Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Death
Anthony Horowitz's penultimate 'Power of Five' novel leaps out of the starting gate and canters to the finish with barely a pause. After the previous book's climactic showdown between Guardian Matt Freeman and puppet of the evil 'Old Ones', chairman of the insidious Nightrise Corporation, Horowitz introduces the final member of the five Guardians: Priveleged public...
Published on 6 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but not the best
A bit bloated, with a lot of set up for the finale. Scarlett was a great character and I have to admit I'd read more in the series.
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by Holly Shephard


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Death, 6 May 2009
Anthony Horowitz's penultimate 'Power of Five' novel leaps out of the starting gate and canters to the finish with barely a pause. After the previous book's climactic showdown between Guardian Matt Freeman and puppet of the evil 'Old Ones', chairman of the insidious Nightrise Corporation, Horowitz introduces the final member of the five Guardians: Priveleged public schoolgirl Scarlett. Chosen to protect the Earth from the Old Ones' nefarious schemes, Scarlett gradually becomes aware of who she really is, but not before she's left a trail of death and destruction in her wake.

This story could feasibly be read and enjoyed as astand-alone novel, however I would recommend reading the other three preceding books first. Horowitz's uncomplicated but engaging style makes this a great read, and comes highly recommended for anyone from 8-80.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 4 Nov 2008
Wow, I LOVE this book. I bought it and read it in just one day - I couldn't put it down. It also looks as good as it is - a fantastic cover for a fantastic book. Scar is by far my favourite of the five, she is so brave and her power is the most exciting. My bookcase is now so full of Anthony Horowitz books, but I dont ever want him to stop writing! This book is definitely one of his best, and no doubt his next ones will be even better! - is that possible?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 9 Aug 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The first strange event in the life of Scarlett Adams was the day she was rescued from certain death when she innocently stepped into the path of a speeding white van. She would have liked to thank the Chinese man who bravely swooped her out of harm's way, but he disappeared into the crowd.

Scarlett always knew she was adopted. Born in China, she was brought to England by Paul Adams and his wife. Her life was one of excess and privilege, but it was spent mostly with a live-in housekeeper and at her exclusive private school. Both her adoptive parents were busy with important careers, and when they announced they were divorcing, it was sad but not totally unexpected. Scarlett was content to continue attending her private school and living in the house with the housekeeper.

Another odd part of Scarlett's life was the dream she had on a fairly regular basis. Always set in a vast wasteland, it involved a familiar character named Matt. She always felt a strange connection with Matt and the feeling that they would one day meet.

Scarlett's world suddenly changes when she receives a message from her father requiring that she join him in Hong Kong. The message makes her suspicious the moment she reads it, and things become even more bizarre as she boards a plane for the other side of the world. She's met at the airport by people who tell her her father has been called away on important business, but they have been assigned to handle her care until he returns.

Readers of NECROPOLIS will immediately recognize that Scarlett is the fifth member of the Gatekeepers. Matt, Pedro, Scott, and Jamie are the other four talented teens whose duty is to save the world from destruction by The Old Ones. The five are the reincarnations of five who came before them and attempted to save the world in the past.

Anthony Horowitz uses his talent as an adventure writer to create the breathtaking world of monsters and shape-changers bent on the death and destruction of humankind. THE GATEKEEPERS adventures will satisfy even the most hard-to-please readers with bloody battles, last-minute getaways, massive insect swarms, and one double-cross after another.

Readers will now have to anxiously await Book #5 to find out how the adventure is to continue.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Horowitz, 14 Dec 2008
By 
Emm (London, England) - See all my reviews
This is the fourth book in the Power of Five series and I have really been looking forward to it for some time.

I felt like an excited child when I opened up the package from Amazon and I noticed with glee that the pages of the book were teal-edged to match the front cover. The cover of the book is metallic and shiny and really did look quite the Halloween treat!

The fourth book focuses mainly on the last of the Five, Scarlett Adams, as she is taken by the evil Nightrise Corporation and held hostage in the dying city of Hong Kong. This book does not have the fast and frantic pace that the other three books had and on the surface, it appears that there is not as much magic in this book as there was in the other books.

In the end though, the book absolutely does deliver and it has a magnificent and explosive ending. We realise that the magic was there all along but that we simply weren't noticing it.

Naturally, being a book series about the Power of Five, there are five books in the series. Necropolis perfectly sets the stage for the final book yet I have to admit that I don't think it would be able to stand alone as a story on its own. On second thoughts, a lot happens in this book to Scarlett and in the end, none of the books could have stood on their own because you are always going to want to rush to the next story so that the Five can come together and the fight for the end of the world can begin (again).

I am certainly not disappointed with this book and once again, my only feeling of sadness has to do with wondering how long I will have to wait until the final book in the series is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This better not be the last one, 31 May 2012
By 
Sandra K. Sutton "Beanahead" (Oxford, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Horowitz has done a wonderful job at gathering the 5 and and racing them all across the world. Necropolis had such a fantastic build, but I just hope that that wasn't the end. Since it was released in 2008, and now it's near mid-year 2012, I'm hoping to see a follow-up soon! If it seriously ended the way Necropolis ended, um...I'd be very disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Five: Necropolis (Power of Five), 28 Mar 2009
By 
Ulf Rothmyr "book maven" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The fourth book in The Power of the Five series by Anthony Horowitz. As Jamie and Scott locate Matt and Pedro, they stay at Professor Chamber's house and try to find the last gatekeeper... But Nightrise have already token over Hong Kong and made it a Necropolis. The last remaining gatekeeper, Scarlett, is imprison in Hong Kong... The other four must rescue her...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 4 Nov 2008
By 
H. Thomas (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so excited to read the latest Power of Five by Anthony Horowitz and got a copy as soon I could. I was not disappointed! It's the darkest, scariest, most page-turning thriller yet in this series - and leaves us on a real cliffhanger. I can't wait for the final book! I love the Alex Rider books too and am so glad Anthony Horowitz has two brilliant series to keep me going. Go Anthony, bring on the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Signal Ten (Spoiler Alert), 23 Jan 2009
Anthony Horowitz has given us tons & tons of classics, and The Power Of Five show absolutely no signs of a weakest link.
'Ravens Gate' was a great starter for the series, introducing Matt Freeman as the lead character. he is an orphan who seems to have special powers, and is sent to a sinister village in England where he finds a plot that seems to involve him. He also finds the Nexus, which is an organisation paranoid with keeping him safe. Along with Richard, a journalist who helps him remain alive.
'Evil Star' still kept Matt as the main character but introduced Pedro, a street urchin with the power to heal things. This book was alot faster paced then Ravens Gate as Matt & Pedro escape around Peru from a man named Salamanda, and leads to a grand finale at the end.
'Nightrise' got off to a very fast paced beginning with twins Scott & Jamie Tyler, who have the power to read peoples mind.
They are almost immediately attacked and separated, and Scott is captured.
It took me longer to get into this book then with the others as it seemed to be constantly action, with no source of explanation.
All this changes almost completely from the moment Jamie gets into the Juvenile prison. And almost all is explained along with alot of things from the other two books. Jamie travels back in time and witnesses the strength of the Old Ones (which are creatures from since the dawn of time, and sole perpose is to bring misery to Humanity), and the end of the book finishes off perfectly.

Then you get to 'Necropolis', and almost immediately you are sucked in.
The story is about girl Scarlett Adams and her journey from England to Hong Kong, the soon to be Necropolis, and is in a trap set by the Old Ones.
The company Nightrise is working on the Old Ones side, and they have large influences all around the world.
The Nightrise companies base is inside Hong Kong, a city with it's intire populisation being mass killed and replaced by supernatural shapshifters which walk the streets along with other creatures.
There is only one mafia related group of people fighting against the evil doing and there mainly working in secrecy, but that changes when Scarlett arrives.
Meanwhile Matt, Pedro, Jamie, Scott & Richard must try to find Scarlett, with the Nexus' help, Matt, Jamie & Richard set out for Hong Kong
Once there they get the help of a gangster leader to infiltrate the almost dead city.
But a massive storm is heading straight for Hong Kong, thanks to Scarlett who has the power of wind on her side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 25 Jan 2009
By 
F. A. Wood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My wife (on the cusp of a pension)is an avid reader and based upon reviews here I purchased all four of The Power of Five as a Christmas present. From cover to cover they were not put down - absolutely superb was the resultant comment , so much so I will now start on book one- when we get them back from friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Series!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Power of Five: Necropolis (Paperback)
Love these books - very interesting and creepy - in a good way. Would recommend these to anyone, young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Power of Five: Necropolis
The Power of Five: Necropolis by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 4 May 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews