Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of the English Association's Key Stage 1 Non-Fiction Award 2007, 17 April 2007
By 
H. Lucas (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oscar and the Frog (Hardcover)
The device of a frog answering the questions of a young, curious cat works extremely well in this lively information story. The direct conversation between the friends adds pace and energy and a great deal of information is imparted in an interesting way: children learn about the life cycle of a frog, about other living things that hatch from eggs, and about those that grow from seeds. A picture summary and a short index help children learn about retrieval devices. This is a book that will not only help children to learn, but will make the learning enjoyable. In short, it is original, entertaining and appealing to young learners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for 5 year olds that want to know 'why?', 28 July 2006
By 
Clive Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oscar and the Frog (Hardcover)
This book gives 4 or 5 year old kids a great introduction to some scientific ideas in a very simple way. It is beautifully illustrated and is a 'must have' if your child wants to know why things are the way they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely series of books, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
This series of books has been a hit with my three year old, are pitched at almost exactly the right level for that sort of age, have lovely pictures and are pleasant to read. I think some of the books in the series work better than others as some science concepts work better in print while others are trickier. This one and the one on electricity are probably the best two in my opinion.

This one starts with Oscar seeing some tadpoles and discussing them with the frog who then explains the lifecycle of a frog. They then talk about other animals that hatch out of eggs, where different animals lay their eggs, and that plants grow from seeds and about different types of seeds. Finally they talk about how when Oscar was born he was smaller and that animals need different types of food to grow, that eventually he will stop growing and that different plants and animals grow at different rates. There's no mention of death or dying incidentally, if that is a subject that hasn't been broached yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read and learn!!, 17 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a British mum to children growing up in France, so always on hunt for good English material. This ticked my boxes!! It's fun, with charming characters, and very educational. My 3 year old likes it, so it passes the test!! I'll be looking at other titles in series. Really like 'extra' part at end that can develop what child saw in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent educational books, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar and the Frog (Paperback)
This has been such a hit with my three year old he will watch the short six minute DVD of it over and over and it seems to have helped him understand a lot about growing up and how things are born (a help with number four on the way). I like all these Oscar books as I think they appeal to both very young children but will still be relevant when they start school and think about science projects. Pictures are lovely, my one year old also likes looking at them. Try are also quite simply written so could be first readers as well. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Educating and fun, 24 April 2012
Agree with all the previous reviews, the books are educating and fun. Just a quick shout, they are all available at Poundland, the whole series :) Just got ours today :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is fantastic. I read to my son when he had ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is fantastic.I read to my son when he had chicken pox.Took his mind of feeling unwell and spotty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oscar and the Frog
Oscar and the Frog by Geoff Warring (Paperback - 7 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £3.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews