Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series of Books
My 10yrs old grandson was showing little interest in stories so I introduced him to Alex Rider and he is hooked. I appreciate that it would be much better for him to read the books but the good side is that I got him the earlier audios and the later books, not yet on audio. He read the last three books and this audio is his reward. It's usually played on long car...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by P. Mcgreal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crocodile Tears
I am a massive fan of Anthony Horowitz. I have loved the Alex Rider books since Stormbreaker first came out and have waited fevereshly to read each book as they're published, but this time I feel some disappointment. Yes, the book was good, full of action and very enjoyable. But at times the story is just to predictable and I find myself feeling a sense of deja vu. The...
Published on 27 Dec 2009 by Soul Eater...ME!!


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series of Books, 31 Jan 2011
By 
P. Mcgreal "coolagarry" (Burton on Trent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 10yrs old grandson was showing little interest in stories so I introduced him to Alex Rider and he is hooked. I appreciate that it would be much better for him to read the books but the good side is that I got him the earlier audios and the later books, not yet on audio. He read the last three books and this audio is his reward. It's usually played on long car journeys and keeps him and his 8yrs old brother happy and contented on the journeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best yet (a parent's review), 15 Nov 2009
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Crocodile Tears is an excellent addition to the Alex Rider series: fast paced, tense and dead exciting. It picks up two months after Snakehead. Alex is still 14 (although only just) and believes that he's completed his last assignment for MI6.

The book starts off with a bang (literally) as a bomb is exploded in a nuclear power station in India. The action then moves to Scotland where Alex is holidaying with the Pleasure family. He attends a lavish New Year's Eve party in a remote Scottish castle hosted by wealthy philanthropist Desmond McCain, who runs an international charity, First Aid. Alex is disturbed by his first encounter by McCain and wonders if there's a connection when shortly afterwards he narrowly escapes from what he suspects to have been a deliberate car accident.

Back in London, Alex is forced to turn to MI6 for help when a journalist threatens to expose his past. In return MI6 ask him to help them investigate the director of a highly secure GM research centre. Slowly the disparate threads of the story start to come together, but will Alex be able to pass on what he knows before the bad guys catch up with him?

I thought it was an extremely exciting story, a real page turner. It is slightly darker and more complex than others in the series: this is definitely "young adult" territory, although there are also parts which are highly reminiscent of scenes in the previous books.

Here are some things that parents may like to know (minor spoilers follow):
- There is frequent violence in the book (similar to the previous books in this series). A couple of the villains die in particularly unpleasant ways.
- Alex ends up in a variety of frightening scenarios including being trapped in a car at the bottom of a lake, being dangled over hungry crocodiles and being trapped in a burning building.
- Alex causes the death of two people directly and several more indirectly. While the deaths could be attributed to self-defence, he never shows any signs of remorse or concern at their deaths.
- He also witnesses the deaths of several others, including one individual who has previously saved his life. Again, he shows no particular concern about this.
- No bad language, no romantic scenes.
- Alex is once offered alcohol, which he refuses.
- There are no positive female role models. With the exception of Alex's faithful housekeeper/guardian (and his friends the Pleasures), the women in this book are all either receptionists and nurses, or are emotionless and unpleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
The book arrived sooner than expected and in excellent condition. The book is once again an excellent novel from Anthony Horowitz and although primarily written for children it is also very readable for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE ONE WHO FEIGNED COMPASSION, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
Meet Desmond McCain, huge and horrible. Former boxer, property developer, MP, arsonist, convict. Now a "born again Christian", acclaimed for the work achieved by First Aid, the charity he heads. It is all a big con, he "the greatest thief who ever lived". First Aid always beats others to the latest crisis simply because he created the catastrophe. McCain's next project involves a heartrending disaster caused by genetic engineering, millions of pounds guaranteed to come rolling in. His concept of charity? "Poor people in rich countries giving money to rich people in poor countries".

Alex Rider once more is reluctantly in the thick of it all, his gadgets disguised as a pencil case and sharpener, rubber and library ticket. For him a rapid succession of missions impossible, much suffering and dramatic escapes.

This is another greatly entertaining read. In his "Afterword" to the 2010 paperback edition, Horowitz however admits it is increasingly hard to avoid repetition. By their very nature Alex's exploits cannot continue, at least in their present form. There is a limit to what a fourteen year old can achieve when he should be at school. Alex's success owes much to his being so young, thus ever underestimated by the enemy.

This is all the more reason to enjoy each new book which so easily could be the last. To be honest, this eighth adventure is a little uneven, the opening in Scotland stretching credibility to the limit. The central themes concerning genetic engineering abuses and charity donation chicanery are, though, chillingly plausible.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent Rider novel, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
No complaints if you like all of the novels (this being the most recent) you will like this

You may want to also see the Cherub series which is similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crocodile Tears, 27 Dec 2009
I am a massive fan of Anthony Horowitz. I have loved the Alex Rider books since Stormbreaker first came out and have waited fevereshly to read each book as they're published, but this time I feel some disappointment. Yes, the book was good, full of action and very enjoyable. But at times the story is just to predictable and I find myself feeling a sense of deja vu. The books just seem to be repeating themselves structure-wise which is a little disappointing. I want it to feel fresh and exciting like it did the first time reading Stormbreaker!

However, this was a good book. I must say though, the Power of Five books are much, MUCH better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced story, typical Alex Rider, 24 Dec 2009
By 
A very fast paced story, typical Alex Rider AKA James Bond. I am a fan of Alex Rider, probably because the guy in the film is hot, but this is not the best. I almost threw up when the author put Alex rider in a tuxedo and had him play one hand at poker, the big hand and of course alex won, it was like so 'Old' but take that corny copied bit out from nearly every james bond film, the plot got better, the GM crop stuff was good, if you have never read an alex book I would recommend it, if you read the others and seen just one James Bond film, you don't need to bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to The Rider series., 5 Dec 2009
I was delighted at the discovery of yet another book in the Alex Rider series. And i sincerely hoped i would not be disappointed. Unsurprisingly it lived up to my expectations.

Just 2 months after Snakehead, life is starting to look up for Alex. He believes he is finished with MI6 and will finally be able to continue on with his life- normally. After a powerful start, the book soon plunges straight into the action and more importantly- the main plot. The plot is once again brilliantly complex yet simple enough for everything to be taken in at once. Alex faces some important life decisions and is once again put in the face of danger, on his own. The plot never falters, and seamlessly flows through, slotting pieces of information together. It is a great read for those who are fans of Anthony's works, and i'm sure you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my grandson - he loves these books. ..., 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider) (Paperback)
Bought for my grandson - he loves these books. It makes a change - because it keeps him away from his computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book I couldn't put it down after I started reading! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to read a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider)
Crocodile Tears (Alex Rider) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 7 Jun 2010)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews