Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest poems ever written
The Waste Land is an incredible poem, almost cinematic in its tone and breadth, longer than some short stories, more intelligent than most books. It doesn't pay to try and describe something that is already so absorbed into the English language. Suffice it to say, I think it is an essential poem, an historical tract in its own right (it captures that post-Great War...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine edition
This was a required text for my university course. The text itself is wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone, however this particular edition is not particularly nice. In places the line numbers and notes got in the way of the text of the poem.
Published 21 months ago by Eloise


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest poems ever written, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Waste Land is an incredible poem, almost cinematic in its tone and breadth, longer than some short stories, more intelligent than most books. It doesn't pay to try and describe something that is already so absorbed into the English language. Suffice it to say, I think it is an essential poem, an historical tract in its own right (it captures that post-Great War ambivalence of gratitude for surviving, but being presented with a far from golden future). The kindle edition includes Prufrock and many other famous Eliot poems. Well worth buying for The Waste Land alone, if you don't already own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eliot re-discovered, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A chance quotation in a book nudged me to look again at Eliot's poetry, which I haven't read for decades. This "slim volume" is a perfect re-acquaintance, without being too daunting. I remembered how I loved the poetry, and am finding new meaning this time around. Maybe I'll move on to more of it. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Well Known Poem, 4 Dec 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Waste Land (Kindle Edition)
The Waste Land T S Eliot’s well known poem has certainly become something of a bugbear amongst a large number of the population, but really it shouldn’t be. Admittedly it is written in more than English and it does have multiple narrators, but don’t let yourself think that you will never understand or appreciate this. It most certainly is not the easiest poem to read, but then again perhaps that gives this something that you don’t often find, something that draws you back and makes you re-read and think again. More than a poem this is also in some ways a narrative.

Building upon the Arthurian legends and the Classics, as well as religion in this piece of modernism that isn’t particularly long, Eliot created a very modern epic for his generation, and how he saw the world progressing, with a mix of satire and prophecy. Obscure in some places and something that always needs more than one reading this is a poem that is something to really get your teeth into. On the first reading you do get the whole feel, but if you come back to this on other occasions you suddenly realise that there is something that you missed or never made much of before, that definitely leads to more pondering.

Edited by Eliot himself and Ezra Pound this is the final poem that amazingly was reduced to so few lines. This edition does include all those notes that Eliot himself made to go with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine edition, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Waste Land (Paperback)
This was a required text for my university course. The text itself is wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone, however this particular edition is not particularly nice. In places the line numbers and notes got in the way of the text of the poem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in excellence., 4 Jan 2013
By 
D. Katsirea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
T.S. Elliot on one of his best selection of poetry.
Buy this book if what you love is not only Eliot, but poems in excellence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good poetry, but too little of it, 3 July 2001
By A Customer
This selection is okay -- but you hardly need a selected Eliot as his Collected Poems is not much longer, and is only a few pounds more. That's the one I'd go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK THE WASTE LAND, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Waste Land (Paperback)
This was a little difficult to read but it was very good and I kept going back to it

Very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A splendid, beautiful and moving evocation and reminder of human mortality and frailty. Send not to know, dear friend, for whom the bell tolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modernism, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, poem itself has some intertextuality which requires looking at if you are to try and make the most informed debate. Worth reading, classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Terribly Printed, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Waste Land (Paperback)
I won't say anything about the poetry itself, but unfortunately the copy I received was completely substandard. There were mistakes and misprints throughout, I ended up going online to find a correct version. I would have returned this had I realised how sketchy the printing quality was before I started annotating, but unfortunately I did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Waste Land and Other Poems
The Waste Land and Other Poems by T. S. Eliot (Paperback - 28 Mar 2007)
£5.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews