Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2006
I have 3 boys and the oldest is just starting to read anthony horowitz. I have read a few as well and this book certainly ranks highly in our house. Funny, easy to read, not complicated and with a great ending, highly recommended
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
I had read the Alex Rider books, and the Groosham Grange books, so I decided to have a shot at the Diamond Brothers books.
Am I glad I started to read them.
These books are a lot more light-hearted than the Alex Rider books but definitely as good.
The chapter titles had me rolling on the floor laughing (The Fat Man, Grannies).
I thought that the plot was well worked out even though it was a bit slow near the beginning and took a while to get into second gear.
But when it did, boy did it take off. The chase in Selfridges was excellent. The best bit of the chase was when Nick ran through Santa's Grotto and was pulled onto Santa's lap. Santa got shot. He died.
My favourite character was The Fat Man. I expected (like everyone who has read the books) that he would be big and tough , but it turns out he has been on a diet and lost a bit too much weight.
The finale is brilliant; I knew that Betty Charlady would be important in the plot but I didn't think of this.
All in all, it turned out to be a superb read and I would definitely reccommend it to anybody who enjoys Anthony Horowitz novels.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
Ignore the imbecile whose review will be with mine. The Falcon's Malteaser is a great read: it moves at a fast pace, with humour and drama in equal measure. It is aimed at young children, so the writing is relatively simple, but that is no bad thing.

Overall, a fun and enjoyable book, especially for younger readers.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
This was a brilliant success on a car journey to France with 8 year old son, and daughters 20 and 18. We were all hooked and it made the journey pass much faster. I wasn't sure when I bought it if our son was going to be too young for it, but in fact he wanted to listen again on the way home - and favoured it over DVD's or playing on his DS!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 1999
Wonderful comic novel, full of allusions to, and parodies of, detective films and stories. Like the Simpsons it can be enjoyed by adults on one level, whilst children will still enjoy it without any knowledge of what is being sent up. I read this to my children, 11 and 8, and they both loved it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Private Eye Tim Diamond is as thick as they come. Thank goodness for thirteen year old brother Nick! At least he is resourceful and has brains....

Cue for high speed adventure full of fun, deaths and surprises - the latter including an alligator called Fido, a plunging Bechstein and Christmas Eve chaos at Selfridges.

There is also much for adults to enjoy, with the staccato Raymond Chandler type style and all the tongue-in-cheek film noir references. One suspects Anthony Horowitz chuckled almost as much as he wrote as fans did as they read, he and they with good reasons for pleasure.

Recommended!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2007
I love Anthony Horowitz just bought all the other diamond brothers collection becuase this book is brill. Two brothers on a mission to find millions of pounds worth of jewels with only a box of maltesers to help them. Lots of tom-foolery and fun. Lots of parts i didnt see coming in this book brilliant, i missed lunch just so i could find out what happened
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
From the moment you open this book, you know you're in for a great experience. Horowitz' witty language just mesmerises you and has you well engrossed from the very outset. The storyline is really quite astounding, and just how Horowitz managed to conjure it I can't think. The number of different twists and turns that play out in so few pages ensure that you WILL NOT be bored. Oh, and the characters! Nicholas is wisecracking, funny, and hilariously egocentric, and Herbert is endearingly scatty, adding that well-needed comic relief. The bad guys ain't half bad either: the fat man, perhaps the best of them, is subtly menacing and disturbing. The action sequences really are something to behold as well. Explosions ignite, shots are fired, and even a bit of hand-to-hand combat is dealt from time to time. This is probably as visceral as a children's book is allowed to get. This is an action-packed, tongue-in-cheek-humor-filled, tightly plotted, original masterwork. Read it and be blown away.
Reviewed by Arron S. Munro.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
Anthony Horowitz the Falcon's Malteser

The falcon's Malteser is about a boy called nick diamond and his brother Tim diamond who is a private detective working in Fulham when someone called Johnny Naples gives Tim a package but tells Tim not to open it but when they get back to their apartment it has been turned into a mess.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2001
This book is simply hilarious. The jokes seamlessly blend in to the story unlike other books which go out of there way to be funny. The story is involving with fabulous characters and illustrations. Unlike most childrens books, The Falcons Malteser is not sickeningly politically correct. In this modern age it is a welcome breath of fresh air. Five stars.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse