Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful language and stunning imagery.
Decievingly like a fiction book from the front cover this book gives information about whales in an inviting, interesting way. Excellent for teachers studying the use of similes and adjectives. The text plays around with language and explores how language can be presented on the page. The illustrations are delighful. This is a book children will want to look at over and...
Published on 24 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a story
If buying this as a story book, I didnt find it great. Its very factual, which is good and very interesting, but the lack of a story line means it doesn't keep my sons attention and the pictures seemed a little dull. Not our favourate.
Published 16 months ago by RainDrops


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful language and stunning imagery., 24 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Decievingly like a fiction book from the front cover this book gives information about whales in an inviting, interesting way. Excellent for teachers studying the use of similes and adjectives. The text plays around with language and explores how language can be presented on the page. The illustrations are delighful. This is a book children will want to look at over and over again. A must for any KS2 teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource for KS2 children!, 28 April 2002
By A Customer
Reading this book through with children aged 8 and 10 was a joy as they loved every minute of it! You can make curriculum links to geography and learn about the life of the whale. Very descriptive language presented in different formats. A Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Blue Whale is the best book I have read., 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Big Blue Whale (Paperback)
It's very good because it tells you lots of things, like a blue whale can grow to over thirty metres long. I read it lots of times and it made me really happy. We first got it from the library so I had to take it back and that made me really really sad. So now I am buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks) (Paperback)
I loved this book. So well illustrated with very informative text - this book is great for sharing with one child or a class. My class were very sad for the two distinct families of whales which appear to be forever destined to pass for ships in the night. The size of the whale's eye in the head of such a large animal also invited great discussion and the size of the ear even more so. This is a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a story, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks) (Paperback)
If buying this as a story book, I didnt find it great. Its very factual, which is good and very interesting, but the lack of a story line means it doesn't keep my sons attention and the pictures seemed a little dull. Not our favourate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Suitable for all 4-11
Really easy to follow and understand.. More books like this please
Clear, colourful and factual - I've used this a few times and children can follow actions to deepen understanding. Captures their attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Big Blue Whale by Nicola Davies, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks) (Paperback)
Both my 11 year old and my 6 year old were fascinated by this book. The book describes the size, feeding habits, migration habits and a bit about the young of this majestic mammal in accessible entertaining style. As always with her books the parents become better informed eg I did not know that there are TWO global populations of blue whales who never meet because when one lot are at the equator, the other lot are at the opposite pole to where the first lot have come from....prompted lots of talk about seasons change, the earth tilting etc
The illustrations manage to convey the enormous SIZE of this gentle beast.This author is always entertaining and informative. I cannot praise this author and her work highly enough. This book inspired my kids and gripped them.
.
My kids were gripped by this book as by all her books. The language is easy enough for a six your old to read by themselves , perhaps with a bit of supervison or prompting. Really lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 16 Dec 2010
By 
R. williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks) (Paperback)
This is a great book! well worth it, my 3yrs son loves it! it one of the first ones to come up at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks)
Big Blue Whale (Nature Storybooks) by Nicola Davies (Paperback - 7 April 2008)
£4.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews