Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute cracker for 2-6s.
This is a fantastic picture book in which a lonely pencil begins to draw, draws several characters (a boy, Banjo, a dog and a cat all of whom you might recognise from The Runaway Dinner) and a town. Up until this point, the illustrations are black and white as if drawn only by a heavy pencil. The pencil then draws a paintbrush and from here on the illustrations then...
Published on 20 Mar 2009 by ELH Browning

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little bit boring!
This is a story about a pencil who draws things which end up in the story including a paintbrush and erasers. It's a great idea but there just isn't enough interesting happening and it's very wordy - lots of names of different people and objects to remember. My three year and a half year old really loved 'Harold and the Purple Crayon' which is the same sort of concept...
Published 4 months ago by Juliette


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for my friends little boy. It was well packaged. It's a great price. And the story is very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
Children love the idea of the items of their pencil case coming to life - even better when one item is naughty ! Lots of discussion - what canthe pencil do about the naughty rubber/eraser ? Like the way the book changes from back and white o colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute gem of a book, 5 Feb 2014
By 
D. Almuli "Dinamit" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
This book is something truly different - so simple and yet original in concept with lovely illustration and a story that is both sweet and sends a message. My son loves it, we love reading it to him. We have pretty much bought all the other Allan Ahlberg books based on how much we like this one, but the Pencil remains the firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
This is a lovely story with fabulous illustrations. My 6 year old son loves this and wants us to read it every night and we enjoy doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
We love reading this before bed time. It is such a wonderful idea that a pencil creates the world. I am also using it at work on a current topic I am teaching. Enjoyed by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
It is a good story, and makes friends with pencils and rubbers, encouraging drawing and making it fun. Needs to be read to a younger child but makes a good bedtime story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a lovely story., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Aunty Anne (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
I would defy any child, parent or grandparent not to like this and enjoy reading it again and again. It is delightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic illustrations, 5 May 2013
By 
J. Chahal - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
i was really caught up in the battle between the pencil and the rubber! very clever picture book i use it in KS2 mainly. Lots of different themes brought out and as always beautifully drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The pencil, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
The story is in the usual interesting style of Alan Ahlberg and the illustrations are very good it encourages children to add their own thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, brilliant, scary and satisfying, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pencil (Paperback)
This is a marvellous book which my three grandchildren aged four and six found really exciting, both to have read to them, and to read themselves. Everyone should experience reading "The Pencil"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pencil
The Pencil by Allan Ahlberg (Paperback - 7 Sep 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews