Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics, 7 Mar 2010
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
This is an excellent edition of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Beautifully illustrated. It captured the imagination of our 8y girl and 4y boy. Highly recommended for reading with children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrated version, 9 April 2010
By 
Aurora Sinclair (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
Lovely illustrations by Helen (We're Going on a Bear Hunt) Oxenbury. Nice big text so you can read it to your children or new readers can read it to themselves. The story you already know. I will definitely be investigating the other books in the Walker Illustrated Classics range if they're all as good as this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice in Wonderland classic with large print, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
My daughter needed to read this classic for school. She is not a confident reader. The large print and lovely illustrations, which appear frequently, were perfect to keep her motivated to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely illustrations, 9 Dec 2010
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
My (7.5 yrs) son is going to see Alice in Wonderland at the theatre this Christmas, so we thought we'd read the book first as a bedtime story. I hadn't realised it was the original text, and not re-written, so I struggled a little with some of the archaic language, but it didn't detract at all for him (although I had to explain a few bits eg Blacking for shoes, and certain turns of phrase). It certainly provided a discussion point!

I'd forgotten just how surreal the whole story is - but he really 'got' this - after all it is the story of a dream.

The illustrations are much more modern than the text (Alice's micro-mini dress was certainly not what Lewis Carroll had in mind!), and they are beautiful. My son would have preferred more of them, though.

Lovely book, but remember it is the original, and today's children may not all appreciate the old-fashioned language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 21 Nov 2012
By 
Marlis (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
This is a lovely edition of the wonderful 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland'. My daughter is 3 and loves being read to, we are reading her a few chapters at a time and she is really enjoying it. The illustrations are lovely and the text is bold and easy on the eyes. I highly recommend this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a delightful book, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
a beautiful version of this old favourite. I love the illustrations and the setting out of the type face on the page.The paper is highly glazed which also adds to the luxury feel. A lovely reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful and charming illustrations, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
I chose this book because I wanted a colourful edition of Alice in Wonderland. It certainly fulfils my remit. Would recommend to anyone wanting an 'Alice' book. It's a bit scary though for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
lovely book with excellent illustrations and really caught the imagination of my grandaughter.

I would recommend this book to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics (Paperback)
excellent, will use this co.again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: Walker Illustrated Classics by Lewis Carroll (Paperback - 2 Mar 2009)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews