Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little fable or not quite fairy tale, 5 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
My local librarian gave me this to read yesterday, probably to get me away from the superhero graphic novels that I am constantly borrowing. Little did he know, or the publishers mention in the book, that I know Dave McKean of old, as an innovative graphic novel illustrator for DC Comics, though he has spread his wings very far since those far-off days.

This is a sort of fable or fairy-tale (without fairies) about creation or the creative imagination, and the things that can go wrong when you get caught up in a creative endeavour without considering the consequences. Other reviewers have described it as a children’s book, and it no doubt is a superb one, but grown-ups with a bit of imagination might find it entertaining also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bought for just 9 year old., 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
My granddaughter loved this book; used for bedtime reading by Mum, couldn't wait for the next session, and so sneaked off and finished reading it herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouse Bird Snake and Wolf, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
I love this book and was very happy to receive it so quickly.
Davis Almond and Dave Mckean are my favourite authors and illustrators. I have read the book numerous times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eerie fable, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
David Almond can be an unsettling writer. His work often straddles the margin between reality and otherworldly eeriness, and however beautiful the prose, and it is, there is invariably a background aura of menace. It is true of this, slight fable, illustrated by Dave McKean, who also illustrates a lot of Neil Gaiman's work. McKean also has an uncanny knack of making his work weird and edgy, and the two are paired well here.

This is very like one of the creation myths from Ted Hughes stories, and I thought of his work as I read this. The gods create a strange and beautiful world, but it is unfinished. They lose interest and when they do, three humans start to fill in the gaps, pulling creatures from their souls and minds with increasingly troubling results.

You can read this story on lots of levels and it works as a simple 'fairy' story as well as a deeper myth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy :) how online shopping should be., 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
Came on time. Brilliant book. Breathtaking illustrations. But it's Dave McKean. So, duh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
R. Sharpe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
Arrived promptly and was exactly as advertised. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition, we enjoyed reading it, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mouse Bird Snake Wolf (Hardcover)
Perfect condition ,we enjoyed reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mouse Bird Snake Wolf
Mouse Bird Snake Wolf by David Almond (Hardcover - 2 May 2013)
Used & New from: £4.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews