Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of these please!
This book hit just the right note with my 10 year-old who is desperate
for something with a bit of substance - but still doesn't have the
tenacity to cope with a full length murder mystery like Agatha Christie.
He's mad about murder mysteries on TV so this was exactly what we needed.
Published on 15 Aug 2009 by Sarah Hardcastle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Adventure Turns Murderous
With Mondays are Murder the author is trying to create a murder mystery for younger readers.

The heroine of the story is Poppy Fields who with 4 other teeangers is offered a free holiday at a new adventure resort on a remote Scottish Island as guinea pigs before it opens to paying customers.

From the moment they arrive there is a strange tense...
Published on 17 Sep 2009 by R. E. Quinn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, intrigue and grizzly ends...what more could a child ask for?!, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Ms. Rj Edwards "LittleMiss" (Beds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
I have been reading this book to my class at school and they absolutely love it. They are constantly asking me when they can hear some more of it, and at the end of school today, instead of rushing out the door like usual, they wanted to stay behind to tell me their theories about what they thought was going on. OK, characterisation may not be great and the plot moves very swiftly but if it gets children interested in reading and excited about books then what more can you ask for? My class also noticed that a couple of other Poppy Fields books were advertised on the back of Mondays are Murder and they have begged me to get them for the class (which I have).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mondays are Murder, 24 Jun 2010
By 
Poodle Lover (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
My 9 year old daughter thought this was a great book although slow for the plot to get going. However, by chapter 3 she was hooked and couldn't put it down! She finished the book in record time and has already ordered the next 2 books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good adventure book!, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Bayleaf (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very good book about a spooky holiday. Children aged 10 - 12 will really enjoy it. It is extremely exciting and adventurous with an unexpected twist at the end! It involves rock climbing, murder and fish fingers! I would really recommend this book to both boys and girls. I would give it 4 out of 5. (Review by Elizabeth, age 11)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but good, 25 Dec 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
What a good book! I like it because when I was reading it I was tempted to read an extra chapter or so every night.
I could not stop reading! Bravo!

James Arkwright, age 8, London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and thrilling, 16 Nov 2009
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 10 year old daughter has been raving about this book. She has given it a ringing endorsement for being both humorous and gripping.
Poppy Field is a young girl with a penchant fo detective work,who travels to Scotland to stay at a spooky castle and then the murders begin. This is not a story that will frighten nervous children but one which will excite eheir imagination.The story gripped my daughter from start to finish - for me that's recommendation enough !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling stuff for older kids, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Fiona Millar "cookiemum" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This murder mystery is a great read for older children. The story centres on Poppy, who is heading off on a freebie adventure weekend, but finds herself and her friend Graham caught up in a series of murders. The murders themselves are a little bit grisly at times, but my ten year old daughter wasn't in the least perturbed by them, but younger children might find them a bit too gruesome for bedtime reading! Very well written, plenty of clues laid down along the way for keen sleuths, and a thrilling conclusion - all in all a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 11 Sep 2009
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Ok yes I am an adults and this is a young persons book, but i enjoyed it. At just over 100 pages it is a quick and easy read. I am sure a 11-13 year old would enjoy it just as much. For an adult the plot is a little thin - but for a young person just right.

A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and easy., 7 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mondays are Murder is the first in a new series of murder mysteries aimed at the young adult market. A "Miss Marple for kids" as the blurb states.

Poppy Fields and a group of other kids are offered the opportunity to test drive an activity week on a remote Scottish island. The weather is awful, they are cut off from the rest of society and then people start dropping dead......

I found the writing style very simple and wouldn't anticipate any problems for anyone over the age of 10. The plot was a bit too simple for my liking (I guessed who the killer was after about 10 pages) but it wasn't dull and there was plenty going on to keep your reading attention.

I would recommend this book to kids aged 10-13 but any older and I think the book may be too easy, both in terms of plot and reading style.

All in all, a good, easy read that has enough excitement on the page to keep young readers attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal., 24 Aug 2009
By 
Lucy Lavande - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In an already abundant genre, additions should be inventive, offering a new slant on an old idea. I hoped to find this in Mondays are Murder, but was disappointed to find it full of two dimensional characters acting out a transparent plot. Young adult are an important group to hook if reading isn't to become a past pastime. The premise itself is a good one, with a teenage amatuer slueth solving the string of murders, but the foundation of good murder mystery lies in characterisation and suspense, and sadly this book lacks both. The first page also contains a slightly graphic description of the first of the murders and, although many teenagers will probably be unfazed by this, some may find it disturbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good murder mystery for older children, 16 July 2009
By 
Dr Nick "Dr Nick" (Sheffield, S Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a bit of a modern day Nancy Drew-ish book. Told in the first person, it stars Poppy Fields, a self-reliant young lady who finds herself on a Scottish island, with a murderer at large. Adults keep getting bumped off, in various inventive ways, and the final twist should be a good 'un for the target readership.

Adults may find it too short - things happen very quickly and the story is over before you know it if you're a fast reader like me - but for a 10-12 year old just starting out in the genre, it's a decent initiation; not too gruesome, a bit scary, an a bit of action too.

Lets see how future books pan out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery)
Mondays Are Murder (Poppy Fields Murder Mystery) by Tanya Landman (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews