Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical monsters in 3-D paper, 7 Nov 2011
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
A gorgeous book, beautifully designed and constructed.

Each double-page spread has a big, complex figure with many moving parts and explanatory text, plus corner pockets that fold out to reveal one or more layers of more creatures and stories. The range is great - from Medusa, Cerebus and other mythical creatures of classical Greece and Rome, through vampires, werewolves, dragons from the West and from Asia, monsters of the deepest oceans, to beasts of ancient Babylon, Aboriginal Australia, the Himalayas, Native American traditions and Norse legends.

The paper architecture is intricate and delicate - strong enough to be opened and closed many times, but needing gentle handling so nothing tears or jams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best in a field full of magnificent books, 9 Mar 2012
By 
F. Odds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Matthew Reinhart and Robert Sabuda are supreme maestros of the art of the pop-up book. Individually and working together they have created a literally and figuratively outstanding series of volumes that bring delight at a reasonable price. "Dragons and Monsters" is a fine place to start if you are unfamiliar with the current brilliance of paper engineering. As with most of these authors' creations, the six main double-page pop-ups (depicting Medusa, St. George and the Dragon, A Chinese Dragon, the Norse Kraken, a Vampire and The Abominable Snowman) include extra mini pop-up books that illustrate related 'monster' types. Only a serious philistine could not be thrilled to turn the pages of this creation.
Pop-up books this good are genuinely works of art, not childrens' toys. The textual descriptions are intelligent and informative. The mechanics are consistently brilliant. I have two other Sabuda books: both are marvellous. This one is my favourite so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 27 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Wow! This book is probably the most fantastic pop-up book that I've seen, they are simply incredible! And at the Amazon price of under 11 fantastic value. I would have given it six stars if I could, and that is something that I very rarely feel I want to do. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Amazing! Got this for my sons 3rd birthday and everyone who has seen it loves it. Going to buy the rest of them.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous as always, 1 Dec 2012
By 
M. Abernethy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
You can always rely on these books to be fabulous and it hasn't disappointed. Magical at any age! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poptastic, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
After purchasing the encyclopaedia version for my son this was a no brainer! Another fantastic popup book and well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Got the book as a gift for my 15 yr old cousin - he loved it! The pop-ups are incredible and can even make an adult like them! Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary book - mind boggling paper mechanics., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Extraordinary book - cool graphics, mind boggling paper mechanics and a very reasonable price. Just to assemble each copy is an achievement in itself. Delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Amazing, I bought the other book God's and Heroes and this is just as good. truely magical, show stopping and well worth it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagination, 13 Jan 2013
This review is from: Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters (Hardcover)
Superb paper wizardry from the master of pop up books, another stunning addition to anyone's pop up collection. Buy Buy Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters
Encyclopedia Mythologica: Dragons and Monsters by Robert Sabuda (Hardcover - 7 April 2011)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews