Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good book!, 22 Jun. 2009
By 
Gemma Setters (Guernsey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
I'm not sure why but Helen Oxenbury books are always a big hit with my daughter. My mum loves them and read them to me when I was a baby, so they have withstood the test of time!

This is a fairly big book with good clear drawings and simple lyrics that flow well. It is a very short book, but my daughter adores it and you can't ask more than that! At 18 months she is switching more to simple stories, but this is definately one I will hold onto for any future children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainingly illustrated with good rhymes, 27 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This is one a series of four fairly large size board books aimed at toddlers. They have large clear pictures with four babies (ethnicly distinguishable in a gentle sort of way) playing games a bit like a children's action rhyme. The rhymes are just the sort of thing children like to do: waving, banging pan lids etc. My nearly 2 year old identifies herelf with the bald baby and happily waves and bounces and giggles according to the pictures. My only complaint is that they are a bit big to be held by a child on a changing mat! Apart from that they're all great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Clap Hands, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Aaron Mead - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
Helen Oxenbury's Clap Hands is a simple tribute to activities that young children delight in. The words of the book are as follows:

"Clap hands, dance and spin;
Open wide, pop it in;
Blow a trumpet, bang a drum;
Wave to daddy, wave to mum."

This book has tremendous subjective appeal for children in the infant-to-2-years age range. One reason for this appeal is the themes the book engages. Young children relate happily to the familiar activities of clapping, dancing, eating, making noise (music!), waving, and looking to mom and dad for affirmation; these are highlights in a toddler's everyday experience. Indeed, the book often functioned for our children as a call to joyful imitation of the activities. The toddler will also recognize familiar objects such as apple slices, high chairs, drums, and babies (!), which will draw him or her to the book.

The illustrations in Clap Hands also make the book appealing to young children. The illustrations are prominent, covering all of every page, and make use of bold, though not glaring, colors. Moreover, the illustrations portray the book's themes in a simple, clear way that somehow captures both the delight and the refreshingly slow pace of a toddler's life.

There is also no small amount of humor in the illustrations. The disheveled hair, the drooping diapers, the missing shoes, the undone buttons, the sheer delight in noise-making, the oblivious mess-making, and the comically accurate expressions on the children's faces all testify to the everyday hilarity of life with a toddler. While this implicit humor will mostly be a reward for adults reading the book to children, older toddlers may also pick up on it, and enjoy it. Finally, young children will also enjoy the simple rhyming poetry of the words.

In addition to its subjective appeal, Clap Hands has considerable developmental value. First, the simplicity of the book's language, and its focus on familiar activities and objects, are edifying for children in the early stages of language and concept acquisition. The adult reader can point to the clear illustrations as examples of what the words refer to, thereby reinforcing the meanings of the words for the child.

Moreover, even in their simplicity the rhymes are creative, and so they begin to expose the child to one of the characteristics of good books, namely creativity.

Finally, the book subtly reinforces the toddler's primary relational connection with mom and dad: after their joyful activity, the children portrayed in the book turn to mom and dad for approval; seeing this in the book has the effect of settling the young reader in these developmentally crucial relationships. Put another way, the book gently affirms to the child the beneficial truth that her connection with her parents is important and good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
I choose this book for the toddler group I run, it is a recommended book by the Scottish Book Trust for kids to engage with books. Big illustrations and simple words one can read to a group of young children. A short book may be a draw back for some people. You can do actions also with each page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clap hands, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
Nice little story if a little simple. It would have benefitted from having more graphics and scenes which could be discussed with a toddler. It was a robust book and just right for a 18 month old boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great baby book, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
Great first book. My 8month old smiles every time we bringing it out. As it's a board book she can also happily chew it which she loves to do!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
Bought as one of four to read to my Grandson. Read these to my children when they were young, so thrilled that they are still available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars baby book favourite, 19 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
A favourite baby book. used when my grand child was only a few days old!
Continued to read it even nowdays when we meet-
she still remembers!! now she is even to able to read small parts herself
and knows it's english!
Gloria in Sweden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clap Hands (Board book)
Perfect for little ones and I love it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal, 1 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. E. C. Newcomb "Elaine" (Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ideal for a tiny person. Willow loves this one. she thinks it looks like her baby daddy.ha ha but it is actually an adeal book for a toddler.Once again Helen Oxenbury has done herself proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clap Hands
Clap Hands by Helen Oxenbury (Board book - 2 Feb. 2009)
£3.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews