Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Negative reviews?
I would like to reply to some of the negative reviews. It seems to me that the critics appear unaware of the importance of fantasy in helping children make sense of the world. Very young children need to feel that the world is safe and that they are completely secure. But gradually and sensitively we have to introduce them to the reality that difficulties, struggles and...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Shivari

versus
9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stunning pictures but...
I am not entirely comfortable with this book.

The illustration is fantastic but what on earth are we expected to make of the story?

Our heroine is dreadfully neglected. In particular Dad has no time for her. In one picture she appears to be in a room bare of all but a television. What is that about?

The girl is rescued from her neglect...
Published on 9 July 2009 by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Negative reviews?, 24 May 2010
By 
Shivari (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
I would like to reply to some of the negative reviews. It seems to me that the critics appear unaware of the importance of fantasy in helping children make sense of the world. Very young children need to feel that the world is safe and that they are completely secure. But gradually and sensitively we have to introduce them to the reality that difficulties, struggles and suffering are there too. And not only 'out there' but also inside themselves. Don't forget that at 2 years old (the terrible twos) your child is struggling with the need for safety and securtity versus their need to become independent and assert their will. This can lead to a lot of frustration and rage that is perfectly normal and healthy - but can be rather frightening to the child (not to mention exhuasting for the parents!) Fantasy stories are a way for a child to symbolically explore such concepts (but never tell them this!) Their own anger appears in stories as ugly monsters, thwarting real-life parents are nasty giants and so on.

Most children probably fantasise about tiptoeing out of the house and going on an adventure. They would actually never do it - but they like to explore the idea of freedom from controlling parents. As for the teacher who binned this book - presumably you veto Little Red Riding Hood on the grounds that children shouldn't be encouraged to wander the forest alone???

Yes, Hannah is sad and neglected - and of course *you* never neglect your child. Are you telling me that you've ALWAYS given your child 100% immediate attention? Of course not. But those times when you're too busy to pay attention and say "Not now, darling, in a minute" feels like deep neglect to a child! You can see that it's a perfectly reasonable request, but the child may not.

To me, this story is very good way into some of the difficulties of life. I would recommend it as just one of a varied reading diet for your kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Family Favourite, 18 April 2010
By 
V. Allan "Viva" (Hebrides, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter many years ago and she loved it, as did her first born who loved it so much that he carried it around with him in his buggy. Unfortunately a gust of wind blew it into the road where it was run over and that was the end of the book. So now I've just re-bought the book for my second grandson. He's two and he also loves it.

The illustrations are superb and we all enjoy finding the gorillas that are 'hidden' in the pages. As for the story itself, the girl is sad at the beginning of the book, then has a lot of fun when her toy gorilla turns into a real gorilla and then it all ends happily. It's only a few pages long and reading some of the reviews below I think some adults are reading far too much into it.

If you think this book is too traumatic for children then I suggest you avoid Not Now, Bernard (A Sparrow book) as it is a tale of a boy neglected by his parents and who then ends up being eaten by a monster. It's all very humorous and we all love that book too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a review of Gorilla, 23 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
A girl named Hannah wants to go to the zoo on her birthday becuase she has never
been to the zoo in her life. Hannah went to bed one day and she had a toy Gorilla
near her bed. Well when she went to sleep the toy Gorilla turned into a real one.
I think this book is magnificant, brilliant, fantastic, sad and unhappy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 22 Jun 2009
By 
CB (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
A sad little girl, whose father works too hard to spend time with her, is taken out by a gorilla. This is such a beautifully illustrated story that it will appeal even to children who are beginning to outgrow picture books. The pictures are expressive and full of jokes, and the story is sad, exciting and happy by turns. The point where the toy gorilla grows into a real one had my six year old niece shivering with excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet gentle story, 16 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
Endearing story about a little girl whos father never has time for her.(Yes, it hits a nerve because many of us are guilty of this) She wishes for a (real) gorilla for her birthday but gets a soft toy one from daddy. Not being too pleased about this she tosses it aside before going to bed that night where it changes into a real live one during the night. The story goes on to tell how this gorilla takes the little girl out on an adventure for a birthday treat. Gorilla does all the things that a daddy should.

My children do like this book and find it very amusing that a gorilla comes to life and takes this girl out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different theme with a distinct home-truth message, 28 Jan 2008
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
from Anthony Browne.

Winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal and the Kurt Maschler Award.

From the back cover:-

'The classic story of a lonely girl, a friendly gorilla and their amazing night out by a Hans Christian Andersen Award-winner.'

Large paperback, 29 shiny high quality pages in the popular `two-page spread' format with bold moderate sized text on one side, full-page picture on the other and what stunning illustrations they are!

Main text example:-
'Hannah loved gorillas.
She read books about gorillas, she watched gorillas on television, and she drew pictures of gorillas.
But she had never seen a real gorilla.
Her father didn't have time to take her to see one at the zoo.
He didn't have time for anything.

He went to work every day before Hannah went to school, and in the evening he worked at home.
When Hannah asked him a question, he would say,
"Not now. I'm busy. Maybe tomorrow."
But the next day he was always too busy.
"Not now. Maybe at the weekend," he would say.
But at the weekend he was always too tired.
They never did anything together......'

When Hannah asks for a gorilla, and receives just a toy one from her Dad, for her birthday, she is initially not amused.
She throws him into the corner with her other toys.
That night an amazing thing happens....and an exciting adventure begins.....with a desirable ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Wonderful Book, 10 Oct 2007
By 
L. Perkinson "Book Lover" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
My 22 month old son loves all his Anthony Browne books and this is certainly no exception. His books are wonderfully illustrated with immense detail which has you and your child seeing something different with every turn of the page. This also has a dark and somewhat sad side to the story but like his other books these themes always seem to strike a chord of truth which is refreshing.

A wonderful addition to any child's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations my toddler loves!, 28 May 2011
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
WOnderful book , the pictures are amazing, the detail is clever and interesting , the text is simple and not overpowering, an honest story and my 2 year old asked for it twice tonight , she points at the pictures and the eyes and the noses and we talk about it - lovely book - go the primates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 3 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
Both my kids, aged 2 and 5, love this book. The illustrations are stunning and the story is very sweet and fantastical. I don't really understand the negative reviews as children love fantasy! Really enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of Gorilla, 23 Jun 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gorilla (Paperback)
This tells the story of a little girl who wants to go and see a Gorilla. Her dad won't take her to the zoo. I think this book is fantastic because it's got lots of brilliant pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gorilla
Gorilla by Anthony Browne (Paperback - 2 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: 5.10
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews