Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Brothers on brilliant form
"The Blurred Man" is about the Diamond Brothers' investigation into the death of the founder of a children's charity on behalf of their client, who has given millions to the charity. The benefactor is suspicious because the founder died just before they were due to meet for the first time and the charity is closing down. He suspects possible murder and fraud...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Lorraine GG

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY AND ENTERTAINING
But it is too short!!!
It would have been great if the story would have had more description and would have been explained in more detail.
apart from that, this is a great book and if you're searching for a fast laugh, get this book now!!!
Published on 8 Sep 2009 by S. ROVELLI


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Brothers on brilliant form, 27 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Blurred Man (Diamond Brothers) (Paperback)
"The Blurred Man" is about the Diamond Brothers' investigation into the death of the founder of a children's charity on behalf of their client, who has given millions to the charity. The benefactor is suspicious because the founder died just before they were due to meet for the first time and the charity is closing down. He suspects possible murder and fraud. Philanthropic people do sometimes hand over large amounts of money without ensuring that their donations are going where they are supposed to be going, and there are many people who are happy to defraud such naive and generous people, so the basis for this particular adventure is not unrealistic.

We get the usual unattractive villains, who make a very odd couple. Nick is on good form: the charity made children's wishes come true, and when the client says that Nick must have made wishes sometimes, he says "Yes. But unfortunately Tim is still here". And Nick wonders to himself whether the client would donate to his own little charity "Bankrupt Brothers of Dumb Detectives". Tim's tactless remarks in the scene where the brothers visit a witness in an institution are very funny too. There is an over the top scene in which the brothers are pursued by circus performers. Perceptive readers may pick up some clues to the solution of the crimes, others will be surprised by the revelations when the case is closed as a result of Nick's deductions.

This story contains some good descriptions of various London attractions and districts. I really like such authentic small details: I know from experience that many compartments on the London Eye are indeed empty when the day is wet and cloudy.

As I have worked for many charities and have experience of the damage that the fraudulent ones can do, "The Blurred Man" was rather painful to read, but this was balanced by the humour. I have read two Diamond Brothers stories so far, and want to read the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging crime comedy, 18 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: The Blurred Man (Paperback)
Horowitz has always been my favourite writer and this twisting crime adventure further emphasises his brilliant writing.

The Diamond Brothers return in another humorous and equally serious plot involving murder, money, nationality and jobs in a wildly captivating tale.

The way Horowitz captures humorous storylines into an engaging crime tale is beyond me, when the stakes are high the story appears to be funnier.

This is perhaps the best Diamond Brothers story I've read.

It's consistent, engaging and not too confusing which will keep the targeted younger audiences interested.

The plot is very interesting and typical of Horowitz's crime genre style. He captures all the typical conventions brilliantly and the added use of spoken and physical humour adds a great diversity to the story.

It's a fast moving story with intriguing characters, a fast gripping plot and excitement from the beginning. Clues are dropped and therefore engages the audience to try and work the mystery out for themselves which enforces the excitement.

Perhaps lacks at points and questions of realism will be put forth but however it's a short story and is a definite read for anyone who enjoys crime mixed with humorous elements.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully good, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blurred Man (Diamond Brothers) (Paperback)
I haven't read this book yet, but I have read a few in the same series. I read them as a child and am re-reading them as a sentimental adult. They are funny and clever for children of most ages. I was very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 21 Aug 2009
By 
M. Branch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blurred Man (Diamond Brothers) (Paperback)
Bought this book as one of a series following a request from my 10 year old granddaughter. Read this aloud to her during our recent holiday. We both thoroughly enjoyed the story and the subtle humour contained within it. A good fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Blurred Man is a great read. I would recommend this book to anyone! Anthony Horowitz is one of my favourite writers and his books are fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The blurred man, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really liked this book because it was full of mystery and excitement and it was very funny at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best wvr, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book was brilliant. can't wait to read the next one go on make more anthony horowitz go on go on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a very good book, I would recommend this book to 8+
I love all Horowitz other books as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flo, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know what you did last Wednesday was the best but this was really good I can never put these books down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The blurred man, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose it because it looked very interesting I always wanted to read these because I love solving crime books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blurred Man (Diamond Brothers)
The Blurred Man (Diamond Brothers) by Anthony Horowitz (Paperback - 4 Jun 2007)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews