Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Death
Anthony Horowitz's penultimate 'Power of Five' novel leaps out of the starting gate and canters to the finish with barely a pause. After the previous book's climactic showdown between Guardian Matt Freeman and puppet of the evil 'Old Ones', chairman of the insidious Nightrise Corporation, Horowitz introduces the final member of the five Guardians: Priveleged public...
Published on 6 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Horowitz could do better...
This book isn't bad in any way. The storyline is interesting, despite the odd slow moments. Things pick up towards the finale, but I agree with a Reviewer about how the book is set-up towards the final book. I found much of the storyline predictable and often drawn out.

I'm probably being quite harsh but having already read "Day of the Dragon" before...
Published on 22 Aug. 2010 by M. Ali


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 4 Nov. 2008
By 
H. Thomas (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so excited to read the latest Power of Five by Anthony Horowitz and got a copy as soon I could. I was not disappointed! It's the darkest, scariest, most page-turning thriller yet in this series - and leaves us on a real cliffhanger. I can't wait for the final book! I love the Alex Rider books too and am so glad Anthony Horowitz has two brilliant series to keep me going. Go Anthony, bring on the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Signal Ten (Spoiler Alert), 23 Jan. 2009
Anthony Horowitz has given us tons & tons of classics, and The Power Of Five show absolutely no signs of a weakest link.
'Ravens Gate' was a great starter for the series, introducing Matt Freeman as the lead character. he is an orphan who seems to have special powers, and is sent to a sinister village in England where he finds a plot that seems to involve him. He also finds the Nexus, which is an organisation paranoid with keeping him safe. Along with Richard, a journalist who helps him remain alive.
'Evil Star' still kept Matt as the main character but introduced Pedro, a street urchin with the power to heal things. This book was alot faster paced then Ravens Gate as Matt & Pedro escape around Peru from a man named Salamanda, and leads to a grand finale at the end.
'Nightrise' got off to a very fast paced beginning with twins Scott & Jamie Tyler, who have the power to read peoples mind.
They are almost immediately attacked and separated, and Scott is captured.
It took me longer to get into this book then with the others as it seemed to be constantly action, with no source of explanation.
All this changes almost completely from the moment Jamie gets into the Juvenile prison. And almost all is explained along with alot of things from the other two books. Jamie travels back in time and witnesses the strength of the Old Ones (which are creatures from since the dawn of time, and sole perpose is to bring misery to Humanity), and the end of the book finishes off perfectly.

Then you get to 'Necropolis', and almost immediately you are sucked in.
The story is about girl Scarlett Adams and her journey from England to Hong Kong, the soon to be Necropolis, and is in a trap set by the Old Ones.
The company Nightrise is working on the Old Ones side, and they have large influences all around the world.
The Nightrise companies base is inside Hong Kong, a city with it's intire populisation being mass killed and replaced by supernatural shapshifters which walk the streets along with other creatures.
There is only one mafia related group of people fighting against the evil doing and there mainly working in secrecy, but that changes when Scarlett arrives.
Meanwhile Matt, Pedro, Jamie, Scott & Richard must try to find Scarlett, with the Nexus' help, Matt, Jamie & Richard set out for Hong Kong
Once there they get the help of a gangster leader to infiltrate the almost dead city.
But a massive storm is heading straight for Hong Kong, thanks to Scarlett who has the power of wind on her side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 25 Jan. 2009
By 
F. A. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife (on the cusp of a pension)is an avid reader and based upon reviews here I purchased all four of The Power of Five as a Christmas present. From cover to cover they were not put down - absolutely superb was the resultant comment , so much so I will now start on book one- when we get them back from friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books I have ever read¡!¡!¡!¡!¡!
It is best if you have read all the books before though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 4th book in the series and the plot thickens as the 4 find the 5th. You can pick up this book and read it without having read any of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another classic by Anthony Horowitz. Great story line and well written. It maybe aimed at a younger audience but is a great read. I highly recommend this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "A really great book!", 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book, with lots of suspense. I would definitely recommend it to young teens and tweens!
I really enjoyed it, it had a really good plot and the setting was a very good place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thrilling as always., 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent, heart pumping, adrenaline filled addition to the series.

It makes you want to pick up the next sequel and dive into this thrilling adventure all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, Horowitz cranks up the horror and excitement in each episode. I can hardly wait for the final episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 19 Oct. 2013
Following the successful drawing together of the earlier parts of the series, this fourth novel did not disappoint. Tense and engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power of Five: Necropolis
The Power of Five: Necropolis by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 4 May 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews