Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shortlisted for the English Association English 4-11 Best Books Awards, 25 July 2008
By 
H. Lucas (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archie's War (Hardcover)
What was it like to be a child growing up in an ordinary family during the First World War? Organised like a scrapbook, this exciting book tells of the big shapes of the conflict and the way the war years were experienced by thirteen-year-old Archie and his family in London. There is a broadly chronological organisation: the events and privations of the early stages of the war and how these impacted on Archie and his family; Uncle Teddy's experiences in the trenches; the bombing of London; the final stages of the conflict, and then peace. These are conveyed and made credible for young readers by the main linking narrative in Archie's `voice'. Marcia Williams shows that the comic strip form can convey the full range of human situations and emotions - not least in her depiction of the moving story of Nurse Edith Cavell.

The book's powerful visual impact makes it original and boundary breaking. Cartoons, photographs, visual jokes, mementoes, drawings and diagrams combine to provide a distinctive reading and learning experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing wartime to life., 20 Oct 2009
This review is from: Archie's War (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book for children of about 8 years plus. I bought it for all three grandchildren aged 8 - 11 & all found it fascinating. It's funny & moving & gives a real insight into the life & thoughts of a child whose father is away fighting. The cartoons, lift-up flaps & photos add to the enjoyment. The companion book by the same author, My Secret War Diary, is written by Archie's daughter when he is fighting in France in WW2 and is equally good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended read!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 9 year old grandson,whose called Archie,he was very taken with this fabulous book,so I'm now sending for the next one . It's so well put together and full of 'fun',extras opening envelopes,little jokes and a 'true ' depiction of Archie's War,put simply so a child can understand. I was over the moon with the whole thing and would recommend to anyone who has contact with teaching children or similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
This book is not only beautiful but packed with fun and funny facts. I have used it with my Year456 class and all the children loved it! I would strongly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
This book is an amazing read. Through the way the book is presented it brings to life the experiences of the First World War. Teaching children all about the importance of this year, and using this book amongst others to re tell the experiences that people went through really captured their imagination. having this book as part of a display mean the children could access it anytime. it was never available. it was carefully handled and respected. This book helped produce some high quality writing and good drama. A must resource for any child and teacher. A real bargain of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and thought provoking, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
I would recommend to any child wanting to understand more about living at the time of the First world war....it is a masterpiece and makes you want to turn the pages...sheer delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
A fun and addictive read, introducing children to what it would be like to live as a child during the war. I have read both this and Marcia Williams 2nd world war book before giving them to my grandchildren!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I could have learned 1st WW history like this!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
Fascinating read, full of interesting notes. Makes the whole period more accessible to our 12 year nephew. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
What a wonderful book! The idea of presenting the information as a scrapbook is inspired. There is so much to look at on all the pages. I am using this as the basis for my World War One topic for my Year 5 class. Some of the double page spreads make excellent ideas for displays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even the dedication makes you think! Even relevant now., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie's War (Paperback)
Another way at looking at non-fiction, using a story to bring it alive, but also able to dip in and out as you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archie's War
Archie's War by Marcia Williams (Paperback - 5 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: 40.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews