking out and exploring a range of solutions are everyday, particularly in the design process. But that's just one specialist application of the universal processes in creative thinking.

Having good people skills is important in our daily interactions. Being able to understand where people are coming from (their logic bubbles) is vital in business and everyday life. The logic bubbles concept if adopted, would, through greater understanding, reduce bad feelings and bring people closer together.

The book contains diagrams which help illustrate and summarize the main points of the text. Clear and simple language enables the information to be absorbed, with ease, by the reader. Examples and exercises crystallize each technique. And the abbreviations act as memory aids.

This is a handbook of life skills. Useful in the long and short term and written in an easy-to-read style.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
I don't think any other person has written a book on thinking that is as powerful and enduring as this. In fact I hope to run a course at the City Lit London based on Do Bono's fantastic thinking course combined with NLP.

Lets not lose this type of thinking, although I fear it may be disappearing fast. TV comentators, ask were are all the : 'Where are all the innovative ideas to take us out of financial crisis. A decade of left-brain thinking has reduced many to tick box thinkers. We need to rediscover De Bono type thinking again.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 October 2009
This is simply a "must buy". Other books (even by the great man himself) often contain only one idea and use pages to justify it and show examples and research. This, on the other hand, is a manual for improving one's thinking skills; it contains so much.
If you are a teacher, you MUST buy this and improve your classes - guaranteed (from my personal experience) especially the PMI technique. I have revolutionised class discussion and debate by employing PMI.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2012
Anything by Edward De Bono is worth a read but this excellent book has several ideas for the reader rather than the one concept typically found in other books on creativity and thinking. I once bulk ordered this and gave a class of business students a copy each- I got good feedback from them. I think employers should buy this for their management team, and you should buy for yourself.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
This BBC active series for the year 1996 is the right stuff for gourmans in psychology around thinking processes. You'll get reassured in the introduction that thinking is a skill, and as any other skill, it can be improved, which is quite inspiring. The first chapter explain so-called intelligence trap - where one accept first acceptable option and get stuck with it for long time, in oppose of searching for some more alternative and possibly arrive on even better option.

Edward explain the problem of absolutism is basically not exploring further for more alternatives and subsequently better options. And there are always more alternatives, when you think about it. The only thing stopping us is accepting one particular, or best option, and cling to it for long, long time. Those options or conclusions then can be the source of slowing or stopping any personal progress in that particular way or area.

Because for continous growth on mental level too, it's a good habit to start looking for more and more alternatives, especially in cases when you realize that you are stuck in some way. And that's only one concept out of many, many other in every chapter, plus some of them comes with picture or diagram, which then allows to see the bigger picture much sooner - as the saying goes "better to see once then to hear 100 times". So the process of understanding is smooth and easy.

The book has 140 pages of main text, and then another 20 pages for references, index, and guide for setting up your own thinking club. That's right, it goes that far into social, along with personal development. And because the author's background is in both medicine and psychology, those techniques are equally effective in everyday life or/and business environment. The result of absorbing and understanding them is better decision-making ability, and much more power in dealing with emotions and feelings of oneself and others. The term "lateral thinking" then represent the method of teaching and developing your thinking as a skill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I've always had mixed feelings about Edward de Bono's books, ever since he spun so much mileage out of "lateral thinking", which to me, was just an everyday thinking skill, to which de Bono had coined a new label. I find hiss writing style rather tedious; his books seem devoid of humour. A lot of his explanations are badly phrased and thus awkward to follow. He often takes a simple idea (such as 'lateral thinking' and 'six thinking hats') and spins it out into a whole book, where it could have been adequately described in just one succinct chapter. You could probably distil all of his useful ideas into one good book. However, he has chosen to write as many different books as possible based on his few, mostly-not-very-original ideas. So, his various books tend to cover a lot of common ground. Indeed, I consider deBono to be more of a book-writing machine than a gifted innovator.

"Thinking Course" does, at least, pack a lot of different concepts into one worthwhile manual. When I first looked at this book, about 20 years ago, I thought the concepts covered in this book were rather elementary, but cooked up to look cleverer than they really were. However, on re-reading this book, more carefully in 2013, I find that my cognitive skills were improved by reading it with increased focus and reflection. Perhaps I was due for a thinking refresher-course!

De Bono was born into aristocracy, in Malta, which may explain why his writing seems just a little alien at times. There is no doubt that he's well-educated. The amount of benefit you gain from his books will probably be largely down to how well you can find ways to utilize the ideas therein. Even if you already know the ideas covered in this book, it may benefit you to revisit them - especially if some time has passed since you last explored a book of creative-thinking tools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I think this book can best be described as a selection of tools that provoke your thinking in ways you hadn't considered before.
One, perhaps the easiest tool to implement, is the PMI or Plus, Minus Interesting.
So, as the author uses the term, let's 'do a PMI' for the book:
Plus; Thought provoking
Helpful diagrams
Easy to implement
Creative
Useful for looking at issues from different perspectives
Minus; A little academic at times
Lots of acronyms
Sometimes confusing as to which 'tool' to use for problems
Interesting; Leads your thinking into new channels
Useful for exploring a topic with others without being adversarial.
Exercises to make you think
If I were to buy only one De Bono book, this is perhaps the best summation of his work.
So, overall, worth reading for stimulating the old grey matter!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Ordered this for a doctor I work with and he was very pleased with the item. Looking forward to buy another book now !!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2015
Item received in good condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)