Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2002
This is a gentle book of a little girl taking a walk with her grandad in the woods and wanting to take a squirrel home, and grandad trying to disuade her. The illustrations are lovely. Some pages are just pictures, with lots to see. This book is great to read to a child, and for a child who cannot yet read to be able to tell the story back from the pictures.
It gives a message of conservation, but doesn't ram it down your throat.
It is very good value for money.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2003
I love this book - it's that simple. It makes me smile everytime to see Jess bounding along with the squirrel. Her energy is wonderful. Simon James' pictures and text make the adventure jump out at you. Recommened for grandfathers all over!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
Nice, simple story beautifully told with loose and lively illustrations. The relationship between the child and her grandfather is captured perfectly as is the fun to be had in exploration. The underlying message is delivered subtly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2011
I was recommend this by my daughter, as our youngest grandson had borrowed it from the library and it had really made them laugh. It's about the struggle of a grandad to keep up with his little grandaughter 'Jess' during a walk in the Wild Woods. As my son's daughter is Jessica and she loves going for walks with her Grandad it was a must for her. Both she and her younger brother - love looking at the pages and having it read to them. The children in question are aged 5,4 and 2 - I wouldn't really recommend it for older children as the reading content is limited. However, for a lovely 'feelgood' read with little ones it's great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Children enjoyed reading this.
Very enjoyable story . Read this to my class when doing a topic of down in the woods. A good start to the topic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Fantastic book that shows the importance of animals in their local environments and protecting where they live, why we shouldn't remove animals from their homes. Beautifully illustrated and a wonderful book for children aged 5-7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
My 18-month old daughter absolutely loves this book. She loves the pictures and spotting the little squirrel. She wants to look at it and have it read to her more than any of her others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Lovely visual view of the forest in autumn
Very little text....more a visual colourful trip thru a beautiful Wood!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
Journey adventure and links to outdoor learning (map making and journeys).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Good story, fabulous pictures, enjoyed by 4 year old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.